Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 31, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2002, 12:25 AM   #1
hayscoob
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4544
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: santa rosa, ca, usa
Vehicle:
2004 STi Aspen White
Bone Stock for now

Question TEC 3 idle problem? Help

OK, I have the TEC 3 installed and I am having trouble with my idle. When I have the car started and idling for a while everyting seems fine. Then I turn on A/C. As the A/C switch is turned on the idle will kick up like normal. When I turn off th A/C the idle will start to slow down and then start to lope and eventually die. In the TEC 2 instructions it mentions that you splice into the OEM TPS sensor wires. Do you have to diode isolate the posative wires running to the TEC or the stock ECU? Is there a problem with a voltage spike in the stock ECU or TEC. This is driving me crazy HELP. Also running stupid rich, perhaps this is the reason the idle is pooching. Thanks in advance.

Paul...
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
hayscoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2002, 01:57 AM   #2
RallyNavvie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7113
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Minnesotan in Texas
Vehicle:
2008 Spec B
DGM

Default

Mmm, idle control problems: the bane of the aftermarket ECU

I just decided to forego air conditioning because it was more of a hassle with my ECU than it was worth. That's what my sunroof is for

Just forget air conditioning, it only zaps power.

~G
RallyNavvie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2002, 10:20 AM   #3
Aphex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Wahcheeta, KS
Vehicle:
'05 Legacy GT
Silver

Default

you're also in minnesota here in kansas where it'll get 105 with 85% humidity you kinda need A/C
Aphex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2002, 01:54 PM   #4
RallyNavvie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7113
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Minnesotan in Texas
Vehicle:
2008 Spec B
DGM

Default

Today's weather is temps in the upper 90s with humidity exceeding 80% and heat index rising to close to 110 degrees. We get that kind of heat here too. As long as you're moving that heat doesn't feel nearly so bad. I just kinda sweat it out in traffic, but I rarely encounter traffic anymore. I hardly ever used the AC when it was working before.

The only thing that's handy about the AC system is the condenser for defogging the front windshield. The humidity when it cools down at night fogs the windows up even with all the windows open. That's the only reason I'm going to fix mine.

As for a fix to your problem it could be any number of factors. Tuning the maps out to be closer to the fuel mixture they should be would at least eliminate that as a factor. I'd have to know how your IAC motor is wired in order to figure out what's going on with that part.

~Garrett
RallyNavvie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2002, 03:39 PM   #5
Dan_E
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 673
Join Date: Dec 1999
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Son Josei
Vehicle:
1999 2.5RS-T <RIP>
2000 RS-TURBO'D

Default

you need to adjust your idle (TPS) about 200rpm's higher during normal operation (Lights and A/C off). Then you will never have this problem again. Be sure to compinsate for the TPS voltage change in the calibration menu, otherwise your car wont slow down much when you let go of the pedal.
Dan_E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2002, 12:47 AM   #6
hayscoob
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4544
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: santa rosa, ca, usa
Vehicle:
2004 STi Aspen White
Bone Stock for now

Default

That would suck, I already lost a little engine braking because of the lower CR.

Dan, it sounds like you have been through this idle thing with the TEC before. With the TEC 3 set up, are the numeric values the same as the TEC 2 in the tuning process? This idle thing is driving me MAD To top this, I discovered today, that I have a bad CAT in my down pipe. I emailed Tom @ Ludespeed to see if it is under warranty. Jeez, I just can't win... If it's one thing, it's another. It realy does cast doubt on the whole project. I'm into it with all limbs and 4-5 months of time now. I just want my car to be reliable. I still can bear the idea of owning a WRX and all it's ugliness. Also, they are becoming dead common. But I gotta admire how easy it is to get power out of the EJ20T...Oh well.

Paul...
hayscoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2002, 12:30 PM   #7
Austin
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7089
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Western Wa
Default

hayscoob - Are you having trouble with only the idle, or idle following decel?

What are your ego parameters? Is ego turned on at idle?
Are you using a TPS/MAP blend?
What is your battery voltage fuel enrichment set at?
Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2002, 06:03 PM   #8
Austin
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7089
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Western Wa
Default

Also, have you wired the IAC motor to the TEC, or is the stock ECU still controlling IAC?
Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2002, 10:07 PM   #9
hayscoob
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4544
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: santa rosa, ca, usa
Vehicle:
2004 STi Aspen White
Bone Stock for now

Default

Austin,

I can't give you an answere, because I don't have a lap top. I was using my Tech's laptop to download the base map that Shiv sent. At the moment, the car runs. It runs suuuper rich and stinks to high heaven. I am looking to buy a used laptop soon so I can make small changes to the TEC after breakin. I just want to have a more reliable base map for the breaking period. I will note the items you mentioned and compare when I view engine data on screen. When ever that will be. I NEED A LAPTOP! Man, it's like building a brick wall without bricks. Thanks for the advice. If you can think of anyting else, let me know.

Paul...
hayscoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2002, 12:30 AM   #10
Austin
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7089
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Western Wa
Default

Hmmm... I can't imagine driving a car with a TEC3 without owning a laptop... There are so many minor things that must be set to your car...



Hope you get a laptop soon.
Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2002, 12:06 AM   #11
hayscoob
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4544
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: santa rosa, ca, usa
Vehicle:
2004 STi Aspen White
Bone Stock for now

Default

Indeed it is a pain in the arse not having a laptop. But with the use of my Tech's laptop, we are getting by. I am shopping for a used one right now. I hope I can find one cheap...

Paul...
hayscoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2002, 12:27 AM   #12
Austin
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7089
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Western Wa
Default

Well, once you get your laptop...

I'm pretty proud of my idle - it's rock steady, between 13:1 and 14:1, doesn't hunt around... just bring this thread back up from the dead and we'll yap about it.
Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 10:49 AM   #13
latinskllz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3461
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: orlando, fl, USA
Vehicle:
1998 BMW M3 Coupe
Estoril Bleau

Default

the stock ECU is controlling the idle, should i disable it temporarily while tuning my idle???
latinskllz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PE800 idle problems! Help! GMTarkin Engine Management & Tuning 23 06-11-2006 12:12 AM
Major Idle problem ? Help ? galacticWRX Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 12 08-18-2005 01:12 PM
Pin 8 on my serial port is gone, tec 3 help subiekid Engine Management & Tuning 0 06-03-2004 02:07 AM
tec-3 ego sensor problem rangere7 Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 5 07-15-2002 09:19 AM
Idling problem. HELP!! Bulletken Newbies & FAQs 3 11-12-2001 05:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.