Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday October 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2011, 12:05 PM   #1
kornfeld
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 252586
Join Date: Jul 2010
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
2005 Saab 9-2x Aero
V9 EJ207, Stock Int/Exh

Default AEM UEGO Install/Review

I finally installed a wideband O2 sensor in my car late last week and figured I'd put up a quick review. I was debating between an Innovate LC-1, an Innovate MTX-L, and an AEM UEGO.

I was going between these three because I needed it to connect with RomRaider for datalogging, and these three can all do that. I decided to go with the AEM UEGO after reading a bunch online for three reasons: I read a bunch of complaints about Innovate reliability, I read a bunch of complaints about Innovate having garbage customer service, and finally, because I read a bunch of glowing reviews about aemonly.com's customer service. Yes, there are bad reviews and good reviews about pretty much everything, but there were a few too many bad ones about Innovate and plenty of good ones about AEM.

And I can verify that aemonly.com's customer service was great...I called and emailed a few times with questions as I was researching and then when I was installing, and they were super friendly and knowledgeable.

The install went smoothly, and the instructions were well written. I also followed these two videos that aemonly.com put out:

(Note: these videos have disappeared unfortunately... They aren't mine, and I don't have copies! Bummer.)


(The second video isn't for the same gauge I bought, but the video is still helpful in regard to wiring. You'll also notice they have a sweet coupon code showing at the bottom of that video!)

Here's where I put the sensor in the downpipe:





I wish it ended up a little further from what I think is an A/C line coming out of the firewall (which is my fault), but I think it'll be fine. As for wiring, I wired it into the clock for all power stuff, and the wiring is explained in the video.

Now that it's up and running, it works great! It responds crazy fast. The display also has a light sensor above the numeric display that allows the gauge to auto dim and brighten depending on how bright it is outside:


Anyhow...I highly recommend it.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by kornfeld; 04-21-2014 at 08:41 AM.
kornfeld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 12:12 PM   #2
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

agreed.

I used to recommend the LC-1 but after going through a bunch of them and innovate doing nothing but blaming the wiring, grounds, etc i switched over to AEM.

So much easier to wire. No calibrations necessary.

win win.

the lc-1 can lick my ballz
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 12:18 AM   #3
nevin95 LSi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 219571
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: kalona, IOWA!
Vehicle:
'02 wrx wagon 274k+
'95 SVX ebony mica

Default

I also love my AEM's. I have them on two of my cars. I can echo the ease of installation. I recommend them to everyone who asks me.
nevin95 LSi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 02:13 AM   #4
samo22
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 119693
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CA
Vehicle:
1995 L w/ ej205
Aspen White

Default

Dang, is LC-1 that bad? Is it the sensors that goes out or the unit itself?
samo22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 02:15 AM   #5
nevin95 LSi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 219571
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: kalona, IOWA!
Vehicle:
'02 wrx wagon 274k+
'95 SVX ebony mica

Default

It's not that the LC-1 is bad. It's just that the AEM is just so easy to setup, user-friendly, as well as a decent price.
nevin95 LSi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 11:00 AM   #6
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samo22 View Post
Dang, is LC-1 that bad? Is it the sensors that goes out or the unit itself?
go read all the problems on innovate's forum

and i have personally gone through 3-4 controllers....
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 11:58 AM   #7
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, El Paso
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuning.com

Default

I was in the same boat trying to make this decision. I went with the LC-1. Mine has lasted quite a while and works flawless, but I've read others like Ron who go thru a few controllers. Hooking up the LC-1 is not hard if you know electronics/schematics. I liked how easy it was to log as well, trouble free!! At least until the controller goes out lol
wgr73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 12:04 PM   #8
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wgr73 View Post
I liked how easy it was to log as well, trouble free!!
from my experience...you're in the minority.

all the people i etune with lc-1's have problems.

hooking up the lc-1 logging either shuts down their RR or blue screens windows, or somehow switches the LC-1 from the gasoline setting to some other setting like methanol. And i have had all those problems a gazillion times in both my cars.

lots of issues.

