Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2011, 02:19 PM   #1
millertime21
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224474
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Appleton, WI
Vehicle:
2002 PSM WRX
STi Swaped Bugeye

Default Running avcs with JDM version 7 ecu and 02 wrx wiring harness?

I have done some research lately and concluded i wanted to either do a 04 sti ecu swap and get the entire wiring harness for it or if i wanted to get a jdm version 7 ecu and use the 02 wrx wiring harness...which one would be the easiest to use and why?

I know if i go with the 04 sti body/engine and interior wiring harness i might need to get a STi intake manifold and throttle body but do i really need to? Is their a way to use my 02 wrx intake manifold, throttle body and throttle cables or will that not work? explain if it will or not.

If i get the version 7 ecu im going to need to wire something to make avcs work but im not sure what i actually need to re-wire. If someone could help me out and/or maybe post a thread i missed on the same subject let me know. Thought i might get a better answer in the powertrain forum than the newbie section.

Thanks!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
millertime21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 11:46 PM   #2
millertime21
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224474
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Appleton, WI
Vehicle:
2002 PSM WRX
STi Swaped Bugeye

Default

come on someone has to know
millertime21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 11:50 PM   #3
Jubert39
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 155598
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Vernon Connecticut
Vehicle:
2004 AW Subaru WRX
JDM v7 STI spec-C

Default

i have a v7 spec c in my 04 with v7 ecu.
You have an 02 so ur car is simple.
go to IAperformance and buy their AVCS JDM wiring kit. You wire that into your car. Then just plug in the ECU and ur good to go
Jubert39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 11:50 PM   #4
seanathanq83
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 173241
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Tx
Vehicle:
2002 s256 twinscroll
now with one more gear

Default

you can run avcs with a jdm ecu, but you have to use the jdm heads, dont believe you can use the usdm heads, actually pretty sure you cant
seanathanq83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 11:52 PM   #5
Jubert39
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 155598
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Vernon Connecticut
Vehicle:
2004 AW Subaru WRX
JDM v7 STI spec-C

Default

o yea, i figured u were putting in a JDM v7 motor in there... so nvm to what i said.
Jubert39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 09:33 AM   #6
millertime21
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224474
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Appleton, WI
Vehicle:
2002 PSM WRX
STi Swaped Bugeye

Default

so what would it take to run avcs? i would have to put in an 04 sti ecu and above correct?
millertime21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 04:09 PM   #7
Ostrowrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 141342
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Hamden CT
Vehicle:
2010 WRX STI
Black

Default

Why do you have to use V7 heads? Can someone please explain! There must be some way to work around this. I have basically the same setup. 03 WRX built 2.5 bottom with 04 avcs heads. but obviouly avcs not active YET. And I will figure it out.
Ostrowrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 06:52 AM   #8
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

This comes up every now and then.

There is a write-up on how to swap the EJ255/257 in the EJ205 body.

To get it to run with drive by cable, you use the EJ205 ECU and replace the crank and cam sensors, a bit more wiring, I believe. The AVCS has no ports to go into in the EJ205 ECU and therefore it gets disconnected.

The question has always been: What if you keep the EJ255/257 as is, extend the AVCS wiring to the ECU cunnectors, then plug in the EJ255/257 ECU.

At this point, this ECU will have what it needs, EXCEPT, it will not see a connection to the throttle, because you are keeping the throttle by cable.

The only answers I've ever gotten from gurus are:
It won't work.

There are two other things: The ECU in the 205 is 16bit and the 257 is 32bit.

But if the ECU has all it's connections made, this should mean nothing.

In open source there are checkboxes, to eliminate codes, there may be one to eliminate the throttle body code, then you could go in a table and maybe have to zero out something.

Another answer was that to get everything else connected into the ECU, you need to do extensive wiring. You have to start to get involved even with the body harness, etc. At this point, it seems everyone decides that now the throttle body modification, where you run a different accelerator pedal, becomes minor and they just swap the whole thing.

The only other thing is I've read of a forum member that had a swap done and I guess, the person that did the swap did not read much on the forums, just went and did this, and there was a strange problem with the engine cutting off in certain ranges.

After seeing the problems with the ringlands in the 255/257, I decided to go with the EJ207, which allows you to have AVCS and keep the throttle by cable. I'm very happy with my decision.

One more thing. As part of my swap, I drove a bit with my AVCS not working yet and then I finally enabled it. It's essential to have the AVCS working, you're missing out otherwise.

To be honest with you, this avenue can be researched further.
I stopped because I took a different direction and at the time my knowledge of Open source/Romraider was very limited.

Having a close look side-by-side at the rom for a EJ205 and a 32bit EJ257 may provide some answers, as perhaps the table for the Throttle body cannot be elliminated or is used for a core function.
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 04:08 PM   #9
Ostrowrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 141342
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Hamden CT
Vehicle:
2010 WRX STI
Black

Default

Ok, can anybody verify if this can be done? Sti bottom end, cnc matched(for 2.5) jdm v7 or 8 heads with wrx intake mani and wiring. and use the iaperformance avcs kit to add the avcs.? And of course a custom tune.

