Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday April 27, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2002, 11:26 AM   #1
Tim Smith
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 19147
Join Date: May 2002
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza RS
Alpine White

Default Adjusting tach signal wire.....

Couldn't find the answer.

If I added a small resister to the tach wire on my '02 2.5 would that allow the motor to pull past the stock red line? I want to get some cams that will move the power to the stock redline and would like to be able to go past the by about 400 RPM. So I would like my redline to be in the 6600-6750 range. How would this affect the cruising charactistics of the eninge? Would it just think that my engine is always underload becasue the ECU is a smidge behind?

Tim
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Tim Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2002, 02:06 PM   #2
ciper
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15543
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: san francisco, ca
Vehicle:
90BJ Legacy LS ABS
AWD 946 Rio Red Jpn built

Default

I dont think it works that way. Isnt the signal just a pulse so say 6000rpm equals 100 pulses a second? If you just stuck a resistor in it might not get a reading at all depending on value.

Perhaps Im mistaken?
ciper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2002, 02:09 PM   #3
Tim Smith
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 19147
Join Date: May 2002
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza RS
Alpine White

Default

You are absolutely right and I knew that, just having a bad day. Thanks.
Tim Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2002, 02:23 PM   #4
Reciprocity
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1165
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Alameda, CA
Vehicle:
2012 dcrawford died
for your sins

Default

Nah, you aren't having a bad day...ya thought of doing a clever tricky thing. That's all good.

It just didn't work!

NC
Reciprocity is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tach output signal wire nwindyz Electrical & Lighting 1 05-01-2007 08:30 PM
Tach signal for shift light? jeff22 Electrical & Lighting 1 04-05-2004 10:15 PM
Tsport rev light install tach signal ? The Donnn Electrical & Lighting 0 05-09-2003 06:15 PM
Tach signal 2Rexhouse Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 1 10-04-2002 08:33 PM
Another question: Frequency of Tach signal? #522 Normally Aspirated Powertrain 0 09-26-2002 12:39 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.