Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday April 24, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2011, 03:33 PM   #1
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default ***** PhatBotti Tuning Now Doing Cobb ProTunes *****

We got all setup with Cobb and after spending 100+ hrs getting all our base maps ready we are ready to rock and roll.

For those not familiar with E-tuning the process goes like this....we send the first revision, you log & send us data, we send a 2nd revision, you log & send us data. This process is repeated until we are both happy but the usually amount is 10-15 revisions.


What you need

Laptop - U need a laptop to be able to utilize ATR and the AEM wideband logging.

Access Tuner Race - you need to email cobb and get the download link for ATR. ATR will give you access to more logging parameters.

Wideband - if you have anything but stock injectors or stock intake, you need a wideband. but even with stock components i urge everyone to get a wideband....fuel is the lifeblood of your motor and you need to monitor it. Subarus are notorious for developing leaks and the wideband can save your motor. AEM Uegos are ~$165 on ebay and $165 is peanuts to protect your $25k-$40k investment.

Wideband (AEM) Logging Cable - you need to purchase the AEM Logging cable from Busted finger or make your own with parts from radioshack.

www.bustedfingermotorsports.com/

To give you a good picture of the car and detail we put into our mapping here is some visuals of the stock mapping vs our mapping

Stock ignition mapping



PhatBotti Ignition Mapping




Stock Fuel Mapping



PhatBotti Fuel Mapping




Phatron's PM (click me)

STi Mikey's PM (click me)

PhatBotti Tuning's PM (click me)
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by Phatron; 06-28-2011 at 12:10 PM.
Phatron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 04:24 PM   #2
WrXtaCy2003
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 85036
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
2013 PBP sti ltd
05 LGT 35r 30psi..busted

Default

Thanks for sharing the maps, now I don't have to pay you to tune my car It'll be teh fastarrrrrr now....

Sorry I couldn't help myself.

Carry on.

DK
WrXtaCy2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 09:42 PM   #3
aTriz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 95202
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: South FL
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
PhatBotti e85 Tuned

Default

Phatbotti Tuning does awesome work!

I was protuned on the accessport by Mikey and all I can say is... its the best money I've ever spent. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
aTriz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 11:46 AM   #4
lykemeyet
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 283890
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: allentown
Vehicle:
2002 impreza
silver

Default

I only have the Cobb accessport. Can we still tune with that?
lykemeyet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 01:22 PM   #5
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
1994 5.8T Cobra
565rwhp @ 10psi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lykemeyet View Post
I only have the Cobb accessport. Can we still tune with that?
you can get a copy of AccessTUNER Race from the cobb website.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 01:53 PM   #6
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lykemeyet View Post
I only have the Cobb accessport. Can we still tune with that?
You must be more specific with your question....

Are you saying you dont have ATR? ATR is free you just need to go to Cobbs webiste www.cobbtuning.com and fill out the ATR form online and they will email you a download link.

Are you saying you dont have a wideband? Your injector/intake setup will determine if you need a wideband.

But you're in the tri-state so my partner STi Mikey could road tune you.
Phatron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 07:02 PM   #7
souper
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 156526
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Peabody, MA
Default

Where is the best place to locate the wideband? DP? Does the stock dp on the 2011 WRX's have a extra bung for it?
souper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 10:19 PM   #8
moonrider_99
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 258628
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2009 WRX stg2-SOLD
2012 MS3

Default

pricing?
moonrider_99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 11:53 AM   #9
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by souper View Post
Where is the best place to locate the wideband? DP? Does the stock dp on the 2011 WRX's have a extra bung for it?
The AEM Uego is my favorite wideband. The further away from the turbo you mount it, the longer it will last. I like putting them right before the stock sensor at the rear of the downpipe. I've never seen a stock dp with extra 02 bungs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by moonrider_99 View Post
pricing?
i dont think i can discuss that here. just pm me.
Phatron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 07:34 PM   #10
moonrider_99
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 258628
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2009 WRX stg2-SOLD
2012 MS3

Default

Pm sent
moonrider_99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 07:45 PM   #11
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

replied
Phatron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 02:12 AM   #12
project_skyline
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 153880
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Western Slope, Colorado
Vehicle:
03 Evo VIII
2011 STI

Default

How did you guys get setup for tuning without owning a dyno?
project_skyline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 02:18 AM   #13
Vash337
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 282107
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Lafayette, la
Vehicle:
2011 wrx sedan
obsidian black

Default

interesting
Vash337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 03:39 AM   #14
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
1994 5.8T Cobra
565rwhp @ 10psi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by project_skyline View Post
How did you guys get setup for tuning without owning a dyno?
Dyno's only simulate road conditions, but do not factor in the actual effects of hills, wind resistance.. etc etc. Also, the actual art of tuning comes down to knowing how to read and interpret data logs.

