Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 10, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2002, 11:42 PM   #1
2.5RSimpreza
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 21082
Join Date: Jul 2002
Vehicle:
2000 2.5 RS
blue ridge pearl

Angry ECU reset, Exhaust and new Chip

I put on a new exhaust system on my 2.5 today and i decided to reset my ecu. The only way i knew of doing it was to disconnect my battery terminal. so i do that and when i reconnect it. my ECU seemed to be making a clicking noise like a selinoid was ticking. Im not sure if it was the ECU but it was under the dash. My stock cd player and turn signals and brake lights where flashing even with the car off, it eventually stopped and is running great but has anyone had the same thing happen to them, and in the future how should i reset the ECU?

I also wanted to know something about my exhaust, it is custom made 3 inch pipe about. with a flowmaster muffler, is this too big of an exhaust to run, and i would also like to know what kind of ECU or chip upgrade should i go with and what is it going to do for me?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by 2.5RSimpreza; 07-19-2002 at 01:25 AM.
2.5RSimpreza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2002, 12:49 AM   #2
nukeyfish
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7447
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Canton, MI
Vehicle:
2001 RS
BRP

Default

If you wanna reset ECU, disconnect negative terminal from battery and let it leave it 30 minutes or so.
Flashing light stuff is your keyless entry wants signal. Simply hit remote(lock/unlock) and it will go away.
Someone correct me if I am saying something stupid.
nukeyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2002, 12:19 PM   #3
Jademonkey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9213
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: My grandma was 6' 6"
Vehicle:
2000 RS
Red

Default

Yeah, what he said...twice!
Jademonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2002, 05:23 PM   #4
Imprezive2002
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 18872
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza
Aspen White

Lightbulb aaaaaaaaaa ok

when exhaust or intake is added and you reset the ecu you will notice a difference?
Imprezive2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2002, 05:37 PM   #5
nukeyfish
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7447
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Canton, MI
Vehicle:
2001 RS
BRP

Default

You WILL notice engine is smoother,but you do not know if it comes from new intake/exhaust or just ECU reset or both. You don't really have to disconnect battery to change intake, I think.

Jademonkey, I am trying to be a "scooby specialist", so every time, I post same thing twice. j/k
Deleted
nukeyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2002, 11:18 PM   #6
meebs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3251
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Lake Tapps, WA
Vehicle:
2009 WRX Hatch
DGM

Question

noob question here... does reseting your ECU reset your clocks too? Does that little one in the dash run off that battery or does it have it's own?

I've been thinking of doing a reset... when i start up for the day engine will initially be at it's normla 1.5k warmup rpm, but then 3 seconds later drop to near death and then correct itself to 2k. Infact I have had it die once. Maybe because my parking lot has a slight incline back? hmm.
meebs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2002, 11:39 AM   #7
Jademonkey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9213
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: My grandma was 6' 6"
Vehicle:
2000 RS
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nukeyfish
Jademonkey, I am trying to be a "scooby specialist", so every time, I post same thing twice. j/k
Deleted
Roger that good buddy!
Jademonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyless entry- reset after ECU reset? sir_aspen_white Electrical & Lighting 1 04-22-2003 08:24 PM
('93-'01) Does an ECU reset change the way an auto tranny shifts? subymamma Impreza Forum 14 05-18-2001 11:44 AM
('93-'01) ECU reset? littleblue Impreza Forum 3 05-04-2001 01:00 AM
('93-'01) ECU reset causing me to run RICH ? bigbird Impreza Forum 5 04-10-2001 10:53 PM
ECU reset for '99 Liberty Andy_T Legacy Forum 0 01-23-2000 06:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.