Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday September 19, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2013, 06:39 PM   #51
sackytar
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 149262
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Vehicle:
03WR Rally/XTDD/98SJ
PrimerGrey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madkayaker View Post

Don't have an answer for you, but they should both have a 15.9 gallon tank. The problem is more likely the different gearing between the two.
I have a six speed swap but saw no noticeable change in difference in recorded mileage before the cluster swap.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
sackytar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 09:38 PM   #52
madkayaker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57378
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Macon, Ga
Vehicle:
2002 wrx w/ sti swap
04 sti, 11 forester xt

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sackytar View Post
I have a six speed swap but saw no noticeable change in difference in recorded mileage before the cluster swap.
Don't know what to tell you man, but about 3 seconds into a google search I confirmed that both have the same size fuel tank. Maybe try driving a known distance and make sure your odometer is correct.
madkayaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 09:42 PM   #53
sackytar
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 149262
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Vehicle:
03WR Rally/XTDD/98SJ
PrimerGrey

Default

Yeah def gotta do that otherwise thinking bad sending unit?
sackytar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 01:41 PM   #54
CBrodie14
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 289852
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: PA
Vehicle:
95 L sti swapping
green

Default

So not to steer away from the mpg discussion going on in the thread.

I'm planning on getting a dccdpro unit for my type ra trans. How happy are those of you that use it? Im thinking its "the way to go" for my build. Not extremely expensive and from what I read on this thread a fairly straight up install with basic electronic understanding.
CBrodie14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 02:17 PM   #55
Justin V
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98747
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: GA
Vehicle:
07 WRX
WRB

Default

I wanted my transmission to be used to its full potential. Thats why I bought it. I didn't want to get stuck with only the 60/40 split and think if I just had the controller to change torque split I might not be in this situation.

I haven't really dialed my car it yet either to push it to its limit but I hope to make some tweaks or set the DCCD more aggressive. Its nice for launching and driving in the snow, the few things I've used manual mode for.
Justin V is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 02:20 PM   #56
madkayaker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57378
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Macon, Ga
Vehicle:
2002 wrx w/ sti swap
04 sti, 11 forester xt

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CBrodie14 View Post
So not to steer away from the mpg discussion going on in the thread.

I'm planning on getting a dccdpro unit for my type ra trans. How happy are those of you that use it? Im thinking its "the way to go" for my build. Not extremely expensive and from what I read on this thread a fairly straight up install with basic electronic understanding.
How dare you get the thread back on topic!

I am extremely pleased with the dccdpro unit. It works great with any type of driving or surface. I'm using it in my 02 with a 6mt and r180 from an 04 sti. I mainly run the car on dirt/gravel (rally/rallycross) and it works great. I put it in auto mode and set it where I want it and never think about it again. I drove the car without a controller and it is night and day difference.
madkayaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 02:33 PM   #57
sackytar
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 149262
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Vehicle:
03WR Rally/XTDD/98SJ
PrimerGrey

Default

Mad kaker. Did you do the hub swap along with the R180 install?
sackytar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 02:44 PM   #58
madkayaker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57378
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Macon, Ga
Vehicle:
2002 wrx w/ sti swap
04 sti, 11 forester xt

Default

No, I'm using custom axles for now. The wrecked sti I used had damaged hubs on one side. I'll probably upgrade at some point. I'm always afraid of breaking an axle, since I can't just go grab another one easily.
madkayaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 02:46 PM   #59
CBrodie14
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 289852
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: PA
Vehicle:
95 L sti swapping
green

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madkayaker View Post

How dare you get the thread back on topic!

