Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday December 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2010, 11:50 PM   #1
vaj
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59136
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Peoples Republic of Kalifornia
Vehicle:
04/5 APRWidebody STi
Parts all over the state!

Default tinywrex lc/ffs patching issues - source file corrupt?

Hi guys

I'm trying to patch tinywrex' lc/ffs patch to my tuned rom. I have placed the ROM file into the same folder as the patch, tinypatcher, etc.

When I open tinypatcher using the batch file I see that the rom is loaded. When I press any key to continue I see this error message:

Error: Source file is corrupt at byte 0x29b5c (0x1d expected, 0x8d found)!

Something I'm missing here? Can anyone offer me any advice? Thanks!

rom image is a 32 bit (2004 USDM STi)
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
vaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 12:20 AM   #2
vaj
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59136
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Peoples Republic of Kalifornia
Vehicle:
04/5 APRWidebody STi
Parts all over the state!

Default

Sigh.. I think I found the problem.

My original rom that I had the patch file for: A2ZJ107

Rom my new tuner used: A2ZJ500J

I suppose that would be the issue there.... :facepalm:
vaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 09:51 PM   #3
vaj
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59136
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Peoples Republic of Kalifornia
Vehicle:
04/5 APRWidebody STi
Parts all over the state!

Default

...or not. I have the correct patch and when I run tinypatcher it gives a similar error message.

Error: Source file is corrupt at byte 0x296ep (0x5 expected, 0xff found)!


Any suggestions?
vaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 10:28 PM   #4
Nuke209
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108089
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
NF Performance

Default

you can take your map from your tuner, copy all tables over to the A2ZJ701 rom and then patch that.
Nuke209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 10:42 PM   #5
vaj
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59136
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Peoples Republic of Kalifornia
Vehicle:
04/5 APRWidebody STi
Parts all over the state!

Default

Thanks for the reply! I could do that certainly. However, I have obtained the correct patch for the A2ZJ500J rom so I'd rather have it patch as it should. I have seen that other have had to copy/paste tables though... sigh

I'm placing a copy of my rom in the folder. Then opening the batch file which takes me to tinypatcher and when I try to run it it gives me the error. I've renamed the file to the ecu rom id as well to no effect.
vaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 01:32 AM   #6
Nuke209
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108089
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
NF Performance

Default

copy and paste...give it a shot lol
Nuke209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 03:20 AM   #7
o3WRXTC
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 200856
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area, ca
Vehicle:
1994 Legacy TSW
Red

Default

not sure if u fix the problem yet.
but also make sure the size is correct.
im not sure if the 32 bit had different save size's like the 16 bit ecu's.
just a thought, hope this helps.
o3WRXTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 11:35 AM   #8
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Also the file name has to be the stock ROM ID and nothing else. S o if your using a ROM named " spankystage2" it's not going to work. If your following the instructions to a tee,there should be no problem.
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 02:32 AM   #9
AKSubieDubie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 190003
Join Date: Sep 2008
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Fairbanks Alaska
Vehicle:
2007 STI EFR 8374
Black

Default

I'm having the same problem with my buddies patch file. I've done 3 patches before so I know what im doing
AKSubieDubie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 08:22 AM   #10
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

The patches are specific to the ecuid of the ROM. So make sure you have the correct patch for exact ROm you are using.

Also, if you have a 16bit ROM, you need to ensure your ROM is 192K. If it is not 192K, you will get errors during the patch stage. To convert the ROM to 192K, you need to use ECUedit.

Once patched, you will not see the launch control tables in ECUFlash unless you add the required text to the definition file for your ROM and you set the user privilege correctly.

If you are stuck, read the instructions HERE.


Lastly, Tinywrex has a patch serive available HERE, and he will patch your ROm with launch control for only $10. So if you can't do it yourself, then $10 is a small amount to pay to get it patched without the hassle
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 01:07 PM   #11
SubiSam
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 156401
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Greensboro NC
Vehicle:
'03 WRB WAGON
2.1 stroker GTX3071R

Default

Where can I find instructions to convert my Rom to 192k? I have ecuedit but can't figure out how to save it as a different size file.
SubiSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 07:17 PM   #12
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tinywrex lc patch jrrevo1 Open Source Reflashes 9 03-21-2013 01:36 PM
Comparable EM with LC/FFS? Scott_2.5TS AccessPort 7 05-13-2009 05:14 AM
Needed: 04 STi Stg1 (Base) Map w/ LC + FFS Spoolin16PSI Open Source Reflashes 2 05-04-2009 11:47 AM
What pins on the UTEC control LC/FFS GeneralTJI UTEC 2 02-27-2009 04:03 PM
LC/FFS without utec controlling fueling, timing, boost? Zumble UTEC 9 02-04-2007 11:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.