The uego has never done any of that.
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 12:09 PM   #9
Kastley85891
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127704
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: TX/Austin
Vehicle:
2013 Hybrid
Needs an 05STI

Default

AEM - so much easier to set up / no cal needed.
Easy to log.
Nicer gauge to.
FTW
Kastley85891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 02:29 PM   #10
samo22
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 119693
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CA
Vehicle:
1995 L w/ ej205
Aspen White

Default

I'm trying to use the 12v ignition switch wire straight from the ignition wire under the driverside dash and found a wire that is 0v when key is off, 12v on but engine off, and around 13-14v when the engine is running. Turning on headlights doesn't have affects.

It says 12v ignition switch, but it is normal for the wire to see up to 14 volts when the car is running, right? I wish I could pull power from the clock, but mine is an old gc8 dash and has no clock.
samo22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 03:02 PM   #11
fenix-silver
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 231700
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Central PA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Sounds like you have a wire that will work fine. The alternator puts out around 14v when the car is running, so that's why that wire sees 14v as well. Unless it has some type of voltage regulator on it, any wire connected to the battery directly or indirectly (like through a relay) will see 14v when the car is runningl.
fenix-silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 01:05 AM   #12
SVT_WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 164830
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
G61 III OVE 58e

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
from my experience...you're in the minority.

all the people i etune with lc-1's have problems.

hooking up the lc-1 logging either shuts down their RR or blue screens windows, or somehow switches the LC-1 from the gasoline setting to some other setting like methanol. And i have had all those problems a gazillion times in both my cars.

lots of issues.

The uego has never done any of that.
Dayam son! I guess I'm in the minority as well. LC-1 been good to me since 2008. Only issue I had was it switched to a methanol setting once, and it was because the serial connector came loose while I was logging.

I guess AEM is the way to go these days...
SVT_WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 09:43 AM   #13
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, El Paso
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuning.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
from my experience...you're in the minority.

all the people i etune with lc-1's have problems.

hooking up the lc-1 logging either shuts down their RR or blue screens windows, or somehow switches the LC-1 from the gasoline setting to some other setting like methanol. And i have had all those problems a gazillion times in both my cars.

lots of issues.

The uego has never done any of that.
Wow crazy. From what I've been reading as far as people having problems, the ground is likely the culprit. I think that the controller is seeing voltage even current spikes and that is causing the issues.

Maybe the uego is less sensitive to spikes, idk, but it does seem like people are having better success with those.
wgr73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 11:16 AM   #14
the_red_barron
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 254148
Join Date: Aug 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Sportwagon
Steel Grey Metallic

Default

I did extensive research myself on this very debate. I had an AEM in my SRT-4 and it worked well (at least I assume it did, never got a chance to properly dyno it before it was totaled T^T) but I wanted to see what else was out there for the WRX. Contrary to the OP, my research led me to purchase the LC-1 this time around. It also helped that I managed to snag it for the same price as the AEM w/ some gift cards I got. I have yet to install it as I'm still up in the air as to what's going on with my car, but I think after reading this I might have to do some additional research.
the_red_barron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 11:32 AM   #15
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wgr73 View Post
From what I've been reading as far as people having problems, the ground is likely the culprit.
thats what innovate tries to tell everyone. My neighbor (a nuclear engineer and the smartest guy i know) grounded the damn thing everyway possible. Innovate wouldnt accept that their controller arrived in non-working order.

I had another controller (bnib) sitting here and that one wouldnt work either.

They finally warrantied them and shipped out replacements....and tada they both worked grounded anywhere.

"its grounded wrong" is their blanket response to everyone.
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 03:59 PM   #16
Kastley85891
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127704
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: TX/Austin
Vehicle:
2013 Hybrid
Needs an 05STI

Default

I bought one, installed it, fault found it, de installed it within 6 hours, had a DOA controller, took back to Vendor in original packaging and was told to send to Innovate for warranty. SUX, refund please.


This puts the lotion in the basket and dosnt get the hose.
Kastley85891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 09:07 AM   #17
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, El Paso
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuning.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
thats what innovate tries to tell everyone. My neighbor (a nuclear engineer and the smartest guy i know) grounded the damn thing everyway possible. Innovate wouldnt accept that their controller arrived in non-working order.

