Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday December 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2012, 01:33 AM   #1
cbr_rhino
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 237834
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default JDM ej207 swap in my 04 STI

So i've been doing alot of searching/reading and i'm still confused. I want to swap an ej207 into my 04 sti. I see alot of people swapping into wrx's but didn't find much on my car. The wrx needs avcs harness, do I? is a version 8 ej207 a direct swap? can i use the jdm pcm? what additional parts will i need? If anyone has info it would be greatly appeciated.

Thanks,
Ryan
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
cbr_rhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 02:46 AM   #2
DHRDAN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 204358
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Santa Paula, CA.
Vehicle:
01 2.5RS W/ EJ257
Black

Default

There is no v8 ej207.


If you want to swap a older Ej207 in a GD USDM chasssic, you will need the ECU, and wiring harness.

Also you will need a full tune since the Ej207 is built for jap gas, and not our crappy USDM stuff.


It's a fantastic engine, but it will take more than 1 thread to learn how much work that will be required to make it work in the good ol u.s. of a.
DHRDAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 03:09 AM   #3
cbr_rhino
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 237834
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default

Ok what is the proper swap for me 04? Version 8? That isn't an ej207?? My main question is will it bolt up/use existing wiring. My stock PCM has ecutek race rom with my current set up so I would assume my tuner could use that if the PCM is compatible
cbr_rhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 07:29 AM   #4
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

The JDM is drive by cable all the way to GRB.

You either convert to drive by cable, with the pedal, cable, pulley, etc. The wiring will not be 100% straightforward and the AVCS may have to be re-pinned. The sensors are of a different type, this may not affect you.
When doing the swap, you will have to use the JDM ECU.

Or, you buy a later GRB swap, then you convert to can bus, get dual AVCS and then don't have to convert to drive by cable. I'm reading that converting to can bus means replacing most of your wiring. Everything has immobilizers by then, so include new keys, cylinder and module.


You have to start by thinking about state inspection.
Your state may flunk your inspection if the ECU reports a different year-make that what they have on record.
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 10:43 AM   #5
ArronStump
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 182620
Join Date: Jun 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Flagstaff az
Vehicle:
07 sti
DGM

Default

The Jdm and uk v8 is a 207.
You can use your stock Ecu with a 2.0 and your stock manifold.
Use the heads from your stock motor cause of the Avcs.
ArronStump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 11:06 AM   #6
fastnoypi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6886
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
MY01 EJ207 HTA35r
nothing to see, i'm stock

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArronStump View Post
The Jdm and uk v8 is a 207.
You can use your stock Ecu with a 2.0 and your stock manifold.
Use the heads from your stock motor cause of the Avcs.
the compression will be all off , if he does a reverse hybrid. The combustion area is too big on the 2.5 heads for the 2.0 pistons.
fastnoypi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 11:22 AM   #7
nhat
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 140163
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing
Vehicle:
03 STi
hellaflunctional

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DHRDAN View Post
There is no v8 ej207.
nhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 11:55 AM   #8
cbr_rhino
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 237834
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default

So what would it take to use my factory throttlebody and PCM. I keep reading about wiring adapters for avcs. I'm looking for the most simple route. And what sensors are different?
cbr_rhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 12:27 AM   #9
DHRDAN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 204358
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Santa Paula, CA.
Vehicle:
01 2.5RS W/ EJ257
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhat View Post

I take that back.. there is.


I forgot it took a while for JDM to switch to the 2.5L. I'm wrong.
DHRDAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 09:13 AM   #10
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbr_rhino View Post
So what would it take to use my factory throttlebody and PCM. I keep reading about wiring adapters for avcs. I'm looking for the most simple route. And what sensors are different?
The whole point of the EJ207 is achieved by keeping it in one piece, meaning shortblock+ heads.

Once this is agreed, the sensors for the throttle by wire cars (such as your current engine has), are of a different nature and positioned different (I think) with the EJ207. This concerns the cam and possibly crank position sensors. One kind is inductive, the other is hall effect, I believe.

This is why, it's not easy to take the throttle from an EJ257, together with the ECU and intake manifold and sensors and transfer them over to the EJ207 and have now a 207 throttle by wire, that is run by an EJ257 ECU.
This has been done once though on the forum though, by a shop in Cali, I believe, due to state inspection problems. They may have made adaptors or machined mounts.
There was one other guy looking to complete the same setup.

The problem is also that Each ECU has a different set of capabillities and you cannot reflash no matter which ECU to become something different.

When you look into the tables that the USDm ECU has and then look at the tables of the JDM ECU, you are left with an opinion that the 257 has more "worries" about knock, about fueling in misc situations, about emissions, etc, while the JDM ECU has more rows, extending it's operation into the 8000 rpm, into higher loads, more aggressive AVCS, etc.

