Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday April 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2002, 04:03 PM   #1
adamsrs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3768
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Question Greddy E-manage Question!

I found a local shop: Garage SPL ( www.garagespl.com ) who will install the Greddy Emanage with the Injector Harness and Ignition harness AND tune it for $500 parts and labor....my only question is do i need the optional pressure sensor? As of right now i have the JC sports Torque Chip 2, will i need to remove this to install the Greddy? If so this will remove my Voltage Clamp too i think....any info is really appreciated!
adamsrs
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
adamsrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2002, 05:34 PM   #2
jeffg
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2958
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2001 WRX (GC8)

Default

Okay, so let me try to answer you questions 1 at a time.
Quote:
do i need the optional pressure sensor?
Do you have a turbo kit or supercharger? If yes, than the Greddy Emanage can support an additional MAP sensor. When the airflow exceeds the factory sensors limit (ie boost) the emanage can continue to measure the air and provide fuel correction. Basically this sensor sets the scale for the Emanage mapping. You factory ECU will continue to use the factory sensor.

Quote:
i have the JC sports Torque Chip 2, will i need to remove this
I would. Basically a good tuning job on the Emanage will do everything the TC2 does. I think it would be harder to get a good fuel and timing map with the additional TC2 in the way. I guess it would just depend on the tuners preference.

Quote:
this will remove my Voltage Clamp too
Yes, you should probably just get a regular voltage clamp to use on your factory map sensor.

Hope that helps.

J
jeffg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2002, 09:24 PM   #3
adamsrs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3768
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

Jeff you are REALLY helpful! Ok a few more questions though!

1: what kind of Voltage clamp are you using? Just a Zener Diode? Where can i get what i need.

2: I am turbo, are you?

3: Are YOU using the optional pressure sensor?

4: Where am i supposed to mount the optional pressure sensor if i do decide to get it.

5: If you DO NOT have the pressure sensor what are the downsides....

6: Is $500 installed and tuned a good price?

7: How many hours have you spent tuning so far?

8: And you think that this will make my car run better than it does now? My car gets poopy gas mileage!

9: What is your average gas mileage?

THANKS SOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH DUDE!
adamsrs
adamsrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2002, 12:22 AM   #4
jeffg
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2958
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2001 WRX (GC8)

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by adamsrs
1: what kind of Voltage clamp are you using? Just a Zener Diode? Where can i get what i need.
Just call any of the turbo kit manufacturers and order one, or I think the part was listed here in i-club at some time. I dont know the part number off the top of my head.

Quote:
2: I am turbo, are you?
no, NA for me at least for now, still waiting to see the Cobb SC kit

Quote:
3: Are YOU using the optional pressure sensor?
No, I am still NA so there is no need.

Quote:
4: Where am i supposed to mount the optional pressure sensor if i do decide to get it.
The optional sensor has a hose barb on one side and a wire harness on the other. Hook the hose barb to any vacumn line, and wire it in. Mount the physical unit where ever you want.

Quote:
5: If you DO NOT have the pressure sensor what are the downsides....
The pressure sensor is basically just used for forced induction. Your stock MAP sensor can only read to 1 bar (normal air pressure, no boost). As soon as boost comes in, your ECU freaks out because the MAP is sending a signal that is out of the normal bounds. That is why you use te Voltage Clamp. With the additional pressure sensor, the Emanage sees the amount of boost and figures out the correct fuel based on your map.

Quote:
6: Is $500 installed and tuned a good price?
I paid about $800 tuned, and found out today my tuning job sucked. They did not even turn on the timing adjustment. $500 is a pretty good deal.

Quote:
7: How many hours have you spent tuning so far?
About 4, I just got the tuning software today.

Quote:
8: And you think that this will make my car run better than it does now? My car gets poopy gas mileage!
After tuning my car got about the same milage. I get about 320 miles on a tank of 87 octane.

Quote:
9: What is your average gas mileage?
See above.


There you go. I will have a better idea of the tuning part as time goes on. I just got the software today.
jeffg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2002, 01:11 AM   #5
mitch808
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10228
Join Date: Sep 2001
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru WRX

Default

I thought the software was only for dealers? If so Adam, hopefully you can get a copy of it too so that you can monkey with it later down the road
mitch808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2002, 01:20 AM   #6
jeffg
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2958
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2001 WRX (GC8)

Default

According to Greddy the software is for "Greddy Authorized Service Center Use Only."

Some how one showed up in my mail box.

J
jeffg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2002, 01:34 AM   #7
GuerillaRacing
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 17172
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Dawg, SoCal
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza OBS
Silver w/ Blue Vinyl

Default

Hey jeff, I carry Greddy, and tune it as much as possible, but they do not recognize me as their OFFICIAL tuning center - since they have one downhere already.

So how much for a copy of the software?
GuerillaRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2002, 02:19 AM   #8
jeffg
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2958
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2001 WRX (GC8)

Default

The software is pretty easy to get, but the cable is pita. I found a dealer that was willing to part with a complete box and it cost me about $140 for the software and cable and english manual.

Email me and I can try and help you find a dealer that will sell it to you.

J
jeffg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2002, 06:15 PM   #9
adamsrs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3768
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

could you possible point me in the direction to where i can get a voltage claming device? A link please!
adamsrs
adamsrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2002, 02:09 PM   #10
BADWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3792
Join Date: Jan 2001
Vehicle:
2002 6MT almost GDB

Thumbs up A good link!

There is a pretty phat knowlege base on the e-manage already. You can even download the software.

Yahoo E-Manage group

Hope this helps you out.

