Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday September 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Rocky Mountains Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Rocky Mountains Impreza Club Forum -- RMIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2010, 07:26 PM   #1
Tglazed
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 231216
Join Date: Nov 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: South Jordan, Utah
Default Bad Turbo???

I had my car tuned recently and was hitting 16 pounds. I had to take my battery off to change my headlights and now I cant go above 9 pounds of boost. I checked for leaks all over the front mount and there isn't any. I didnt touch anything besides the headlights and battery when I changed my bulbs. Is it time to replace my td04? Help please.
Mods: Fmic (with tial 50mm bov), Short Ram Intake, turbo back exhaust (no cats or resonators), Perrin uppipe.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by Tglazed; 10-03-2010 at 07:32 PM.
Tglazed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 07:40 PM   #2
car_cursed
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 85327
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: West Jordan, UT
Vehicle:
More projects than
you can shake a stick at.

Default

Tuned with what? You might have to reload the map.
car_cursed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 07:49 PM   #3
Tglazed
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 231216
Join Date: Nov 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: South Jordan, Utah
Default

It was tuned with opensource, sorry should have stated that. I am going to see logan to see if he can reload the map tommorrow to fix it. hopefully it does.
Tglazed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 08:14 PM   #4
EsubaruJ
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 200008
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake City
Vehicle:
85 AE86
01XJcrawler02WRXsold

Default

Usually when you unhook the battery, that resets the ECU. Seems like you may have found the culprit. As stated above, see if you can get someone to reflash your ECU. EDIT: Stock boost is more than 9psi, so you may have another problem. Maybe your BCS is dead, they sometimes go out randomly. Seems like it could running off the wastegate(7-9psi). You have a restrictor pill right?

Last edited by EsubaruJ; 10-03-2010 at 08:30 PM.
EsubaruJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:33 PM   #5
Mush04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191705
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Nowhere of importance
Vehicle:
2007 Limited STi
Swp

Default

I think when you load a base map that is your map even if you disconnect the battery. I've had my battery taken out for the same reason before and it goes back to the map that it was tuned for. but depends how your tuner did it too though maybe. I have a stock bcs if you need to try that and see if that's it. let me know.
Mush04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:35 PM   #6
Anub1s
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81106
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SL,UT
Vehicle:
2014 Baby Mobile
Whitey White

Default

Did you make sure your terminals are seated properly? A poor ground connection can make your car freak out in many ways. Take off the terminals, and reseat them to make sure they're all good and on there.
Anub1s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:36 PM   #7
Anub1s
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81106
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SL,UT
Vehicle:
2014 Baby Mobile
Whitey White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mush04 View Post
I think when you load a base map that is your map even if you disconnect the battery. I've had my battery taken out for the same reason before and it goes back to the map that it was tuned for. but depends how your tuner did it too though maybe. I have a stock bcs if you need to try that and see if that's it. let me know.
If it's an opensource map, there's no way that a battery disconnection will remove the map or revert it back to stock. It's flashed to the ROM and is permanent until it's flashed again. The only time a map would be removed is if it's a runtime map, and opensource doesn't currently support this. Just for future reference
Anub1s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:39 PM   #8
EsubaruJ
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 200008
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake City
Vehicle:
85 AE86
01XJcrawler02WRXsold

Default

^^ Thats what I was thinking too. I wasn't sure how opensorce worked, because I know when you load a realtime map with an AP, when you disconnect the battery it will erase the realtime map. Anyway.. It sounds like its running off WG pressure to me.
EsubaruJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:46 PM   #9
Mush04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191705
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Nowhere of importance
Vehicle:
2007 Limited STi
Swp

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anub1s View Post
If it's an opensource map, there's no way that a battery disconnection will remove the map or revert it back to stock. It's flashed to the ROM and is permanent until it's flashed again. The only time a map would be removed is if it's a runtime map, and opensource doesn't currently support this. Just for future reference

yeah that's what I belive I heard thanks for letting me know for sure though man! I figured that was the case cause I disconnected it to reset the ecu when I changed out my bcs to see if that was my issue from before haha.
Mush04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 10:10 PM   #10
godfather2112
Papi Chulo
Moderator
 
Member#: 53794
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
.... OT Supplement
Testing Division.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tglazed View Post
I had my car tuned recently and was hitting 16 pounds. I had to take my battery off to change my headlights and now I cant go above 9 pounds of boost. I checked for leaks all over the front mount and there isn't any. I didnt touch anything besides the headlights and battery when I changed my bulbs. Is it time to replace my td04? Help please.
Mods: Fmic (with tial 50mm bov), Short Ram Intake, turbo back exhaust (no cats or resonators), Perrin uppipe.
Why are you running a fmic with a td04?
godfather2112 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 10:12 PM   #11
Tglazed
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 231216
Join Date: Nov 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: South Jordan, Utah
Default

So you guys thing its the boost control solenoid? Mush if its cool can you pm me your number and we could find a day this week to swap them out and see if that is the problem?
Tglazed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 10:12 PM   #12
Tglazed
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 231216
Join Date: Nov 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: South Jordan, Utah
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by godfather2112 View Post
Why are you running a fmic with a td04?
I was going to go vf 39 but I decided to sell my car. Its more of a support mod for the future
Tglazed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 01:31 AM   #13
EsubaruJ
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 200008
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake City
Vehicle:
85 AE86
01XJcrawler02WRXsold

