Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday December 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2008, 05:47 PM   #1
guciodog11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 160264
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: S.I, NY
Vehicle:
95 20G'd EJ255 GC8

Default Is there any mod that enables windows to be rolled up without needing the key?

i was just wondering if there was any way to do this. on my friend's is300, his driver's side window is capable of being rolled up without having to turn the key to acc. is there some kind of a window motor relay that i can run a wire to from the battery?

THANKS!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
guciodog11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 08:25 PM   #2
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Your friend's car has a body controller and retained accessory power that allows for accessory use with the key inserted but not turned on, or for a set period after the car is turned off. Your car does not have this, and it can't really be added after the fact with factory-like functionality. It might be possible to kluge something up with relays and additional circuitry but not worth it IMO.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 11:20 PM   #3
guciodog11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 160264
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: S.I, NY
Vehicle:
95 20G'd EJ255 GC8

Default

so any attempt at trying this will be a lot of work? i was just thinking that there might be a procedure like the foglight mod where you could bend a pin on the relay and connect it to 12v. o well there goes that idea...


Thanks for the help!
guciodog11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 12:12 AM   #4
Cougar4
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 53443
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2001 LL Bean Outback
Winestone

Default

You should be able to do that pretty easy. Find a fuse that is hot all the time under the dash. Then run a switched wire from there to the window fuse lead. This will tie power to the windows but also backfeed power to any other circuits tied to that point so you need to watch out and see what is connect there also at that point.
Cougar4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 12:35 AM   #5
guciodog11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 160264
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: S.I, NY
Vehicle:
95 20G'd EJ255 GC8

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougar4 View Post
You should be able to do that pretty easy. Find a fuse that is hot all the time under the dash. Then run a switched wire from there to the window fuse lead. This will tie power to the windows but also backfeed power to any other circuits tied to that point so you need to watch out and see what is connect there also at that point.
you mean like one of those make-a-circuit thingies as in the foglight mod? what if i ran that cable to the battery?
guciodog11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 01:48 AM   #6
Cougar4
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 53443
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2001 LL Bean Outback
Winestone

Default

If I was doing this I would use a couple fuse taps and a switch. Nothing to really install except the switch to cross the circuit over. Just thinking here, by using a single pole-double throw switch and some in line fuse holders you could make a setup so power wouldn't backfeed to other circuits.
Cougar4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 02:05 AM   #7
Abnormal
Douchebag Moderator
Moderator
 
Member#: 149626
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: zip22182
Vehicle:
2005 CGM FXT
Rocket Box! :D

Default

Instead of that switch I believe he can use a diode.

The real trick is going to be making this work for the windows going up only, as probably they way the switches work is completing the circuit in the right direction, so you'll probably be able to put the windows up too.

Be sure to put a timer on this too... It would suck you for if a car thief came, flexed your frameless window out, then put your window down for absolutely silent entry.
Abnormal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 02:26 AM   #8
Cougar4
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 53443
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2001 LL Bean Outback
Winestone

Default

The purpose of the switch I was thinking about was to isolate other circuits on the same power buss as the window circuit. The windows would work normally as they do now.
Cougar4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 08:14 PM   #9
guciodog11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 160264
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: S.I, NY
Vehicle:
95 20G'd EJ255 GC8

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a13n0rma1 View Post
Instead of that switch I believe he can use a diode.

The real trick is going to be making this work for the windows going up only, as probably they way the switches work is completing the circuit in the right direction, so you'll probably be able to put the windows up too.

Be sure to put a timer on this too... It would suck you for if a car thief came, flexed your frameless window out, then put your window down for absolutely silent entry.
you're right about how easy it would be to break into the car.....

today i went to pick up some beer for my moms restaurant, and locked my keys in the car while i took the cab to my house, one of the guys opened it via the front drivers door, but now i think the internal mechanism is messed up. the window makes grinding noises like a bar was scraping up against it, and the lock won't work. now im gonna have to rip apart the whole door and see what happened.....from now on im hiding a spare key in my wheel well.

well there goes that idea.....it would be just too easy to break in.
guciodog11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 08:50 PM   #10
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

There is a big difference between a true retained power system and just rewiring the windows to work with the key off all the time. That is why I said it isn't practical to duplicate what your friend has in his Lexus. His windows won't work any more once the set amount of time has passed or the car is locked, that is done by the built-in logic in the car's electronics.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 12:23 AM   #11
JoKerNZ
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 140342
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: NZ
Vehicle:
1998 Legacy GTB JDM
White

Default

Yes (JDM) insert a jumper in relay under dash and thats it...



unscrew panel near knees, unplug the 12v relay and insert the red wire in pic (needs spade terminals)

done = always on windows

now can someone point me to the windows "upper limit" reset procedure thread?
JoKerNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 03:52 AM   #12
Abnormal
Douchebag Moderator
Moderator
 
Member#: 149626
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: zip22182
Vehicle:
2005 CGM FXT
Rocket Box! :D

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoKerNZ View Post
done = always on windows
Does this mean they work on the first "click" of the ignition switch? Or always (no key in car)?