A run down the 1/4 mile and a run on a dyno can look identical, but the tuning comes from reading the datalog, identifying the issues that need to be adjusted, and making the necessary changes. This process continues until the customer is happy with the results.

atleast, thats how I do it with the Ford EEC-IV's
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 02:22 PM   #15
project_skyline
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 153880
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Western Slope, Colorado
Vehicle:
03 Evo VIII
2011 STI

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black94Snake View Post
Dyno's only simulate road conditions, but do not factor in the actual effects of hills, wind resistance.. etc etc. Also, the actual art of tuning comes down to knowing how to read and interpret data logs.

A run down the 1/4 mile and a run on a dyno can look identical, but the tuning comes from reading the datalog, identifying the issues that need to be adjusted, and making the necessary changes. This process continues until the customer is happy with the results.

atleast, thats how I do it with the Ford EEC-IV's
Noob you need a dyno to actually be a cobb pro-tuner thats what I'm asking.

project_skyline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 02:26 PM   #16
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

U need access to a dyno. Traveling tuners like al and Clark don't own dynos either.
I'm not really sure why ur always so condescending to me but it would be cool if you'd stop.
Phatron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 04:44 AM   #17
project_skyline
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 153880
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Western Slope, Colorado
Vehicle:
03 Evo VIII
2011 STI

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
U need access to a dyno. Traveling tuners like al and Clark don't own dynos either.
I'm not really sure why ur always so condescending to me but it would be cool if you'd stop.
You always take everything so condescending, It was a legitimate question because when you contact cobb they ask if you have a dyno and insurance.
project_skyline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 11:25 AM   #18
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

Well you've been on here for 4 years and i've never seen you ask anyone else that question.

And look at the way you answered the guy above me...."noob / rolleyes". Instead of just saying "thats not what i was asking. i was specifically asking about the license and how it was obtained."

Everyone else we tell that we are protuners says "awesome. congrats. glad you're doing well." but you take the complete other route. So its not me....its your reaction compared to everyone else's and how you choose to communicate with people.
Phatron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 11:52 AM   #19
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Glad to have you guys on board! Just wanted to let everyone know that we have a bunch of information about how to integrate WBO2 data into AccessTUNER logs here:

http://www.cobbforums.com/forums/sho...076#post548076

We cover a bunch of the different devices. Hopefully this helps!

Cheers-
Lance
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 12:10 PM   #20
smeerone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 249068
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Miami, Fl.
Vehicle:
2010 WRX
DGM Phatbotti Tuned

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by project_skyline

You always take everything so condescending, It was a legitimate question because when you contact cobb they ask if you have a dyno and insurance.
Ure responce does seem condescending . Just saying.
smeerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 12:23 PM   #21
hottwrx02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 143251
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVA
Vehicle:
07 black unicorn
GT35r JRTuned STi

Default

Congrats!!.........so this means mike can Finally send my Buddy his map now?he was tuned in open source and mike said he will convert his map so he can use his AP.....its been almost a year now.but congrats again!
hottwrx02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 01:37 PM   #22
Paidfor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 267815
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Workn on my LSX swap
Vehicle:
Be in awe
dont hate .)

Default

^^^^^Why would you want to convert from opensource map to AP? Im not sure why you guys wanna do this, whats the advantage of this conversion?
Paidfor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 01:39 PM   #23
smeerone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 249068
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Miami, Fl.
Vehicle:
2010 WRX
DGM Phatbotti Tuned

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paidfor
^^^^^Why would you want to convert from opensource map to AP? Im not sure why you guys wanna do this, whats the advantage of this conversion?
Well one advantage is if ure running e85 u can switch between 91-93 to being corn fed. My .02
smeerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 02:22 PM   #24
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

The AP allows you to switch maps without having a laptop.....has launch control....flat foot shifting.....

To some people having to take a laptop to flash is a huge hassle....but i really dont get that because i've been travelling with a laptop for years and years.

To me its kinda like windows (AP) vs linux (opensource).....

Windows/AP is for USERS....people that just wanna use the product and go....this is most end users.

Linux/opensource is for TINKERERS......people that like to play around with the product and experiment with it. Add there own code/patches....try modifying roms themselves.
Phatron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 02:22 PM   #25
Paidfor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 267815
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Workn on my LSX swap
Vehicle:
Be in awe
dont hate .)

Default

^^^^^^^^^Cant you switch a map via tactrix cable and laptop just as easy as with a AP? Like have a e85 map on file and a 93 oct map on file and just flash watever you want.
Paidfor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The 2.0 vf34 that did, now a built 2.0/2.5? hta green on e85 karlknaupp Proven Power Bragging 674 08-06-2012 10:49 PM
*** PhatBotti Tuning East Coast Tour: 2 Weeks, 4110 Miles, 30+ Cars Tuned *** PhatBotti Tuning TKR Proven Power Bragging 206 01-29-2012 09:53 AM
Phatron of PhatBotti Tuning Coming to the Tri-State 10/19 for Tuning + WRX vs EVO PhatBotti Tuning TKR Tri-State Area Forum 10 10-13-2010 07:14 PM
2010 STI SE airboy dyno sti mikey tuned, phatbotti tuning STi Mikey Proven Power Bragging 69 07-23-2010 10:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.