Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday September 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Motorsports

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2001, 11:14 PM   #1
Getagrip
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2045
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Petersburg
Vehicle:
BRZ

Question Rally Computer Installation

I had my Alfa Elite probes reading off epoxyed magnets on the inboard DOJ housing, but I have a WRX now and would like to tap into the speed sensor.
I remember seeing, somewhere on the a website, a pictoral (I think by Russ Kraushaar) showing how to mount a B box to the glovebox on an RS and touch a little on the subject off getting signals from the vehicle speed sensor. But the last time I saw this was about a year ago, now I can't find it.
I thought it might have been a link off of http://www.leftrightonline.com/ but could not find it there.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Getagrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2001, 08:02 AM   #2
Tony
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 287
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD.
Vehicle:
2005 9-2X Aero
Desert Silver

Post

Send me an email (tonypowell@att.net). I have some correspondence with Mike Friedman (the guy who makes ALFAs) and he explains which diode to use and how to use it. You will need to know the ECU pinout to know which wire is the VSS on the WRX's ECU. The RS pinouts are on www.lagging.com if it matters.

Tony
Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2001, 01:10 PM   #3
DCRallyDave
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4379
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: pineapple under the sea
Vehicle:
DSM LanciaShelby351
MartiniWRC Codriver

Post

Download at http://www.rally.cc/

Email to: ALFA@Rally.cc

This is a TSD computer, not for performance rally.

Dave Shindle
DCRallyDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2001, 01:53 PM   #4
Tony
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 287
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD.
Vehicle:
2005 9-2X Aero
Desert Silver

Post

Dave,
I'm not sure what you mean. What does it matter if it's a TSD computer or not? The ALFA Pro and the ALFA Elite have identical hookups. The only difference being in the function of the box itself. The ALFA will take a Subaru vehicle speed sensor (VSS) signal just fine with a diode, you just need to know which wire to tap (and for the WRX, I haven't a clue).

The ALFA website has loads of great information but no info on specifics of hooking into different manufacturers VSS's. I'd suggestusing the probe and the VSS as separate inputs so you can switch if one should fail mid rally. The ALFA stores separate ODO correction factors for each input too.

Tony
Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2001, 03:39 AM   #5
NotAnRS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1004
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Vehicle:
2002 Forester L
Scratch-n-Dent Blue

Question

Anyone have some good mounting ideas for putting one in an Impreza? I have a Terratrip 404, no bracket or anything. Trying to figure out a non-intrusive way of putting it in the car but being removeable.
NotAnRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2001, 06:09 PM   #6
Crashton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 3808
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Westerville, OH , USA
Vehicle:
2005 Forester XT!!!
Crystal Gray Metallic

Exclamation

Are you going to mount that in front of the passenger air bag? Better wire up a air bag disconnect while you're at it.

Chuck
Crashton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem with installing Richard Burns Rally - computer guys please help me! MyScoobie28 Off-Topic 11 03-28-2006 10:02 PM
How much do rally computers go for here? j y Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 10 10-13-2001 08:07 PM
Anyone on this board know how to run an Alfa Rally computer? psoper Bay Area Impreza Club Forum -- BAIC 8 10-12-2001 07:29 PM
Rally Computer question MichiganRS Motorsports 4 05-15-2001 07:57 PM
Mounting location for rally computer in an RS? Tony Technical Forum Archive 7 10-13-2000 05:37 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.