Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday December 25, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Click here to visit TireRack
Tire & Wheel Forum sponsored by The Tire Rack

Losing traction? Need new tires?
Click here to visit the NASIOC Upgrade Garage...
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Tire & Wheel

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2010, 12:37 PM   #1
Pinned
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152707
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Western MA
Default TPMS question

I was about to order some wheels and tires from tire rack for our 2011 Legacy, but decided I better find out about the TPMS first.

It also looks like the dealer will need to reprogram the TPMS module every time I swap wheels? Does that involve unmounting the tires, or is it simply reprogramming the module in the car? Any issues with aftermarket TPMS sensors, like the ones that tire rack sells?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Pinned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 07:52 PM   #2
daverup
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 3708
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Michigan, USA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Ltd Sedan
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinned View Post
I was about to order some wheels and tires from tire rack for our 2011 Legacy, but decided I better find out about the TPMS first.

It also looks like the dealer will need to reprogram the TPMS module every time I swap wheels? Does that involve unmounting the tires, or is it simply reprogramming the module in the car? Any issues with aftermarket TPMS sensors, like the ones that tire rack sells?
I am using tire rack sensors in my winter tires on steel rims on my 2011 WRX.
Some kind of reprogramming will be required any time the car isn't seeing the sensors it is expecting. The dealer does it with the wheels on the car via an activation tool and the computer programmer service tool (whatever that thing is called).
daverup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 09:31 PM   #3
ki4syr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 247574
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Overthere
Vehicle:
2013 PBP GV STI
2008 Impreza 2.5i

Default

The search function is your friend, try it.

For the different sensors, the TPMS module has to be reflashed. You can do it yourself, but you'll need at cheapest (ugitwhutupayfer) $125 Ateq Quickset, and then you will need the CORRECT ID's from the sensors in order for it to work. The best tool for the job is the Bartec Tech400Plus (~$1200) which does it all.

Aftermarket sensors do work. I'm using the AirAware sensors on my '10 WRX and they work fine.
ki4syr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 09:51 PM   #4
Pinned
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152707
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Western MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ki4syr View Post
The search function is your friend, try it.

For the different sensors, the TPMS module has to be reflashed. You can do it yourself, but you'll need at cheapest (ugitwhutupayfer) $125 Ateq Quickset, and then you will need the CORRECT ID's from the sensors in order for it to work. The best tool for the job is the Bartec Tech400Plus (~$1200) which does it all.

Aftermarket sensors do work. I'm using the AirAware sensors on my '10 WRX and they work fine.
Thanks for the information. I'm just going to let the dealer deal with it while the car is still under warranty.

Though for the $128 that tire rack is charging for TPMS sensors, I may just forego them all together. Guess I'll have to ask the dealer if they could disable the tire pressure warning light for the winter.
Pinned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 10:00 PM   #5
ki4syr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 247574
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Overthere
Vehicle:
2013 PBP GV STI
2008 Impreza 2.5i

Default

The AirAware sensors I bought were less than $50 each, came from Carquest. I don't think "warranty" will cover TPMS reflashes, being that there is nothing broken. You might get a good will a time or two from a dealership. My local dealership charges $45 for each TPMS reflash.
ki4syr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 01:50 AM   #6
Pinned
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152707
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Western MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ki4syr View Post
The AirAware sensors I bought were less than $50 each, came from Carquest. I don't think "warranty" will cover TPMS reflashes, being that there is nothing broken. You might get a good will a time or two from a dealership. My local dealership charges $45 for each TPMS reflash.
I'm saying that if I'm taking the car to the dealership anyways (as they are covering a lot of maintenance on the car) I'll simply have them reflash or reprogram the system at the same time. I have no desire to spend money on the ateq quickset and waste my time fighting with it to get it working, I haven't read a single positive review of it. I'd rather give the dealer the money (don't think I've ever said that before) and not worry about it.

As far as the cost, tire rack will be mounting the tires to the wheels, so I have to buy the sensors at the same time unless I want to waste money having someone unmount and remount everything. Also, tire rack is offering all 4 sensors for $128, and even then, the TPMS is bordering on not being worthwhile to me.

Thanks for the suggestions though.
Pinned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 02:26 AM   #7
jdmboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 240161
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: MD
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon R.I.P
87 bmw e30

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ki4syr View Post
The search function is your friend, try it.
the search function on this forum and most forums is complete garbage...just saying.
jdmboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 09:52 AM   #8
ki4syr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 247574
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Overthere
Vehicle:
2013 PBP GV STI
2008 Impreza 2.5i

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmboy View Post
the search function on this forum and most forums is complete garbage...just saying.
^ I completely disagree with that.

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/sear...rchid=17350979
ki4syr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For 08 STI would this fit and TPMS question? design1stcode2nd Tire & Wheel 11 12-06-2014 10:27 AM
TPMS question eholland Tire & Wheel 2 02-25-2010 09:54 PM
TPMS question captainEJ Tire & Wheel 13 02-14-2010 06:42 PM
TPMS Question engee Newbies & FAQs 17 11-30-2009 06:45 PM
TPMS Questions chanomatik Alaskan Impreza Club Forum -- AKIC 18 10-29-2009 06:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.