Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday October 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Interior & Exterior Modification

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2013, 12:15 AM   #1
Vaultorb
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 351747
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: CA
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
WRB

Default Replacing instrument cluster affect number of miles?

Hey guys, im thinking about replacing my current cluster with a used 02-03 wrx cluster cause my current one is too much of a hassle to try fixing. My question is will my odometer still read the correct mileage e.x. 90,XXX miles should i put in a different cluster? Thank you
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Vaultorb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 12:37 AM   #2
pezcore
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 178045
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
06 WRX
CGM

Default

No, the mileage is stored in the cluster so it will be wrong if you swap clusters. Read up on reprogramming the clusters, there are people that can do it for you and make it read the mileage you want.
pezcore is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 12:37 AM   #3
10panxianshi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 345272
Join Date: Jan 2013
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Vehicle:
2008 WRX
SWP

Default

Most cars the mileage stays in the cluster. I'd bet subarus are the same, but I can't say definitely
10panxianshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 02:29 PM   #4
Vaultorb
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 351747
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: CA
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
WRB

Default

Thanks for the responses guys, after reading up on how to reprogram a cluster to read the correct mileage people were stating that it was illegal to change the mileage reading on the cluster? Is there any legal way to reprogram the new cluster to read the correct mileage? located in CA btw
Vaultorb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 03:36 PM   #5
kpluiten
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 120273
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
06 WRBWRXWGN
Now with 100% more Spec-C

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaultorb View Post
Thanks for the responses guys, after reading up on how to reprogram a cluster to read the correct mileage people were stating that it was illegal to change the mileage reading on the cluster? Is there any legal way to reprogram the new cluster to read the correct mileage? located in CA btw

Yes. There are certified repair shops who are allowed by law to set the odometers. They will usually require some proof like the old cluster and the new cluster together.

Off the top of my head, I think one place was called Tacoma cluster? Or something like that. I know searching NASIOC will bring up threads with this info.
kpluiten is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 04:35 PM   #6
Vaultorb
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 351747
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: CA
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
WRB

Default

okay well i contacted this guy selling this cluster on ebay
pictures:



however, he's saying that it was from an AT and will not work for MT? is that actually true? because i don't see how it wouldn't work on MT when its the exact same thing?
Vaultorb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 04:39 PM   #7
dangerousatom
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70710
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Quakertown/AREA1320 391whp
Vehicle:
2002 04STi Swaped RS
w/PPGS & 02 Wagon w/PPGs

Default

The MPH will be off because the final drive in an AUTO is different then the MANUAL. It will work fine but you will be going slower then you think you are.
dangerousatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.