I am extremely pleased with the dccdpro unit. It works great with any type of driving or surface. I'm using it in my 02 with a 6mt and r180 from an 04 sti. I mainly run the car on dirt/gravel (rally/rallycross) and it works great. I put it in auto mode and set it where I want it and never think about it again. I drove the car without a controller and it is night and day difference.
Cool thanks for the feedback. I'll be doing the install a little later in spring when I change out the trans. It should be a fun time.
CBrodie14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 04:52 PM   #60
madkayaker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57378
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Macon, Ga
Vehicle:
2002 wrx w/ sti swap
04 sti, 11 forester xt

Default

It isn't all that bad, but I don't think anything on a subaru is really all that difficult compared to some other things I've worked on. The DCCDpro unit is pretty straight forward as well.
madkayaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 04:56 PM   #61
Justin V
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98747
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: GA
Vehicle:
07 WRX
WRB

Default

I just have 04 sti axles, harder to find but they work with the r180 and the 5x100 hubs. well I have 04 rear uprights too with dba gravel rotors. I was in the same boat sorting the swap so I know what parts I need from which car if anything breaks
Justin V is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 02:05 PM   #62
madkayaker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57378
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Macon, Ga
Vehicle:
2002 wrx w/ sti swap
04 sti, 11 forester xt

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin V View Post
I just have 04 sti axles, harder to find but they work with the r180 and the 5x100 hubs. well I have 04 rear uprights too with dba gravel rotors. I was in the same boat sorting the swap so I know what parts I need from which car if anything breaks
what year is your wrx? The 04 sti axles definitely would not work on my 02 wrx with stock hubs and 04 sti diff.
madkayaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 02:46 PM   #63
ImNOrobo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 255716
Join Date: Aug 2010
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Where the simpsons live.
Vehicle:
Oh, It's a JDM STI?
Pretty close.

Default

Did my full swap last June, I ran it open for 8 months. It felt fine but I could tell it was rwd biased. I put in my dccdpro uni controller a few weeks ago and love it. It was pretty straight forward and the pics in this thread helped. Thank you.

Legacy gt axles will or should work for you. R180 diff with 5x100 axles and hubs with the proper amount of splines to go into a stock 5x100 hub.

I had the choice to go with 114 or 100 and chose to stick with 5x100.
ImNOrobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 04:37 PM   #64
Justin V
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98747
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: GA
Vehicle:
07 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madkayaker View Post
what year is your wrx? The 04 sti axles definitely would not work on my 02 wrx with stock hubs and 04 sti diff.
Yeah with the frankenstein list of parts I forgot I have sti knuckles, 07 2 pot brakes, and dba rotors.

My wagon had a sti donor car, so all the suspension and drivetrain is from an 04, Brakes are 07 wrx, still 5x100
Justin V is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 02:42 PM   #65
Honest Bob
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 94698
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton, PA
Vehicle:
2005 30R Wagon
CGM

Default

Thanks for the tip on reversing the control knob wires!

Also in case anyone is wondering the 2005 sti cluster pinout is the same as the 06 sti.
Honest Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 12:15 AM   #66
ddavisgt
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 105232
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pacifica
Vehicle:
2004 Hybrid Wagon
wrb

Default

Anybody have a pic of where they mounted the controller? If I mount it in the open spot I see behind the metal knee area the g sensor wont reach to the flat spot behind the ebrake. Im guessing Im missing the spot you guys are putting it. Anyone have a pic of the unit mounted?
ddavisgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 12:25 AM   #67
Justin V
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98747
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: GA
Vehicle:
07 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddavisgt View Post
Anybody have a pic of where they mounted the controller? If I mount it in the open spot I see behind the metal knee area the g sensor wont reach to the flat spot behind the ebrake. Im guessing Im missing the spot you guys are putting it. Anyone have a pic of the unit mounted?
Mine's double side taped to the pass side part of the center console.

Out of the way of the a/c and radio wires, ran under the carpet to the ecu for tps signal, easy access to parking brake, and switch mounting points.

If you have the tuneable one you can run the cord to glovebox easily too.

