Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 1, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2009, 07:10 AM   #1
STI_KLR
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 189660
Join Date: Sep 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Vehicle:
'02 WRX
Element Tuning Race Team

Question Test Mode Connector On/Off Switch?

Has anyone installed a switch to control the green test mode connectors?

I do too much flashing/logging/etc. to keep fussing with reaching under the dash each time to plug and unplug the connectors. It's not a HUGE inconvenience, but it would make things much easier.

I know it wouldn't be too hard to do, but I worry about something going astray and having the connectors accidentally turn "on" while driving or something...

Thoughts? Opinions?


-Andrew
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
STI_KLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 06-03-2009, 07:34 AM   #2
MIKE DD
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 106818
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: The Bar
Vehicle:
2003 Truck

Default

I know it's been done, sorry don't remember the thread. Hopefully someone will post up.
MIKE DD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 08:53 AM   #3
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

just get 1 female and 1 male spade connector and a switch - it is that simple.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 09:21 AM   #4
scutzi128
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 149467
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: philly burbs
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

where can you get the connectors?
scutzi128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 09:25 AM   #5
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

a lot of places - radio shack, auto parts stores, and any place where car stereo parts are sold.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 12:17 PM   #6
STI_KLR
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 189660
Join Date: Sep 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Vehicle:
'02 WRX
Element Tuning Race Team

Default

Seems pretty straight forward. I think I'll try something out here in the next week or so.
STI_KLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 09:22 AM   #7
scutzi128
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 149467
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: philly burbs
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

Are they just a standard connector?
scutzi128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 10:31 AM   #8
mattminer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90642
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Pineapple under the Sea, RI
Vehicle:
WKD Everything

Default

spades fit fine, i got an extra set of connectors off the classifieds though. I permantly installed a switch in my dash, and then i made a push button 'detonator' style switch for tuning everyone elses cars.

M@
mattminer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 12:31 PM   #9
scutzi128
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 149467
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: philly burbs
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

Hmm maybe I could get them off a salvage or something. Im getting real annoyed at having to go under my dash all the time.
scutzi128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 06:44 PM   #10
ciper
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15543
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: san francisco, ca
Vehicle:
90BJ Legacy LS ABS
AWD 946 Rio Red Jpn built

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scutzi128 View Post
Hmm maybe I could get them off a salvage or something. Im getting real annoyed at having to go under my dash all the time.
I don't think you understand what they were saying. Spade connectors are the most common connector in existence.
ciper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 07:16 PM   #11
elevenpoint7five
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 187798
Join Date: Aug 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Elk Grove Village IL
Vehicle:
04 2 liters of
AWESOME!

Default

1 male, 3 female, and about 2 6" pieces of 12ish gauge wire, and a simple $1.99 switch from auto zone. done.
elevenpoint7five is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 07:42 PM   #12
nosmo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53142
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Vegas
Vehicle:
06' STI,02WRX,982.5
www.Flat4lv.com

Default

Double post

Last edited by nosmo; 06-04-2009 at 07:46 PM. Reason: Double post
nosmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 07:45 PM   #13
nosmo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53142
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Vegas
Vehicle:
06' STI,02WRX,982.5
www.Flat4lv.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elevenpoint7five View Post
1 male, 3 female, and about 2 6" pieces of 12ish gauge wire, and a simple $1.99 switch from auto zone. done.
Got one in my car. too easy.
nosmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 10:04 AM   #14
scutzi128
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 149467
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: philly burbs
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ciper View Post
I don't think you understand what they were saying. Spade connectors are the most common connector in existence.
I know what a spade connector is I just wanted a way to make it so I didn't have to cut or splice the factory wiring. Basically I want another set of male and female green test connectors so I can just plug it into the factory test connectors and leave it in my car until I am done flashing. Then I can easily disconnect it.
scutzi128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 01:00 PM   #15
ciper
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15543
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: san francisco, ca
Vehicle:
90BJ Legacy LS ABS
AWD 946 Rio Red Jpn built

Default

The test mode connectors on the car have spade connectors inside.

No cutting required.
ciper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 01:45 PM   #16
scutzi128
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 149467
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: philly burbs
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

Ahh I see I figured as much but I just never got my head down there to look at them recently. I think Ill try hooking this up tonight. Thanks for the info.
scutzi128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 02:40 PM   #17
STI_KLR
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 189660
Join Date: Sep 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Vehicle:
'02 WRX
Element Tuning Race Team

Default

What kind of switch do I need? 3 prong? 4 prong? Etc?

This is the one that I picked up:

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=3104291
STI_KLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 02:57 PM   #18
mxpunk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 132130
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, Texas
Vehicle:
2002 Ford F-150
Graphite Gray

Default

Search...I had the same ? a few months ago.

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...ghlight=switch
mxpunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 03:01 PM   #19
STI_KLR
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 189660
Join Date: Sep 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Vehicle:
'02 WRX
Element Tuning Race Team

Default

I did try searching but didn't really come up with anything.

I think that was the thread I was looking for earlier. I had remembered that it was somewhat recent but couldn't recall what I needed to search for to bring it up.

Do you have a diagram/picture or anything that shoes exactly how you hooked it up to the switch?
STI_KLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 03:27 PM   #20
scutzi128
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 149467
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: philly burbs
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

Just a regular switch should do the trick.
scutzi128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 03:51 PM   #21
mxpunk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 132130
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, Texas
Vehicle:
2002 Ford F-150
Graphite Gray

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STI_KLR View Post
I did try searching but didn't really come up with anything.

I think that was the thread I was looking for earlier. I had remembered that it was somewhat recent but couldn't recall what I needed to search for to bring it up.

Do you have a diagram/picture or anything that shoes exactly how you hooked it up to the switch?

It varies from switch to switch..go with whatever the switch you get has. its not too hard
mxpunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 04:42 PM   #22
STI_KLR
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 189660
Join Date: Sep 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Vehicle:
'02 WRX
Element Tuning Race Team

Default

NVM figured it out.

Last edited by STI_KLR; 06-05-2009 at 04:55 PM.
STI_KLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 08:40 PM   #23
Bullwinkle1983
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 172332
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: St Paul, MN
Vehicle:
2006 WRX

Default

Any basic rocker switch will do. Very very easy, just tap some spades into the stock lines and plug onto the switch.
Bullwinkle1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 09:04 PM   #24
scutzi128
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 149467
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: philly burbs
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

I made my switch tonight and already I'm in love with it.
scutzi128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 10:08 PM   #25
STI_KLR
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 189660
Join Date: Sep 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Vehicle:
'02 WRX
Element Tuning Race Team

Default

Same here. I wish I had done this months ago.
STI_KLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what is the Test mode connector for and is it supposed to be plugged in together? CCTXRS Electrical & Lighting 2 10-24-2007 05:11 AM
WTB VA : green test mode connectors 4x4STi Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 1 06-30-2007 07:07 PM
Test mode connector - Read memory connectors renhoek Pre-2002 Factory Turbo Powertrain 5 04-28-2007 03:17 AM
Test Mode Connector (90 Legacy) McCloyd Legacy Forum 6 07-16-2002 11:45 PM
Test Mode Connector Nigel Legacy Forum 9 07-22-2000 12:28 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.