Now, the colums and rows can be edited, but not the number of them (to my knowledge).

Also, the JDM does boost by gear and includes an intercooler spray control, etc.

In other words, by keeping your ECU and throttle, you are only getting 90% there with the JDM EJ207. And you still have to do some wiring, I think.

Last edited by Vlad; 03-04-2012 at 09:22 AM.
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 03:42 PM   #11
cbr_rhino
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 237834
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default

Thanks for all the help guys. So is my best bet switching to cable throttle and the Jdm ecu? Do I need any special harnesses for my car or is it as simple is repinning some of the wiring? I guess I would then have my tuner re-map the Jdm ecu for 93octane?
cbr_rhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 05:52 PM   #12
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

You still are doing something new and may encounter therefore new issues.
I would ask around if the connectors for an Sti ECU are the same shape and number with an 04 wrx (cause those are plug and play with the jdm) and then for the main engine harness.
If those are the same, you most likely will only deal with re pinning.
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:30 PM   #13
dolosolow
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 279605
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: New Jersey
Vehicle:
04' WRX swap STi
v8 TwinScroll 6MT

Post

^^^^ +1
dolosolow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 05:45 PM   #14
dangerousatom
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70710
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Quakertown/AREA1320 391whp
Vehicle:
2002 04STi Swaped RS
w/PPGS & 02 Wagon w/PPGs

Default

IMO the simplest...least thinking way to go about it is to take your entire harness out and swap it for a 02-04 WRX. Then its all plug and play including the JDM ECU. To run the AVCS with this scenario its a fairly simple wiring addition of a IA Performance's AVCS wiring harness. After that its a real Dyno tune on 93-94 oct.

This is the rout Im going on my 03 WRX

You can swap the whole harness in a long day, if you know what your doing and sell the 04 STi harness for far more then a JDM ECU and 02-04 WRX harness will cost
dangerousatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 07:43 AM   #15
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

Yep, I'll add that the '04 USDM Sti ECU is probably very sought after, as it's the only 32bit ECU that does not have immobilizer. I would not be surprised if you get good money for that.

Then there are many people with WRX that convert to EJ257 and you would be selling the exact swap components, probably the whole kit including pedal and harness would just sell, as soon as you post it.
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 11:13 AM   #16
cbr_rhino
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 237834
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default

Thanks guys. Everything is on hold right now. I'm trying to sell my rotated gt30 setup off the car so I can fund this new project.
cbr_rhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 04:37 AM   #17
amroof
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 211224
Join Date: May 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Aurora, CO
Vehicle:
2005 Mystical
UniCorn FXTi

Default

this swap is amazing by the way! i love mine ;-) especially cause those who said it couldnt be done, made me want to do it more. So i did. good luck
amroof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 07:11 PM   #18
Stretchvelcroy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 299169
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Nelson bc. For Now Duncan, BC
Vehicle:
2002 Wrx/JDM STi v.7
Dirrrty

Default

My EJ 207 v. 7 is on its way to me as I type...


I am so fricking excited!

I am getting mine from swap shop racing in quebec.

They are also sending the directions and extra wires n such....

I have heard it is pretty much plug n play....

I have been looking for the right engine for 7 weeks, the day I found it was the day I bought it.

The engine needs 94 octane....unless re-mapped.

Hammer time!
Stretchvelcroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 11:13 PM   #19
lukeskywrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59837
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Nor Cal
Vehicle:
2004 Spec-C Type RA
What MAF? -Speed Density!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amroof View Post
this swap is amazing by the way! i love mine ;-) especially cause those who said it couldnt be done, made me want to do it more. So i did. good luck
Tuning Amroofs stock 32 bit Forrester ECU for the JDM V8 motor was no problem there is just as much resolution as the JDM tables on the 16 bit ecu. AVCS hits a targeted 40 deg and the motor LOVES timing on E85. Next project is a v8 spec-c motor into a 06 running the prototype 32 bit Speed Density rom. We will see if matches up with my Spec-C 16 bit speed density map I run on my daily driver track machine.
lukeskywrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swapping in a 04 sti ABS pump and lines SupaSizeFries Subaru Conversions 1 06-06-2012 09:21 PM
name this part of my vacuum system in my 04 sti drumminguy81 Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 5 09-10-2011 02:44 PM
Red Struts in my 04 STI Darium Brakes, Steering & Suspension 3 07-20-2010 02:12 AM
in my 04 sti rally cross miami go pro hero camera davidsti1 General Community 7 07-29-2009 03:46 AM
Thinking of trading in my 04 STI for 04 Z06 roybfr Off-Topic 75 07-12-2007 01:22 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.