Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 31, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Interior & Exterior Modification

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2013, 10:55 AM   #451
AFP520
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 102932
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2014 STI Sedan
SWP

Default

Hey guys,

Haven't had my car long but will be doing this soon. I wanted to let you guys know that you might be able to add your own dimmer switch to the gauges by using a potentiometer. http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2102789

*NOTE* This should only be used on your illumination wire!!!! I have no idea what could happen to your gauges if you put it on another wire. Make sure you are 100% positive you hook it up to the correct one! It works by reducing the amount of power that flows to the lighting on the gauge. It's pretty adjustable, so should allow you to find that perfect spot. I had 2 Autometer C2 gauges both hooked up at the same time to the same one and they worked fine for months. Worth a shot for the few bucks IMO. Definitely has helped me avoid unnecessary attention when cops were following me. Those gauges are extremely bright when fully lit.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
AFP520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 10:54 PM   #452
Bradrcr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 276382
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, Wa
Vehicle:
2005 SaaBeeru
OBP

Default

Just curious, but how do you wire up a potentiometer? They all seem to have 3 terminals but no labels?
Bradrcr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 07:51 AM   #453
AFP520
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 102932
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2014 STI Sedan
SWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bradrcr View Post
Just curious, but how do you wire up a potentiometer? They all seem to have 3 terminals but no labels?
I would start by buying yourself a test light. It really helps when it comes to wiring things up.

I'm pretty sure only 2 of the terminals get used. You would put this between the illumination wire that runs from your car to your gauges. Turning it will adjust the amount of electrical flow to the lighting on the gauge. Again, some might act funny because I'm not really sure how every manufacturer of gauges does their lighting. I can only attest that I've had the 2 autometer gauges hooked up and I was able to adjust the brightness using a potentiometer.
AFP520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 08:04 AM   #454
gsrcrxsi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 236952
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore
Vehicle:
2010 WRX (SSM)
Stg "2+" 300hp/360trq

Default

Pots with 3 terminal:

1. Input
2. Variable output
3. Fixed output

If you hook up 1 and 2, varying the pot will vary resistance (and hence voltage. If you hook up 1 and 3, you will have fixed resistance and varying the pot won't do anything.
gsrcrxsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 10:08 PM   #455
Apedz215
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 328682
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default

Looks good

Last edited by Apedz215; 02-27-2013 at 10:34 PM.
Apedz215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 09:54 PM   #456
subi400
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 216984
Join Date: Jul 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Hayden, ID
Vehicle:
1996 Impreza outback
Green

Default

Been looking at getting a Defi Racer series white LID oil pressure gauge for my gf8 wagon. Finally pulled the trigger since I want a gauge that is going to work perfectly and be accurate. From what I have read, the Defi gauges are worth money in the long run

My friend has done some wiring but I have not so this thread should help a bunch when I finally get to instal the gauge and such. I am putting the oil pressure sensor unit where the OEM one is under the alternator. Not sure where I am putting the gauge inside the car yet. Will have some time to think about it...

So, I need to buy 1 or 2 fuse taps? I have an AutoZone here so I probably will get them there. Also have some heat shrink wrap some where. Will be posting some pictures if I can and asking questions if and when I have some.
subi400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 01:05 AM   #457
Yeeman19
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 8
Join Date: Jun 1999
Chapter/Region: HIIC
Location: Honolulu,Hawaii
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
Ice Silver Metallic

Default

Great install guide It was a big help installing my STRI boost gauge and control button. Feeding the wire through the firewall was a lot easier on my bugeye

Yeeman19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:14 PM   #458
Apedz215
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 328682
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default

So at idle my oil pressure gauge also defi is reading around 20, then steady drive is 80, is this common
Apedz215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 08:38 AM   #459
jaxx4k
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 232010
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default

good read.. thanks for the info.
jaxx4k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 11:31 AM   #460
kakarot09
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 182375
Join Date: Jun 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Northern Nevada
Vehicle:
08 Sti
Wrbm

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apedz215 View Post
So at idle my oil pressure gauge also defi is reading around 20, then steady drive is 80, is this common
Yep. The pump pressure raises with rpm and generally speaking the rule of thumb is you want it to be at least 10 psi per 1000 rpms. So at 7000 rpm you want at least 70 psi.
kakarot09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 12:51 PM   #461
Jay C
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 318234
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island New York
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
SWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MancinosUn4gvn View Post
Installed this today, I usually keep my headlights on, and my brightness on the gauges up, I've noticed since the headlights are on the gauge dims, is there anyway to hook up so the gauge doesn't dim, and is at full brightness at all times?
I was having the same issue, I found a thread on iwsti that said if you just disconnect the white illumination wire completely they won't dim. Just gave it a shot today and it works perfectly. Gauges are at full brightness with lights on and off.