Andy
BADWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2002, 06:12 PM   #11
HondaH8er
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3097
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: www.rs25.com Beaverton, OR
Vehicle:
2013 Ford Focus ST
Performance Blue

Default

How long does it take them to do the install and tune on the e-Manage? For $500 installed/tuned, I'd be more than willing to drive up to Sea-town rather than do a ghetto-tune in my front yard once I finish my turbo kit. Does the e-Manage have know-sensing and timing-retard functions like the J&S Safeguard? I seem to remember that it does, but I could be wrong. Anyways, thanks for the info!
HondaH8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2002, 11:06 PM   #12
adamsrs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3768
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

They didnt give me an alloted time....but probably 6 hours tuned..
adamsrs
adamsrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2002, 03:00 PM   #13
HamFist
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2112
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5RS
BRP

Default

Can you fart with this one and kick a CEL? Oh wait, that's the stock ECU...how does this fair with Old B!tch Diagnostic 2? $350 for the unit is not bad at ALL! Mel
HamFist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2002, 03:45 PM   #14
jeffg
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2958
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2001 WRX (GC8)

Default

The emanage does not have knock retard.

You can adjust your timing based on pressure (ie boost)


physical install of the unit takes about an hour, depending on what harnesses you get.

J
Emanage equiped.
jeffg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2002, 11:00 PM   #15
RX-2
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 22239
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Anaheim/ Taipei
Vehicle:
1998 IMPREZA GT
BLUE METALLIC

Default

Hey guys,


HKS F- con S or F- con V are better !


i got the F-conV and it just works great for me...Sometimes i boost my IHI RHF55 turbo up to 1.5 Kg. and the ex. temp. will only stay at around 850* when reving it @ 7000 Rpm.


Ps: i kicked a PORSCHE C4 ass three weeks ago...poor guy couldnt catch up anymore, hehehehe...

RX-2
RX-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2002, 01:05 AM   #16
HamFist
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2112
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5RS
BRP

Default

I'd pay extra for harnesses, but getting one of these past an obd2 check is a pain in the butt. We have those here. Is there anyone in the house that knows how to get around that? the emanage seems the only option to not have to mess with wires. I love the Link 2's I've been seeing lately. That's a bad ass system, but wiring in something looks like a real pain. Then having to undo it later! ugghhh...there's gotta be something better.
HamFist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2002, 01:38 AM   #17
adamsrs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3768
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

The LINK is now available in a PLUG IN system for the 2000 RS.....i dont know fro where though......
adamsrs
adamsrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2002, 02:44 PM   #18
jeffg
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2958
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2001 WRX (GC8)

Default

Just thought I would post this here also.

There is an Install Guide for the Subaru 2.5RS(2000-2001). It is located in the Yahoo group Emanage File section.

here is a link.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/emanage/files/Emanage.doc
jeffg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2002, 03:21 PM   #19
Skidd
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1853
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: SA-TX (Hozer expat)
Vehicle:
GC6 Supercharged
STM

Default

The Plug-In LINK is from AMR . I don't think it's a true plugin though. I think they have a wiring harnes made up that allows you to connect the LINK ECU into your factory harness. Thats good enough for me!
Skidd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2002, 04:45 PM   #20
adamsrs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3768
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

jeffg: So the Emanage DOES NOT intercept the Airflow Signal? i.e. the MAP sensor wire? If not then how does it work... i dont get it! LOL...and what injectors do you have??/
adamsrs
adamsrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2002, 09:03 PM   #21
NateDogg
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6467
Join Date: May 2001
Location: philadelphia, pa, usa
Vehicle:
1999 Impreza 2.5 RS
silver

Default

you run the MAF or MAP wire through the emanage just like you do with an AFC, the optional boost sensor just takes over once the MAP is out of its normal operating range.

Nate
NateDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2002, 11:26 PM   #22
adamsrs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3768
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

Are you sure? Because Jeff tells me otherwise!
adamsrs
adamsrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 05:16 PM   #23
NateDogg
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6467
Join Date: May 2001
Location: philadelphia, pa, usa
Vehicle:
1999 Impreza 2.5 RS
silver

Default

im the first person in the US to have one. im sure, i installed it. i had to cut the wire for the MAF and run it into the Emanage harness then there was a wire comming out of the harness that i reconnected to the other side of the MAF wire.

Nate
NateDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 11:45 PM   #24
adamsrs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3768
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

NATE: What year is your car? Are you turbo?
adamsrs
adamsrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2002, 12:28 AM   #25
NateDogg
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6467
Join Date: May 2001
Location: philadelphia, pa, usa
Vehicle:
1999 Impreza 2.5 RS
silver

Default

i have a MY99 and im not turbo, having a turbo doesnt have anything to do with how the emanage is hooked up.

another thing....as i understand it you have a legacy block, turbo, header and uppipe? right? if this is the case why not just get the ecu from a 2.2 turbo and use the emanage or afc from there.

Nate
NateDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buy Engine Management, Save on Tuning/Cobb/AEM/Hydra/UTech/Haltech/Greddy E-Manage Draco Performance Engine Management 100 10-15-2010 12:08 PM
FS: Greddy E-manage Engine Control Unit Manager w/ Support Tool and Harnesses freds88 Engine/Power/Exhaust 3 07-23-2009 06:30 PM
FS: IL Greddy E-Manage - Greddy Turbo Timer - Ect. JSarv Engine/Power/Exhaust 6 01-17-2009 07:19 AM
Lots of GC8 GReddy E-Manage questions, please help... hotshot2109 Engine Management & Tuning 10 01-09-2006 05:22 PM
Greddy e-manage question WRX_junkie Engine Management & Tuning 3 10-16-2002 05:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.