Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday May 29, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2011, 12:02 AM   #1
BoostedMKIV
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 181889
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default Camshaft Position Sensor Question.

Ok, so....since I bought the car, 2005 Impreza RS, it has thrown a CEL and the flashing CRUISE light.

Hooked a diagnostic machine up to it and got a code that read Camshaft Positioning Sensor.

So...went to Advanced Auto and ordered the part, double checked the part number...everything was cool.

Me and the mechanic at the dealership remove my alternator and pull out the old sensor to see its all bent up and destroyed.
so, we take it out, remove the debris...and try to put the new one in....and it won't fit.
The only way we can get it to fit, is to remove the sleeve thing around it, which I'm not sure we were supposed to, but we figured as long as it fit...it would be fine, and we dropped that bish in there.

Well....car wouldn't start.
Just kept firing and firing but wouldnt' catch.

Mechanic thinks its a wrong part, but i checked and verified the part number...do those stores have the wrong part numbers in their system sometimes? I dunno.

If the car was made in late 04 but is an 05, do i need to order a part for an 04 instead?
I dunno.

Did we need to reset the ECU or do something else after the sensor replacement that we forgot?
I dunno.

Obviously, replacement parts arent always OEM, so is it the fact that its not OEM an issue?
I dunno.

any help you guys can offer up would be really helpful.

thanks.
-your resident s00b n00b.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
BoostedMKIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 03-02-2011, 12:25 PM   #2
02darkRS
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 80918
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ohio
Vehicle:
02-7 MBP RS/i hybrid
now w/ AVLS!

Default

no need to reset ecu.

aftermarket parts stores can frequently provide the "correct" part number which does not work. I've had it happen with NAPA on exhaust gaskets & the others on starters & other parts.

You could have a 05 part in an 04 as I have 03 brakes on an 02 but..... I don't believe you'd have obsolete 04 parts in an 05 if they changed it for some reason. 04 & 05 I believe have the same cams, timing, heads, etc.... so, should not be an issue.

The Sleave should only have needed removed if the old sleeve stayed in for some reason. my assumption based on that statement is you have the wrong part. get an oem one from the dealer & compare.
What caused the old one to be mangled?

If you find that an 07 would work.... i have an 07 sensor & drivers cam gear. I don't believe it will work though. That said you'll have to make sure you have the right sensor & cam gear. When i dropped my 07 in with my 02 ECU I had to use my 02 sensor & drivers cam gear as the computer had no idea what to do with the 07 AVCS heads even with the right sensor & gear.
02darkRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 03:47 PM   #3
yarrgh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 80465
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Bailey, CO
Vehicle:
2001 2.5RS
Black Diamond Pearl

Default

Well, the CAM sensor is on the driver side head. The CRANK sensor is under the alternator. Seems like you screwed with the wrong sensor.
yarrgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 04:11 PM   #4
02darkRS
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 80918
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ohio
Vehicle:
02-7 MBP RS/i hybrid
now w/ AVLS!

Default

good catch. i wondered why he was messing with the alternator....
02darkRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 07:40 AM   #5
BoostedMKIV
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 181889
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default

**** **** ****.

So, the crankshaft position sensor is NOT the one under the alternator?

Lovely.
Some a-hole at an Advanced Auto told me that was the one.

I guess that's my bad for asking a $7 an hour employee for advice.
Ugh.

does anyone have an engine diagram with sensor locations?
that would be awesome.

thanks.
BoostedMKIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 12:50 PM   #6
02darkRS
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 80918
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ohio
Vehicle:
02-7 MBP RS/i hybrid
now w/ AVLS!

Default

The Crank is in the middle bottom of the engine & spins in order to lift & lower the rods/pistons. Based on your description it appears that is what you are messing with.

The Cam which you referenced in your first post & what I was discussing is on the drivers side head & it spins in order to open & close the valves.

Either you mistyped & your code was for the Crank Position Sensor & you are in the correct location based upon your description.
or
You typed correctly but messed with the wrong sensor.

Are you trying to replace the CAM or the CRANK sensor?
02darkRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:54 PM   #7
BoostedMKIV
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 181889
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default

Ok.

We figured out what goes where; crank sensor under the alternator...and the camshaft sensor on the driver side. Replaced both with new sensors.

Fired up the car...engine light still on, cruise light still flashing.

Hooked it back up to the OBD2 and tried to clear the code, and the car stalled.
Still showed the camshaft sensor code.

Took the negative battery cable off, put it back on later...still won't run.
Still has lights.

Why didn't this work?

PLEASE help.
BoostedMKIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:18 PM   #8
yarrgh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 80465
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Bailey, CO
Vehicle:
2001 2.5RS
Black Diamond Pearl

Default

the sensors may be ok, but how well is the wiring getting that signal to the ECU? check the length of wire for anything that may be wrong. Yes, it sucks, wiring issues have a reputation for being difficult. It's those damn gremlins.

Or you replaced a faulty sensor with another faulty sensor. It does happen.
yarrgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:26 PM   #9
02_WRX_<3
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 226709
Join Date: Oct 2009
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Victorville
Vehicle:
2002 Bugeye ftw!
Psm

Default

I was throwing the same code but in a 02wrx turbo.
Ended up being wiring harness...
02_WRX_<3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 07:02 AM   #10
BoostedMKIV
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 181889
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default

thanks guys.

taking it to the dealership today.
so, hopefully they can find out wtf is wrong with this thing
BoostedMKIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 03:21 PM   #11
fossill
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 141691
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: New Kensington, PA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Red

Default

Can I ask what your resolution was to this?
fossill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 06:33 PM   #12
chadness
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 356344
Join Date: May 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fossill View Post
Can I ask what your resolution was to this?
Also wondering what was wrong
chadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Camshaft position sensor shaneswrx Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 8 08-14-2004 04:39 AM
Camshaft position sensor dead AntonioS Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 3 01-16-2004 05:30 AM
Camshaft Position Sensor ehabs Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 6 12-31-2003 03:06 PM
Camshaft Position Sensor zsurfrin Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 7 01-16-2002 10:00 PM
CEL code: 0340 / Camshaft position sensor BluJay Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 7 11-06-2001 05:07 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.