Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday December 26, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2010, 06:26 AM   #1
SlowImport
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 123720
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Wagon
Platinum Silver Metallic

Default AEM UEGO and RomRaider

I can't seem to get the AEM wideband to log on RomRaider. The gauge is reading just fine and I am using the Busted Finger cable to connect to the AEM wideband to my laptop. All I get are 0 across the entire board for the AEM wideband while everything else logs just fine from my tactrix cable.

please help me,
Josh
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
SlowImport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 10:45 AM   #2
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Select plug in


Select external sensor


Then in the main logging parameter window select the AEM Ugo along with whatever you want to log. What do you mean your using the BFM cable to connect your AEM?
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 12:53 PM   #3
SlowImport
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 123720
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Wagon
Platinum Silver Metallic

Default

I did exactly what you have listed. So then it pulls up the AEM logging table on the right side along with everything else I have selected for the RomRaider to log. But instead of giving me an A/F reading like the gauge is reading, all the values just say 0(zero).

What I mean by using the BFM cable to connect my AEM, is that I am using the BFM cable to connect the AEM wideband to my laptop so the RomRaider can log it. Here is the BFM cable I am using.

http://www.bustedfingermotorsports.com/aem.html

Thanks for your help so far quazimoto, Phatron and I are trying to get to where I can get this wideband to log so we can start tuning.

Also when I plug in the BFM cable that is connected to the AEM wideband to my laptop its not finding the drivers. You think its just the cable not talking to my laptop?

this is frustrating,
Josh
SlowImport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 04:37 PM   #4
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

What version of Romraider are you using and what operating system do you use? I usually have to manually install the drivers for my Tactrix. You will probably have to do the same for that cable. Just use " install drivers from specified location" from the install wizard and then browse to where the drivers are located from the installed software.

Last edited by quazimoto; 12-25-2010 at 04:43 PM.
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 01:01 AM   #5
SlowImport
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 123720
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Wagon
Platinum Silver Metallic

Default

v0.5.2 Beta is the version of RomRaider I am running.

hmm,
Josh
SlowImport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 01:42 AM   #6
arghx7
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232940
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: cold
Default

This isn't the AEM wideband with the analog needle display is it? If it is, that one won't work.
arghx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 12:48 PM   #7
SlowImport
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 123720
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Wagon
Platinum Silver Metallic

Default

No its the one with the digital numbers in the ceneter with the lights all around the edge.

Thank you for the help though,
Josh
SlowImport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 05:31 PM   #8
subysportSTI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207923
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Billings, Montana
Vehicle:
2006 STI paperweight
WRB

Default

did you ever figure out the problem? I'll be running an aem as well, just curious in case I have the same trouble
subysportSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 06:24 AM   #9
pacificnorthwest
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 257995
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: tacoma wa
Vehicle:
2004 wrx
wr

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by subysportSTI
did you ever figure out the problem? I'll be running an aem as well, just curious in case I have the same trouble
Blue wire out of uego is a serial output.. go to radio shack buy a 9pin db9 connector.. then buy a serial to USB adapter
pacificnorthwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 03:38 PM   #10
subysportSTI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207923
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Billings, Montana
Vehicle:
2006 STI paperweight
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pacificnorthwest View Post
Blue wire out of uego is a serial output.. go to radio shack buy a 9pin db9 connector.. then buy a serial to USB adapter
i've heard good things about the bfm logging cable. Any reason I shouldn't get one?
subysportSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 08:23 PM   #11
SlowImport
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 123720
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Wagon
Platinum Silver Metallic

Default

I just got mine to work. I was having a connection issue with the connectors I was using to connect the AEM blue wire to the BFM wire that goes into the serial port. The cable now works perfectly!

User error FTL,
Josh
SlowImport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 11:04 PM   #12
jockeygolfs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 260868
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Lake Worth, Florida
Vehicle:
2011 STI
White

Default

Did you load all the files from BFM? I'm having the same issue you had but I checked the wire connections and they are fine. Romraider tries to connect but it cannot. I'm using windows 7. How about the sim programs that come with the BFM files? Did you use those?
jockeygolfs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 08:07 PM   #13
jockeygolfs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 260868
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Lake Worth, Florida
Vehicle:
2011 STI
White