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tglazed View Post
So you guys thing its the boost control solenoid? Mush if its cool can you pm me your number and we could find a day this week to swap them out and see if that is the problem?
The BCS in an 06 may be different than the one thats in an 04. I could be wrong. But it might be something to take into consideration.
EsubaruJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 03:13 AM   #14
907Bum
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 183634
Join Date: Jul 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: At the "B"
Vehicle:
02 wrx/ 92 ss
Booze fueled :)

Default

It could be the rom to some degree, when it gets reset the IAM drops back to 8 or .5 depending on the ecu, less timing will hinder boost building to some degree(depending on how he sets up his maps).... However, i don't think that is whats causing your issues, it's either something mechanical (depending on what you changed) or a tune issue if say it wasn't set up for colder weather etc...
907Bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 10:24 AM   #15
Not-EWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 158043
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SLC
Vehicle:
2013 Wrx Hatch
SWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 907Bum View Post
It could be the rom to some degree, when it gets reset the IAM drops back to 8 or .5 depending on the ecu, less timing will hinder boost building to some degree(depending on how he sets up his maps).... However, i don't think that is whats causing your issues, it's either something mechanical (depending on what you changed) or a tune issue if say it wasn't set up for colder weather etc...
This. And if your tuner says different.... You need a new tuner.
Not-EWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 12:25 PM   #16
homemade
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 235937
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: provo
Vehicle:
88 supra
silver

Default

ALL: be advised he has a downpipe with a blocked off internal wastegate flapper. in other words its meant for an external wastegate but (last i saw anyways) he did not have an external wastegate.

this means that something is stopping you from hitting max boost. what would that be.
boost control solenoid. but if it cannot open the flapper of the internal gate then how is it stopping from maxing out boost.
homemade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 12:27 PM   #17
godfather2112
Papi Chulo
Moderator
 
Member#: 53794
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
.... OT Supplement
Testing Division.

Default

Sounds like anOther ghetto setup?
godfather2112 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 12:32 PM   #18
True Tune, LLC
Vendor
 
Member#: 259639
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Woods Cross, UT
Default

We'll be able to tell what is issue is, when he stops by the shop later. The map he has is conservative, with the parameters set to adjust to temp. changes. We have extra BCS's and will be able to diagnose if there is a mechanical issue, which is possible.
True Tune, LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 01:34 PM   #19
Mush04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191705
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Nowhere of importance
Vehicle:
2007 Limited STi
Swp

Default

^^looks like they might be the place to go man, depending on how much they are going to charge you.

as far as the bcs I actually am running a 06 sti's stock bcs and took mine off thinking that was my previous issue, either that or I put my stock 04 one back on and have the 06 one sitting at home either way I ran it just fine, should be good if you still want to try that first Tglazed.
Mush04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 02:36 PM   #20
True Tune, LLC
Vendor
 
Member#: 259639
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Woods Cross, UT
Default

If it's a car we've tuned, and nothing has been changed to the vehicle, check ups are free. We don't want a mechanical issue to be blamed for a bad map. Since we are a full functioning shop, with a mechanic, we'll be able to tell what the problem is. He had some airflow restrictions, with the short ram intake, which could mean a number of items. Unfortunitly, with the FMIC, he can't put the stock intake back on, which would be much better, having the consistant airflow, from the outside, to his MAF sensor. I'll keep you posted.
True Tune, LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 02:42 PM   #21
Mush04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191705
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Nowhere of importance
Vehicle:
2007 Limited STi
Swp

Default

oh right on, sorry I didn't know you guys tuned him.
Mush04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 02:44 PM   #22
Tglazed
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 231216
Join Date: Nov 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: South Jordan, Utah
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by True Tune, LLC View Post
If it's a car we've tuned, and nothing has been changed to the vehicle, check ups are free. We don't want a mechanical issue to be blamed for a bad map. Since we are a full functioning shop, with a mechanic, we'll be able to tell what the problem is. He had some airflow restrictions, with the short ram intake, which could mean a number of items. Unfortunitly, with the FMIC, he can't put the stock intake back on, which would be much better, having the consistant airflow, from the outside, to his MAF sensor. I'll keep you posted.
Well hopefully at 2 we can figure it out. If this is logan which I think it is. How muchwould it be to buy a bcs from you guys, you guys said you have some left over.
Tglazed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 03:20 PM   #23
True Tune, LLC
Vendor
 
Member#: 259639
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Woods Cross, UT
Default

We'll swap yours with one we have and see. It won't take long to decipher if it's a mechanical problem.
True Tune, LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 03:22 PM   #24
True Tune, LLC
Vendor
 
Member#: 259639
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Woods Cross, UT
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mush04 View Post
oh right on, sorry I didn't know you guys tuned him.
No worries
True Tune, LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 08:13 PM   #25
907Bum
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 183634
Join Date: Jul 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: At the "B"
Vehicle:
02 wrx/ 92 ss
Booze fueled :)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by True Tune, LLC View Post
he can't put the stock intake back on, which would be much better, having the consistant airflow, from the outside, to his MAF sensor. I'll keep you posted.

Or adjust the MRP maf comp table, this will get even intake free set ups dialed in
907Bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad Turbo? Bad Ringlands? Bad PCV? emsfd125 Newbies & FAQs 33 06-16-2014 07:38 AM
oil in turbo inlet signs of bad turbo? Adrenalinecrisis Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 6 07-09-2010 10:54 PM
Bad Turbo ? PumpsGOTAWD Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 5 07-26-2004 12:12 AM
Bad turbo! 1fastsube Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 1 04-17-2004 04:40 PM
Bad Turbo?..how can you tell? FatCatTurbo Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 4 11-26-2003 09:16 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.