I had another controller (bnib) sitting here and that one wouldnt work either.

They finally warrantied them and shipped out replacements....and tada they both worked grounded anywhere.

"its grounded wrong" is their blanket response to everyone.
Gotcha. That's stupid. If I ever get another WB I may end up getting an AEM just to mess around with it. The LC-1 is nice, but I wouldn't mind having a colorful moving bezel either!
wgr73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 09:17 AM   #18
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

u could try the innovate mtx-L....its basically their copy of the uego
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 03:33 AM   #19
Drifter2be
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 265122
Join Date: Nov 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Hemet, CA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Java Black Pearl

Default

Picked one up last night, have the serial output and serial to usb cable coming, hopefully be here by tuesday or wednesday, hoping to install the gauge monday, gotta figure out where its being mounted though. My friend has one in his GTI but its the analog gauge, still works perfectly and it was easy to install.
Drifter2be is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 09:32 AM   #20
nevin95 LSi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 219571
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: kalona, IOWA!
Vehicle:
'02 wrx wagon 274k+
'95 SVX ebony mica

Default

AEM's installation instructions say to keep the sensor 36" away from the exhaust port on turbocharged applications, so the sensor won't burn up so quick. I figured that if the stock rear o2 location was good enough for subaru, it was good enough for me. So I took off my downpipe and drilled a hole just a couple inches away from the rear o2 sensor, then welded the bung there and mounted it up. Then I ran the cable from the thing through the grommet right in front of the clutch pedal. I guess maybe 02s and 04s are different, but I've never had an easier WB install than on this car. Get some zip ties to secure the sheathing underneath the car and you're good to go.

Run power from a 10a fuse, get a good ground, and you're golden.
nevin95 LSi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 11:48 PM   #21
Drifter2be
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 265122
Join Date: Nov 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Hemet, CA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Java Black Pearl

Default

^thanks for the idea. I had been toying with removing the factory heat shield from the stock downpipe and having it welded into the top like the OP but I can just have the shop I take it to tomorrow do it right next to the stock O2 and save myself a lot of hassle.
Drifter2be is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 01:04 AM   #22
nevin95 LSi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 219571
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: kalona, IOWA!
Vehicle:
'02 wrx wagon 274k+
'95 SVX ebony mica

Default

Yeah, it's kinda on the other "side" of the pipe, and it's behind it a few inches, but it's not hard to do at all.

If you're looking at the exhaust from the back of the car looking forward and you think of the exhaust pipe as a clock, I would say the stock sensor points to the passenger side at about 1 o'clock. The one I welded in would be at 11 o'clock pointing to the driver's side. Lots of room though, and not even as close to the driveshaft as the stock sensor. Easy peasy.
nevin95 LSi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 01:09 AM   #23
Drifter2be
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 265122
Join Date: Nov 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Hemet, CA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Java Black Pearl

Default

Now my question is won't the readings be off though, since the exhaust will have already passed through the first catalytic converter by the time it gets there?
Drifter2be is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 01:50 AM   #24
Kastley85891
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127704
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: TX/Austin
Vehicle:
2013 Hybrid
Needs an 05STI

Default

Yes they will be off, you will be leaner on gauge then you actually are running. I usually just target my AFR regardless TBH, pre or post cat placement.
Kastley85891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 12:17 PM   #25
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, El Paso
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuning.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
u could try the innovate mtx-L....its basically their copy of the uego
That's an idea. Hopefully the time will never come when I'd have to get another one!
wgr73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AEM Uego Installation question. WRX4eva Interior & Exterior Modification 8 05-03-2011 01:06 AM
AEM Uego install/ RomRaider lagodcm Interior & Exterior Modification 1 02-10-2009 04:21 AM
Installing AEM UEGO in a single pod (cup) - best way to hide wiring? txl146 Electrical & Lighting 0 01-07-2008 12:12 AM
Pic request Installed AEM uego 03twrx Interior & Exterior Modification 17 12-25-2007 07:38 PM
AEM UEGO Installation help LRM1981 Electrical & Lighting 2 05-13-2007 05:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.