Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday September 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2002, 10:46 PM   #1
Hondaslayer
Purified Dick
Moderator
 
Member#: 4562
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Auburn, WA
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy LSi
1998 Forester, lifted.

Default Stand alone engine management?

O.k I have decided to run standalone for my swap.
My?'s are.
What kind?
How much?
How do I tune. Where to get base maps etc....
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Hondaslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2002, 10:55 PM   #2
Chav
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3269
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2001 2.5RS Sedan STM
RSTi

Default

Search for "Link" "TEC" and "Haltech" . You will find mine and others experiance with the Link 2 as well as the post in which I decided which ECU to go with. If you need more info after the search I'd be glad to help.

-Chav
Chav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2002, 12:47 AM   #3
kastle
Frank Army
 
Member#: 1457
Join Date: May 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Vehicle:
1999 Outback Sport
Steel Blue Mica

Default

some good info in the FAQ too
kastle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2002, 11:38 AM   #4
RallyNavvie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7113
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Minnesotan in Texas
Vehicle:
2008 Spec B
DGM

Default

I can answer most of your questions regarding the $1300 Haltech E6K kit.

~Garrett
RallyNavvie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2002, 12:53 PM   #5
DoctorNick
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 7022
Join Date: May 2001
Vehicle:
heh, DC ITCA are
my rides

Default Re: Stand alone engine management?

Quote:
Originally posted by hondaslayer
O.k I have decided to run standalone for my swap.
My?'s are.
What kind?
How much?
How do I tune. Where to get base maps etc....
HAHA!

So why not with JDM ECU? Also what about taking the USDM chip and having the tuner in toronto Put in a 93 oct map for you?
DoctorNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2002, 01:09 PM   #6
christoph1371
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1090
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: CA
Default

Skywalker can answer alll/most Link questions
christoph1371 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2002, 02:24 PM   #7
Jgrahn555
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 3224
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Seattle, FL
Vehicle:
06

Default

Quote:
What kind?
How much?
How do I tune. Where to get base maps etc....
Do a search for Autronic.

Think this: You get what you pay for.

Autronic has the Autotune function. end of story, all you'll need is your timing curve and it will take care of the rest.

-Jason
Jgrahn555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2002, 06:55 PM   #8
Hondaslayer
Purified Dick
Moderator
 
Member#: 4562
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Auburn, WA
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy LSi
1998 Forester, lifted.

Default

Kastle sorry I know I should have searched but it was like 1 am and I had worked a 13 hr day so Im surprised my spelling was as good as it was
So what about this autronic unit?
Neal: I need adjustability!!! Bwahahahahahh
Hondaslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2002, 07:06 PM   #9
Jgrahn555
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 3224
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Seattle, FL
Vehicle:
06

Default

Ahem....

Quote:
Do a search for Autronic.
and if you're searching fingers are broken and you are unable to type anymore: click here
Jgrahn555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2002, 07:37 PM   #10
DoctorNick
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 7022
Join Date: May 2001
Vehicle:
heh, DC ITCA are
my rides

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hondaslayer
Neal: I need adjustability!!! Bwahahahahahh
your a moron, WHERE DO YOU WORK. IM me, I got a mini plan I am working on.
DoctorNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2002, 10:53 PM   #11
MrHorspwer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4063
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Michigan
Default

Just a curiosity question... why is no one running anything like Accel DFI or even AEM's race management? I know quite a few domestics and imports are running really fast on the DFI system... and it seems like it's pretty universal. I guess you would be going into uncharted territory and playing guinea pig, buy hey... you may make a breakthrough.

http://www.aempower.com/ems.htm
http://www.mrgasket.com/dfimain.html
MrHorspwer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2002, 02:12 PM   #12
Skidd
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1853
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: SA-TX (Hozer expat)
Vehicle:
GC6 Supercharged
STM

Default

Hey, that Autotronic SMC unit can use a Wideband O2 sensor!! THats a big plus in my books! That "should" provide better closed loop adjustments!
Skidd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2002, 07:27 PM   #13
Hondaslayer
Purified Dick
Moderator
 
Member#: 4562
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Auburn, WA
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy LSi
1998 Forester, lifted.

Default

Mike I just looked into that Accel DFI unit. Turns out its available at the local autozone?!?!???!!????
Hondaslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2002, 12:10 AM   #14
Ethan
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 246
Join Date: Sep 1999
Default

if you want to get technical, actually the Tec unit is NOT a stand alone engine managment system it's a Parrell eng. mang. sys.
Ethan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2002, 01:02 AM   #15
annointed
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 5960
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Atlantic City, NJ
Vehicle:
FXT 11.6@118 93 oct
NSX 450 whp SC'd (93 oct)

Default

If you're doing an STi conversion, you an also use the Apex'i Power FC w/handheld Commander. I sourced a second hand unit in New Zealand for $875 shipped, and I really like it. You might find one on the MRT Classifieds. Problem is, you'll have to tune it yourself, as peeps in the USA don't have much PFC tuning experience.
annointed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2002, 12:16 AM   #16
Imprezha
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6818
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Fort Myers
Vehicle:
2004 STI 02 NSX
2010 Gen Cpe,03 CL Type S

Default

Yeah, go with something you can get help with. Andrew from amr does know his link stuff. I finally got the link working with Andrew and Tom help.
Thank god for support from people like Tom and andrew.

