Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday July 14, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Proven Power Bragging

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2010, 03:05 PM   #26
Token-Negro
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81659
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Sammamish
Vehicle:
2010 Fozzy XT
Ice Silver Metallic

Default

More info on SD thats seems to be something no one else has been able to nail down on the OEM Ecu.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Token-Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 03:46 PM   #27
BUILTSTI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 204644
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: THESHOPCT
Vehicle:
2005 STi 10.7 @ 125
FPRED PUMPGAS 93oct

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thefoos View Post
ecutek really lost favor due to licensing fees and their ECU lock down. Its nice to see they are exploring added features and such, but what are they going to do about the reasons they lost favor in the first place?
ya i know what you mean.

But - the ecu's were locked down by request from ecutek dealers / tuners, they wanted their work protected from the people that were downloading their files and selling them. (This is when the Tactrix cables first came out)

Licensing is what pays for ecutek's new development and support.

There's about 4 different Audi, VW, BMW, Benz software companys that doesn't charge licensing fees for flashing - they charge 18k for the equipment and offer little to no support for the tuner or map locations.
They give you software that allows you to search for the maps!! eeek

Most customers wouldn't know but EcuTek support is awesome.

When I ran into a problem with a newer Subaru's total timing not adding up (Per Gear Comp)... Even though it was late at night EcuTek responded and located maps that at the time weren't available with other tuning solutions.

Hope that answers your question
BUILTSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 06:03 PM   #28
MUGWUMP
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13170
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: IL
Vehicle:
2012 New Hotness
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thefoos View Post
ecutek really lost favor due to licensing fees and their ECU lock down. Its nice to see they are exploring added features and such, but what are they going to do about the reasons they lost favor in the first place?
**** Ecutek for making me buy a new ECU because I'm locked out of mine.

**** that company
MUGWUMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 09:05 PM   #29
bettyblue
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90920
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Westchester, NY
Vehicle:
2005 2.0FPGREEN 6SPD
2002 bugeye Vf39

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUGWUMP View Post
**** Ecutek for making me buy a new ECU because I'm locked out of mine.

**** that company
+1....
bettyblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 11:34 PM   #30
seanathanq83
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 173241
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Tx
Vehicle:
2002 s256 twinscroll
now with one more gear

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Token-Negro View Post
More info on SD thats seems to be something no one else has been able to nail down on the OEM Ecu.
the group n rom allows you to run speed density perfectly fine on the 02-03 ecu, thoughts were that it could be opened up for other 16bit ecu's, but there doesnt seem to be anyone with the knowledge or time to make much advancement, runs great on usdm just with ghost CEL and on JDM ECU with with no side effects

i think it will be interesting to compare the two, i have a feeling it takes the same basic info from how you explained the LC, and switching maps, which is kind of avalible on the group n map, my main question is will the auto blip only work on 32bit ecu???
seanathanq83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 09:33 AM   #31
wil06STI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 153228
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Springfield,MA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Fully Built
Sedona Red

Default

I have a SD rom for the 04 sti and know of someone that was trying to make it work for 05 and 06 32 bit ecus but he was having some problems getting it to work. The 04 SD rom requires a different Romraider definition file and can only be modified in Romraider as far as i know.

Wil
wil06STI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 01:54 AM   #32
eastcoastbumps
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 29201
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Shrewsbury, MA
Vehicle:
BMW M3
Honda S2000x2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bswilmington View Post
this may be off subject but is 1.2 CF normal on dyno dynamics?
You must be new around here.
eastcoastbumps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 02:02 AM   #33
BUILTSTI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 204644
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: THESHOPCT
Vehicle:
2005 STi 10.7 @ 125
FPRED PUMPGAS 93oct

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUGWUMP View Post
**** Ecutek for making me buy a new ECU because I'm locked out of mine.

**** that company
I'm assuming were talking about 02-03 ecus...

For some reason we're not able to unlock those..

If you send me your EcuTek ECU I would be more than glad to send you a unlocked one back.
BUILTSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 02:05 AM   #34
BUILTSTI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 204644
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: THESHOPCT
Vehicle:
2005 STi 10.7 @ 125
FPRED PUMPGAS 93oct

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanathanq83 View Post
the group n rom allows you to run speed density perfectly fine on the 02-03 ecu, thoughts were that it could be opened up for other 16bit ecu's, but there doesnt seem to be anyone with the knowledge or time to make much advancement, runs great on usdm just with ghost CEL and on JDM ECU with with no side effects

i think it will be interesting to compare the two, i have a feeling it takes the same basic info from how you explained the LC, and switching maps, which is kind of avalible on the group n map, my main question is will the auto blip only work on 32bit ecu???
I haven't really used the SD Group-N rom much, but I know EcuTek approach to SD is different.

I think Knock Control is disabled on the Group-N rom..thats the main reason I haven't used it.

I don't believe they are going to have RaceRom for 16bit ecus (02-05wrx)

You would need drive-by-wire for auto-blip.
BUILTSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 10:58 PM   #35
BUILTSTI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 204644
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: THESHOPCT
Vehicle:
2005 STi 10.7 @ 125
FPRED PUMPGAS 93oct

Default

And it's here....

BUILTSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 12:42 AM   #36
AirManCam
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 219513
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Lake George, Ny
Vehicle:
2006 STI
WRB

Default

I can't wait to test it on my car Meng!
AirManCam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 12:51 AM   #37
BUILTSTI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 204644
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: THESHOPCT
Vehicle:
2005 STi 10.7 @ 125
FPRED PUMPGAS 93oct

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AirManCam View Post
I can't wait to test it on my car Meng!
haha, no more testing bud.
BUILTSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 01:12 AM   #38
AirManCam
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 219513
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Lake George, Ny
Vehicle:
2006 STI
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BUILTSTI View Post
haha, no more testing bud.
Alright, I can't wait to ROCK it on my car is that better lol! Sorry one too many beers midnight bowling.
AirManCam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 10:15 PM   #39
discodan
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 227431
Join Date: Oct 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: White Plains, NY
Vehicle:
2014 Crosstrek
Desert Khaki

Default

how much $$$?
discodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 09:21 PM   #40
scotty144
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 85343
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Vehicle:
2005 STI
WRB

Default

John, is this something that could be added to my Visconti tune or would I need to bring it down for a complete retune?
scotty144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 11:07 PM   #41
Big_DeWeY
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 37078
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: TH Motorsports
Vehicle:
95 L
Blue-ish

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by discodan View Post
how much $$$?
Yeah I'm asking the same question. Gear dependent boost and a good way to do speed density are serious selling points. If the price is right they won't be able to keep these in stock.
Big_DeWeY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 11:21 PM   #42
project_skyline
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 153880
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Western Slope, Colorado
Vehicle:
03 Evo VIII
2011 STI

Default

Curious on limits of SD. Cobb said they were having issues with more then 29 psi irrc and haven't gotten past it yet.
project_skyline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:28 AM   #43
AirManCam
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 219513
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Lake George, Ny
Vehicle:
2006 STI
WRB

Default

AFAIK there is no limit on it, and all you have to do is pay licensing fees(which are around $150 I believe) then johns tuning fee's. Then an ebcs to be able to take maximum advantage of what race rom has to offer.
AirManCam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 03:07 PM   #44
P-iff
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 201568
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: LI,NY
Vehicle:
'05 rotated STi
wrb

Default

sounds awesome. definitely going to do this with my next tune. interested to see how the speed density works out. will it be using a IAT sensor like in the evos?
P-iff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 01:55 PM   #45
rasheedn
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 123333
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Jerusalem
Vehicle:
2009 STi
DMG

Default

how can u buy this but tune it myself?
rasheedn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 05:18 PM   #46
Clark Turner
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 178047
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
02 WRX STI Spec C
Black

Default

More and more locked down ECUs. Never a good thing.. They own your ecu after install.

C
Clark Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 01:23 PM   #47
MiTech
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 267206
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Turner View Post
More and more locked down ECUs. Never a good thing.. They own your ecu after install.

C
I agree

Mike
MiTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 02:37 PM   #48
BUILTSTI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 204644
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: THESHOPCT
Vehicle:
2005 STi 10.7 @ 125
FPRED PUMPGAS 93oct

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty144 View Post
John, is this something that could be added to my Visconti tune or would I need to bring it down for a complete retune?
RaceRom has a number of features. If your only looking for added launch control and flatfoot shifting then there is no need for a retune. Just need a EcuTek license

Quote:
Originally Posted by project_skyline View Post
Curious on limits of SD. Cobb said they were having issues with more then 29 psi irrc and haven't gotten past it yet.
I'm still working on a few SD cars at the moment. So far so good

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-iff View Post
sounds awesome. definitely going to do this with my next tune. interested to see how the speed density works out. will it be using a IAT sensor like in the evos?
SD cars will need a IAT sensor and 4 bar map sensor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rasheedn View Post
how can u buy this but tune it myself?
Soon, see below

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Turner View Post
More and more locked down ECUs. Never a good thing.. They own your ecu after install.

C
I will agree no one likes to be locked out of something they own...

But EcuTek does this to protect their custom non-oem tables + the tuners work.

Cobb AP does the same thing.

The big difference is the Cobb AP is a hand held and can be removed by the owner at any time...which unlocks the ECU.

EcuTek has always sold enduser cables that give the user the ability to log, change maps and put back to stock. Most people don't purchase this because it's cheaper just to get a ProTune.

Normally when a customer gets tuned by a tuner (whether its with Cobb, EcuTek or Open Soruce) they have some sort of relationship. If a car is running funny or needs a update because of a new mod they contact the person that tuned the car.

In the near future EcuTek will have a end-user cable that will allow people to tune their own ECUs - Like Cobb's Access Tuner Race

A important note - Any person that was tuned using EcuTek can have it removed by any EcuTek dealer.

But for the past few years EcuTek has been silently working very hard developing new things. RaceRom is one of them.

And believe me Cobb and the Open Source guys are doing a lot of great things as well.

All I can say is 2011 is going to be a great for the Subie guys
BUILTSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 05:48 AM   #49
rasheedn
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 123333
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Jerusalem
Vehicle:
2009 STi
DMG

Default

any idea when this will be available ??

ecutek r always a few years late than their release date...
rasheedn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 05:42 AM   #50
Monstermarlin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 247252
Join Date: May 2010
Default

What I picked up was that they had released it last week so check out your local Ecutek dealer. He should be aware of that.
Monstermarlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.