Default

Ok, so I have the wideband communicating w the computer. The hyperterminal can log the wideband. But I'm still not able to log on Romraider.
jockeygolfs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 09:39 PM   #14
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jockeygolfs
Ok, so I have the wideband communicating w the computer. The hyperterminal can log the wideband. But I'm still not able to log on Romraider.
You have to click open plugins on romraider and open the proper com port. Then open the aem uego option to display it
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 10:03 PM   #15
jockeygolfs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 260868
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Lake Worth, Florida
Vehicle:
2011 STI
White

Default

Did all of that. The com port at the top left should not be the same as the AEM uego right? that one is for the OBDII connection right?
jockeygolfs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 11:41 PM   #16
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

No the obd com port is a different number than the port for the uego.
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 06:20 AM   #17
jockeygolfs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 260868
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Lake Worth, Florida
Vehicle:
2011 STI
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewayz
No the obd com port is a different number than the port for the uego.
Ok thanks for the confirmation. Do I need to have a tactrix cable for the ecu in order to log the wideband? The program says it cannot communicate so maybe it is searching for the ecu and since it cannot find it, it won't log the wideband? The wideband is the only thing I have connected.
jockeygolfs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 11:11 AM   #18
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

You just need your own db9 connector to usb for the aem. Thats all you need to log afrs
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 02:24 PM   #19
jockeygolfs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 260868
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Lake Worth, Florida
Vehicle:
2011 STI
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewayz
You just need your own db9 connector to usb for the aem. Thats all you need to log afrs
Yes, I have the bustedfinger motorsports cable. That is how I'm logging through hyperterminal on the laptop. My tuner says that will work so I guess I don't need the Romraider.
jockeygolfs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 06:18 PM   #20
Harley2390
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 275378
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default

All my Paremeters are all saying 0.00 and it says there reading data but there not doing anything..i have the $19.99 BfM cable as well hooked into my lappy and i also have my Tactrix running into my lappy im not logging anything on Romraider cause i was tryin to get a my stock map reading using Ecu Flash. well what i got i guess is my stock an it saved as "Read Image.hex" but when i go to open it under Romraider Or Ecu Flash.. it gives me an Error.. an wont open... can you help me?
Harley2390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 02:27 PM   #21
fenix-silver
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 231700
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Central PA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

See this post: http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=2171742

It looks like the newer AEM Uego's (at least my inline one) are using a different baud rate and data format, which would explain why they won't work w/ RR.
fenix-silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 08:38 PM   #22
jockeygolfs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 260868
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Lake Worth, Florida
Vehicle:
2011 STI
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fenix-silver
See this post: http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=2171742

It looks like the newer AEM Uego's (at least my inline one) are using a different baud rate and data format, which would explain why they won't work w/ RR.
Thanks for the info!! I can now sleep at night!! Hope someone comes up with a solution.
jockeygolfs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 09:12 AM   #23
fenix-silver
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 231700
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Central PA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

I modified the AEM pluging for RR last night and my first test worked. It was getting late so I need to run a longer log just to make sure no issues come up, but suffice it to say that I have a solution for RR.
fenix-silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 09:54 AM   #24
jockeygolfs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 260868
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Lake Worth, Florida
Vehicle:
2011 STI
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fenix-silver
I modified the AEM pluging for RR last night and my first test worked. It was getting late so I need to run a longer log just to make sure no issues come up, but suffice it to say that I have a solution for RR.
I hear angels in the back ground and see a beam of light fromthe heavens.
jockeygolfs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 02:58 PM   #25
jockeygolfs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 260868
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Lake Worth, Florida
Vehicle:
2011 STI
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fenix-silver
I modified the AEM pluging for RR last night and my first test worked. It was getting late so I need to run a longer log just to make sure no issues come up, but suffice it to say that I have a solution for RR.
So did you fix romraider? Will you be providing everyone with your fix?
jockeygolfs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AEM UEGO and AEM Analog Wideband gauges 199.80 w/Free Overnight Shipping maperformance Gauges & Electronics 93 06-15-2010 12:02 PM
AEM UEGO and AEM Analog Wideband gauges 218.11 w/Free Overnight Shipping maperformance Gauges & Electronics 106 02-04-2010 01:09 PM
AEM Uego and AEM Analog Wideband gauges now just 207.21 w/Free Overnight!!!! maperformance Gauges & Electronics 13 09-01-2009 11:39 AM
AEM Uego install/ RomRaider lagodcm Interior & Exterior Modification 1 02-10-2009 05:21 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.