http://www.iwsti.com/forums/gr-inter...e-install.html


Last edited by Jay C; 03-12-2013 at 01:37 PM.
Jay C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 02:08 PM   #462
Elky
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 303906
Join Date: Dec 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Porter Square, Slumerville
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Sedan
Spark Silver Metalic

Default

Wanted to chime in and say thanks for this thread, it helped me a lot.
Elky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 11:24 PM   #463
SATSTI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 341814
Join Date: Dec 2012
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Vehicle:
2013 STI
DGM

Default

Yep....I'll be using this thread soon as well. Good job OP.
SATSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 03:39 PM   #464
Beck2013STI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 344006
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Vehicle:
2013 WRX STI Sedan
SWP

Default

Awesome write-up! Thanks a lot.
Beck2013STI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 10:09 PM   #465
crabsandwich
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 337442
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Southeastern PA
Vehicle:
2013 WRX Limited 5DR
DGM

Default

So when using these add a circuit fuse taps, I see there are two slots to add fuses. Am I correct in saying that the fuse you removed goes into the first slot, and a new fuse (i.e. 10 amp) does in the second slot?

Last edited by crabsandwich; 03-23-2013 at 10:10 PM. Reason: typo
crabsandwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 02:37 AM   #466
kizzer505
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 168897
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lakewood, OH
Vehicle:
2009 WRX
DGM

Default

Yes but it's a small one. Mine are 3.5 amp.
kizzer505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 09:18 AM   #467
crabsandwich
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 337442
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Southeastern PA
Vehicle:
2013 WRX Limited 5DR
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kizzer505
Yes but it's a small one. Mine are 3.5 amp.
Does it matter using a smaller amp fuse(i.e. 3.5) versus using a slightly larger fuse (10 amp) to power the gauge?
crabsandwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 07:39 PM   #468
S1CkWrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 325249
Join Date: Jul 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: New Jersey
Vehicle:
2012 wrx
dgm

Default

subbd
S1CkWrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 01:47 PM   #469
Jellynuts
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 305774
Join Date: Jan 2012
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Vehicle:
2007 STi
CGM

Default

I installed my gauges last week into my GD and this DIY was very helpful. Thank you very much, Jon!

PS. What are you driving these days?
Jellynuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 08:03 PM   #470
peekeesh
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 316476
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Vehicle:
12 WRX
WRB

Default

Quick question, how does your SMY clustermaker fits? Does it have gaps along the edges where it meets the dash?

mine has gaps and it isn't snug fit.







peekeesh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 08:35 PM   #471
nmlittlebigman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321409
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Arrey, NM
Vehicle:
2015 WRX LTD
WRB

Default

^^^^ Mine's the same way on just one side. I forgot all about it. Other than that I really like the setup.
nmlittlebigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 10:45 PM   #472
peekeesh
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 316476
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Vehicle:
12 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nmlittlebigman View Post
^^^^ Mine's the same way on just one side. I forgot all about it. Other than that I really like the setup.
Does your's wobble or is it tight fit?

thanks for your reply...

Last edited by peekeesh; 03-29-2013 at 11:42 PM.
peekeesh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 07:54 AM   #473
Jay C
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 318234
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island New York
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
SWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peekeesh View Post
Quick question, how does your SMY clustermaker fits? Does it have gaps along the edges where it meets the dash?

mine has gaps and it isn't snug fit.
Same issue on mine. I'm glad I bought it used and didn't pay full price.
Jay C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 02:37 AM   #474
TryHonesty
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 346323
Join Date: Feb 2013
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2013 WRX on E85
WRB

Default

Just installed this on my 2013 WRX. It's a snug fit for me (the cluster).
TryHonesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 03:28 AM   #475
DearDiaryJackpot
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 343041
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: riverview
Vehicle:
2013 wrx limited
metallic silver

Default

This is my next project. Maybe for my Bd but it will happen.
DearDiaryJackpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NOAH is a tool....and I can proove it (Post here if you want points!) madcatz Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 14 05-02-2011 06:47 PM
Tell us how Subiefest went when you get back tonight & pics if you have them KB'izzle Southern California Impreza Club Forum -- SCIC 361 10-30-2009 07:57 PM
ssr professors, post pics if you have them streko Member's Car Gallery 2 07-22-2004 04:27 PM
Anyone put WRX stock rims on an RS? Pics if you have them... Samirr76 Interior & Exterior Modification 2 07-21-2001 03:15 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.