Imprezha
Imprezha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2002, 03:08 AM   #17
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
04 FXT
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ethan
if you want to get technical, actually the Tec unit is NOT a stand alone engine managment system it's a Parrell eng. mang. sys.
Hey, I think you've got a little sarcasm problem there.
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2002, 03:54 AM   #18
Imprezha
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6818
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Fort Myers
Vehicle:
2004 STI 02 NSX
2010 Gen Cpe,03 CL Type S

Default

Oh..Sorry skywalker...your info was very helpful also and kevin is a great fellow technical subie advisor..Didn't want to leave out where credit is deserved.


Imprezha
Imprezha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2002, 10:57 AM   #19
wac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 689
Join Date: Dec 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lebanon, NH, USA
Vehicle:
2005 Outback 2.5 XT
Champagne Gold Opal

Default

I can think of a few good reasons why the TEC-2 is not a true standalone engine management system, at least for street cars:
1. No output drive for charcoal cannister purge.
2. No output drive for radiator fan control (thermostat).
3. No output drive for tachometer.
4. Not nearly as important as the above, but: No A/C idle speed compensation.

The good news is that the TEC-3 does have support for all of the above, but at a much higher price.

-WaC
Wayne
wac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2002, 11:19 PM   #20
Hondaslayer
Purified Dick
Moderator
 
Member#: 4562
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Auburn, WA
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy LSi
1998 Forester, lifted.

Default

So heres my next question. would I be able to run an EJ20 with a parallell engine management system while still utilizing the stock 2.5 ecm. ( the engine does not include the ecm.)
Hondaslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2002, 01:26 AM   #21
ImportInvasion
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 9016
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pylesville, MD "It's a sl
Vehicle:
1995 Impreza L-turbo
JDM EJ20 conversion

Default

You can probubly run the EJ20 using your stock EJ25 ECU alone. I have heard of a couple people using EJ25 ECUs to run EJ20s. I have run a EJ20 using the stock EJ18 ECU and it ran alright, but i only ran low boost. The EJ25 ecu has a knock sensor so it should be fine, and with the addon of a timing and possibly fuel controller you should be able to go at least as well as the EJ20 ECU, if not better. When using the EJ25 ECU, you may need to swap some parts, like the idle air controller or tps or something in order to allow for the EJ20 ECU to communicate with the electronics.

-NOah
ImportInvasion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2002, 01:42 AM   #22
Z1 Performance
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 9327
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Z1Auto.com
Default

TEC3 and TEC2 are the same price..TEC2 is no longer offered

Most people use the TEc2 as a parralel system, I suwepct the same hods true for a TEC3 as well, at least on a Subaru.

Most of teh ecu's mentioned (LINK, etc.) aev autotune...try getting it to work, it rarely does.

Many (not all) support wideband though...but you ahve to then go and buy a wideband sensor..not necessary for a street car, but for a race setup, worthwhile.

The best one for you is the one you can afford, and the one you feel most comfortable tuning. If not doing it yourself, get a feel for what your local tuning shops use, and stick with one of those...the secret to how well it works is how well it is programmed.

adam
Z-1
www.z1auto.com
Z1 Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2002, 02:12 AM   #23
christoph1371
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1090
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: CA
Default

we have put in 6 links. 2wrx and 4 for the rs-t. All of them have worked and worked well.

I still don't get it when I hear from people, how bad their link is.
christoph1371 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2002, 02:15 AM   #24
KillerTHC
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4942
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Palo Alto, CA USA
Vehicle:
01 SRP 2.5 RS-T
Ludespeed Stage 3 Link'd

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by christoph1371
we have put in 6 links. 2wrx and 4 for the rs-t. All of them have worked and worked well.

I still don't get it when I hear from people, how bad their link is.
most of the time people say things when they do something stupid themselves that caused what they think the link to fail
KillerTHC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
are there any stand alone engine management which keeps your air and all functions. STEALTH-WRX Engine Management & Tuning 1 11-01-2002 08:34 PM
Lets talk stand alone engine management Szm426 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 13 06-05-2002 09:46 PM
Best stand alone engine management jetfan8178 Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 7 03-29-2002 10:46 AM
Stand alone engine management options jetfan8178 Normally Aspirated Powertrain 3 03-26-2002 01:19 PM
For those looking for stand alone engine management... DanMan Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 22 02-02-2002 02:30 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.