Justin V is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 12:28 AM   #68
paulpat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 237145
Join Date: Feb 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: 562
Vehicle:
02 WRX
12 FXT

Default

Mine is under the steering column. It s a tight squeeze but it should be enough
paulpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 07:28 AM   #69
christhjesus
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 300296
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Ogden, UT
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Silver

Default

I have my controller stuck to the backside of the glovebox assembly. My g-sensor wont reach to the recommended spot if the controller is mounted anywhere under the dash except right in the middle. I had to extend the wires for the switches to reach the stock location and I was thinking of extending the wires of the g-sensor also. However, for now I have the g-sensor located under the stereo area just to the right of where the ash tray goes. There is some sort of module that sits there and I glued the g-sensor just to the right of it, perfect fit.
christhjesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 08:44 AM   #70
xluben
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 261612
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sedan
10.9s @ 126mph

Default

I tried to install mine last night and ran into some of the same things noted above. The wires really just are not long enough. I bought the Universal Controller along with the pre wired switches. For $545 I got a unit that I'm still going to have to splice/extend just about every single wire.

I was attempting to install mine under the steering column and the wires for the switches would not reach. I then moved it to the side of the center column (still under the driver's side dash) and it still wouldn't reach. At this spot I don't think any of the wire leads would reach where they need to go except the G sensor.

This is really poor design/execution, IMO. For the price that's being charged this should be a drop in install. I think the terminal blocks are laughable for the price that's being charged and having the wires not reach anything is downright outrageous. I also have one lead to the DCCD switch that is already broken just above the solder joint. I have been handling this thing like it was made of eggshells and it just came right off.

If I knew this was going to be the case I would have much rather just gotten the box with 12" leads and a couple hundred bucks off the price tag. I would have used proper connectors and proper wire lengths and not wasted an evening taking my car apart, finding this setup does not work, and then putting the car back together.

So far this product has left me completely unimpressed. It is quite a high price for the level of materials you're getting, and the installation has been even more frustrating. At this point I'd like a new box/switches sent out with proper wire lengths, a significant refund due to the poorly designed "pre-wired" product, or simply a full refund and I'll try something else. I hope DCCD Pro will step up and take care of this.
xluben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 09:56 AM   #71
Justin V
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98747
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: GA
Vehicle:
07 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xluben View Post
I tried to install mine last night and ran into some of the same things noted above. The wires really just are not long enough. I bought the Universal Controller along with the pre wired switches. For $545 I got a unit that I'm still going to have to splice/extend just about every single wire.

I was attempting to install mine under the steering column and the wires for the switches would not reach. I then moved it to the side of the center column (still under the driver's side dash) and it still wouldn't reach. At this spot I don't think any of the wire leads would reach where they need to go except the G sensor.

This is really poor design/execution, IMO. For the price that's being charged this should be a drop in install. I think the terminal blocks are laughable for the price that's being charged and having the wires not reach anything is downright outrageous. I also have one lead to the DCCD switch that is already broken just above the solder joint. I have been handling this thing like it was made of eggshells and it just came right off.

If I knew this was going to be the case I would have much rather just gotten the box with 12" leads and a couple hundred bucks off the price tag. I would have used proper connectors and proper wire lengths and not wasted an evening taking my car apart, finding this setup does not work, and then putting the car back together.

So far this product has left me completely unimpressed. It is quite a high price for the level of materials you're getting, and the installation has been even more frustrating. At this point I'd like a new box/switches sent out with proper wire lengths, a significant refund due to the poorly designed "pre-wired" product, or simply a full refund and I'll try something else. I hope DCCD Pro will step up and take care of this.
Jeff will probably take care of it and fix it or refund you.

But I think your expectations are hilarious. A 6spd swap is a pretty custom job and can't really be plug an play. Some of my wires are at their limit as far as length goes but I followed instructions and mounted it on the inside of the center console and had plenty of room to run the tps signal to the ecu, the power supply came off my fuse box, but could easily make it to the radio power supply or ecu 12V, Ground anywhere under the dash, and ran the switches and parking brake to the console. My transmission solenoid wires were already lengthen and run through a grommet in the firewall by the pedals so I just soldered a 2 wire trailer harness on plugged it up. If those wires had not been lengthened I would and still may run then through with the shifter.