-noobile
Abnormal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 04:00 AM   #13
Cougar4
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 53443
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2001 LL Bean Outback
Winestone

Default

Anytime.
Cougar4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 11:15 AM   #14
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoKerNZ View Post
Yes (JDM) insert a jumper in relay under dash and thats it...



unscrew panel near knees, unplug the 12v relay and insert the red wire in pic (needs spade terminals)

done = always on windows

now can someone point me to the windows "upper limit" reset procedure thread?
This is a bad idea for two reasons-
1. Safety- If there are kids around they will be able to operate the windows and possibly get hurt or worse. Pretty sure that here in the US it's a DOT requirement that the windows not be functional all the time, for this reason.
2. Security- With the car locked entry could be easily gained by poking a rod past through the frameless window and hitting the window switch on any door. Of course this is in addition to the already vulnerable power locks which are always active.

And also note that you are replying to a thread that's almost a year old.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 02:07 AM   #15
JoKerNZ
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 140342
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: NZ
Vehicle:
1998 Legacy GTB JDM
White

Default

know its bad - but OP asked and without a relay it's the easiest way - it was listed in a workshop manual of some kind...

suppose ther is no reason why you couldn't put a relay in with the ACC switch... (duh make use of existing relay and wire it to ACC not ON)
JoKerNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 02:26 PM   #16
biebs96
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 238035
Join Date: Feb 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
06

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoKerNZ View Post
Yes (JDM) insert a jumper in relay under dash and thats it...



unscrew panel near knees, unplug the 12v relay and insert the red wire in pic (needs spade terminals)

done = always on windows

now can someone point me to the windows "upper limit" reset procedure thread?


Is this under the dash on an 06 2.5i??

I'm interest for my gf's car!
biebs96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 04:09 PM   #17
Xawn
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214441
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Rochester, NH
Vehicle:
2012 STi
WRB

Default

Xawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 04:29 PM   #18
ProdriveDreams
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146819
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston / Ipswich, MA
Vehicle:
'02 WRB VF-39'd WRX
W/06 STi Drivetrain swap

Default

you could replace the regular relay with a relay with a delayed shutoff and it would keep power to the windows for however long the relay is set to. DONE.
ProdriveDreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 04:41 PM   #19
ProdriveDreams
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146819
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston / Ipswich, MA
Vehicle:
'02 WRB VF-39'd WRX
W/06 STi Drivetrain swap

Default

http://www.headsetzone.com/tdr-1.html

these do dads aren't too cheap but if you shop around you can find a decent price.

What you want is a delay-off timer with a coil voltage rated at 12VDC

Also if you re routed power to the delay relay with a diode and wire hooked to ACC power, windows would work when the key is in ACC or ON, and would continue to work for the preset amount of time after you turn the key to OFF
ProdriveDreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 04:45 PM   #20
ProdriveDreams
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146819
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston / Ipswich, MA
Vehicle:
'02 WRB VF-39'd WRX
W/06 STi Drivetrain swap

Default

Alternatively it would be slightly more complicated to do the american style thing where you could install a circuit known as a latched relay. Basically what happens is once power is applied to the relay it stays in the "on" position until you trigger it to go off, even if supply voltage is cut to the relay it will stay on till it is triggered. You could then tie the trigger into the door ajar light so that you could have it switch off upon the door opening. a little less simple, but still fairly easy. like 20 bucks at radioshack and an afternoon under the dash
ProdriveDreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 02:26 AM   #21
rkramer
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 118209
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: North Dakota
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limitec

Default

**deleted**
rkramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 07:52 PM   #22
Shimmer
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 247939
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: British Columbia
Vehicle:
2006 STI
White

Default

Has anybody done this with their 02-07 WRX? The picture from above seems to be from an older model as I can't find that relay anywhere underneath the steering column or inside the driver's side door.
Shimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 03:20 PM   #23
Shimmer
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 247939
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: British Columbia
Vehicle:
2006 STI
White

Default

I've finally had some time to have another look at this and figured out how to have power to the windows without the key in the ignition.

Remove the panel under the steering colum. This is the relay that you'll need to remove.



Make a short jumper to replace the relay these pins on the relay.



Replace the jumper to cover two of the pins from the relay.



A problem I've noticed with this is that the lights on the window switches remain on. I don't think that this should be a huge problem as the current drawn is quite low.
Shimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 04:46 PM   #24
Cougar4
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 53443
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2001 LL Bean Outback
Winestone

Default

Even if the extra current draw is only 100 milliamps it will make a significant drain on the battery. Not a good thing in my opinion.
Cougar4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 06:08 PM   #25
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Not to mention that you've just made the car a LOT easier to break into.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are there any programs that enable you to download hotmail? Tainted Off-Topic 22 02-06-2008 12:16 AM
Is there any place that sells the S203 Recaro seats to fit a 2005 STi? flicky30 Interior & Exterior Modification 15 03-11-2005 06:37 PM
Is there any car that is easier to work on than a Miata? zoomfactor Off-Topic 28 04-16-2003 06:08 PM
is there any turbo that will work with the hks d/p? 2002whitewrx Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 12 02-04-2003 06:35 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.