Right now I'm non avcs 2.5 and debating between getting non avcs cams for my 04 heads or going with the aformentioned option. obviously more expensive but would be even more fun.
Ostrowrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 05:45 PM   #10
25rsti
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166324
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Haverhill, MA
Vehicle:
3 turbos &n NA
@DBlockSTi

Default

What about ecu? You would need an ecu that came with jdm avcs. Preferably the ones from the heads.
25rsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 12:52 AM   #11
Ostrowrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 141342
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Hamden CT
Vehicle:
2010 WRX STI
Black

Default

Yes I should of mentioned that, def need the matching ecu. Just wanted to be sure that the 03 wrx harness is compatible with the jdm v7 and v8 ecu. !
Ostrowrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 07:37 AM   #12
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

You would need to have the compression ratio checked, it's not a combo others did before, not machined anyway.
In general, the EJ207 heads are much shallower, as the EJ207 piston stops lower inside the cylinder (piston deck is more negative).
The machine shop may help you with that, but if you end up with like a 9:1 you will only run low boost on pump.
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 12:41 PM   #13
bebesito21
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 176128
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: I <3 E85
Vehicle:
5862 ...baby boosted

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ostrowrx View Post
Why do you have to use V7 heads? Can someone please explain!
bump for answer....anybody know the technical reason why a JDM ecu HAS to be run with a JDM head? How would the ecu know other than the sensors? And if so, wouldnt the sensors match if the motor is single avcs and the ecu is as well?
bebesito21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 12:44 PM   #14
bebesito21
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 176128
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: I <3 E85
Vehicle:
5862 ...baby boosted

Default

from another thread http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1857521

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3MI Racing View Post
JDM AVCS and USDM AVCS use different sensor types
maybe its possible to swap in JDM sensors?

now i see why its best to run either non avcs cams or a standalone...
bebesito21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 01:28 PM   #15
Ostrowrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 141342
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Hamden CT
Vehicle:
2010 WRX STI
Black

Default

you dont have to swap out cams just run them with the sensor unplugged.
Ostrowrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 01:17 PM   #16
BMXspears
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 79339
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Vehicle:
2002 EJ257 swap WRX
Midnight Black

Default

Isn't the real issue that the plugs of your wrx harness will not have pin locations for avcs wiring into your new jdm ECU, even if the plug shape is actually the same?
BMXspears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 03:10 PM   #17
Ostrowrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 141342
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Hamden CT
Vehicle:
2010 WRX STI
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMXspears
Isn't the real issue that the plugs of your wrx harness will not have pin locations for avcs wiring into your new jdm ECU, even if the plug shape is actually the same?
The wrx harness has no avcs wires, but u can just buy a avcs wiring kit and still use your wrx intake mani and of course you need a jdm v7 or v8 ecu. It's by far the easiest way to swap the 2.5 into a wrx.
Ostrowrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 03:46 PM   #18
25rsti
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166324
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Haverhill, MA
Vehicle:
3 turbos &n NA
@DBlockSTi

Default

JDM STi engine is not 2.5, its 2.0. 257 is UDSM STi 205 is USDM WRX 207 is JDM STi.
25rsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 05:48 PM   #19
dwx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8343
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Atlanta, GA
Vehicle:
2005 2012 Jeep
2013 DGM BRZ

Default

I ran V8 heads with an EJ257 bottom end in a 02 WRX back in...2005. I managed to just re-pin most of the TGV wires, I think it's the same number of wires. Also if you know someone who can supply the pins used in the WRX ECU harness you can run your wires, but they aren't easy to source. Moving the pins in the ECU harness is difficult, moving them in the plugs which connect to the JDM engine harness isn't very difficult.

In the end I wish IA performance would have had the kit back when I did my swap!
dwx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 04:52 PM   #20
DDScooby
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 161876
Join Date: Oct 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Bristol, CT
Vehicle:
02 Impreza WRX
WRB

Default

good info here....I'm looking to do a ECU/ Ver. 7 front end swap to complete my build.
DDScooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
02+ wrx wiring harness and ECU jparent33 Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 7 09-08-2009 01:51 PM
02 wrx wiring harness and ecu Silver01WRsX NESIC Private Classifieds 9 08-12-2009 01:17 AM
FS:MA 02 WRX wiring harness and ECU 350 shipped. johnny p Engine/Power/Exhaust 0 12-20-2008 06:17 PM
02 WRX wiring harness and ecu johnny p NESIC Private Classifieds 1 12-18-2008 08:03 PM
WTB 02 WRX Wiring Harness and ECU BenBortner Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 0 03-12-2005 07:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.