As far as the switch connectors, he's made it an easy swap for the average guy that paid a shop to do the swap. A trip to pull apart for some switches, snips to cut them take then home and unscrew the connectors.

You do know this is one guy who builds these? And I doubt he planned to sell them it was just something he knew how to do and developed to solve a problem he ran into with his 6spd swap.

If you get a refund, good luck finding another solution for cheaper. And trust me it won't be plug and play.
Justin V is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 10:03 AM   #72
christhjesus
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 300296
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Ogden, UT
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Silver

Default

In hindsight, I think I should have mounted the controller under the center console and just extended TPS wire since I have already ran an accessory power wire for other electronics such as gauges. I still might do this because I would like to remount the g-sensor (prefer not to extend g-sensor wires) to the center of the car because I beleive the "G" input will be more accurate if it is placed in the center of the axis which is where the stock sensor goes.

I also think all of the wires need be soldered and use of the green screw connectors is not a great thing.
christhjesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 10:14 AM   #73
xluben
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 261612
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sedan
10.9s @ 126mph

Default

Yes, it is clear that this is a home made solution. While it does seem pretty good, there are some very small changes that could make it a lot better. Right now it feels like the cost is what it is simply because he's doing them all himself and the labor is probably taking up a lot of his time. The materials and execution used in the design are DIY grade at best.

I think I'll just end up cutting all of his wires off and re-wiring it myself. I definitely regret buying the pre-wired switches. The cost on those is really quite high, especially since I'm going to have to re-do all the work anyways. What connector did you use for the DCCD solenoid? That is one of the things I feel should really be included.

I do understand that this is a custom job. My issue is with the fact that I paid money for this to plug right in, but that's not the case at all. With lower expectations, and lower price, I think I would have been happy with this. The fact that I paid a large sum for something that should be easy to install, but in the end I will just be doing all the wiring myself.
xluben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 10:24 AM   #74
ddavisgt
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 105232
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pacifica
Vehicle:
2004 Hybrid Wagon
wrb

Default

I had to extend the wires for the switches to reach to the console spot, i just didnt really want to cut into the g sensor so im avoiding that. I will have to do some more hunting in there, thanks for the suggestions.
ddavisgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 10:33 AM   #75
Justin V
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98747
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: GA
Vehicle:
07 WRX
WRB

Default

Yeah I understand, when I saw what you paid I was kinda shocked. Granted I had the switches already and bought the box during his summer sale for like $355 shipped. I guess I saw it as a semi custom wiring job so left off the so called bells and whistles, and could do them myself if I opted for them later.

I too would like a nice harness, but its really not something I am going to remove I would just like integrated better.

I just used one of these, can be purchased at any parts store:


its inside the cabin and pretty water tight, there is probably a much better solution but considering the controller does all the work and just sends 12v impulses through those wires its good enough.

On a side note, I bought my car with the tranny swap but it needed a tune, so I wanted to get this installed incase I needed full lock out for the dyno I was going to be on. I did a hurried install, while at the same time didn't want to pull it all back out after the tune and re do it.
Justin V is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fs: Auto Driveshaft, DCCDPro Universal Controller Mooneyes13 MWSOC Private Classifieds 0 03-09-2010 11:01 PM
DCCD Controller from dccdpro.com Veck Drivetrain 11 06-24-2009 12:22 AM
DCCDPro.com - Dual Mode Deluxe DCCD controller jonpark Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 3 09-14-2008 09:57 PM
Can I leave the boost controller install in the car when install Cobb AP? smootth Engine Management & Tuning 7 03-12-2005 08:37 AM
Universal Muffler installation cost? T-REX Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 8 05-09-2000 12:49 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.