Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2013, 03:01 PM   #6951
Jessie James
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2072
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Out of my mind
Default

By the way, a great add-on to use when building a system is Invisible Hand:

http://www.getinvisiblehand.com/

It compares prices of whatever you are looking at to other sites, and if it finds a lower price it lets you know.

It's not always correct with computer parts (it gets them confused) and usually Amazon has the best prices anyway.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Jessie James is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 03:10 PM   #6952
Jessie James
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2072
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Out of my mind
Default


Last edited by Jessie James; 03-24-2013 at 03:23 PM.
Jessie James is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 03:11 PM   #6953
Jaren1
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 195061
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Cool story, Brogue
Vehicle:
1997 Legacy Outback
Green

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigWrecKs View Post
I just opened like 40 Chrome tabs and my computer came to a crawl

Yes. then indeed moar RAM.
I still dont understand. I have 72 tabs up in chrome and every single one has a page of some sort open and I have LR3, CS6, Steam, Origin, Zune player, Sony vegas, Internet explorer has 20 tabs open, MSI afterburner, MSI Kombustor, Core temp.

All that and im only using 5.2gb out of 8.

What am i missing here?

Jaren1 is online now  
Old 03-24-2013, 03:15 PM   #6954
BigWrecKs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93830
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
11.5 New Balance
Shoes

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaren1 View Post
I still dont understand. I have 72 tabs up in chrome and every single one has a page of some sort open and I have LR3, CS6, Steam, Origin, Zune player, Sony vegas, Internet explorer has 20 tabs open, MSI afterburner, MSI Kombustor, Core temp.

All that and im only using 5.2gb out of 8.

What am i missing here?

Well, i've only got 4GB of RAM. Yes, if you open enough tabs and run different programs then it will eat your RAM.

For example, I could probably open 15 tabs with content and MIGHT be able to run FarCry3 at the same time before hitting the limit.
BigWrecKs is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 03:16 PM   #6955
BigWrecKs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93830
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
11.5 New Balance
Shoes

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessie James View Post
Well done. I'm actually quite envious of your RAID 0 SSD configuration.

I say looks good and you definitely won't be disappointed.
BigWrecKs is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 03:18 PM   #6956
Jaren1
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 195061
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Cool story, Brogue
Vehicle:
1997 Legacy Outback
Green

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigWrecKs View Post
Well, i've only got 4GB of RAM. Yes, if you open enough tabs and run different programs then it will eat your RAM.

For example, I could probably open 15 tabs with content and MIGHT be able to run FarCry3 at the same time before hitting the limit.
ah yess I see. I dont even know what I would have to be doing to run out of 8gb of ram. I dont see myself running out of ram unless I use some for a ramdisk or some sort of VM software.
Jaren1 is online now  
Old 03-24-2013, 03:19 PM   #6957
BigWrecKs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93830
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
11.5 New Balance
Shoes

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 07Wagon View Post
I have a tabbed browsing problem.
To each their own. I'm still old school and prefer using as little tabs as possible. Efficiency starts to fade once I have more than 3 or 4 tabs open.
BigWrecKs is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 03:20 PM   #6958
BigWrecKs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93830
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
11.5 New Balance
Shoes

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaren1 View Post
ah yess I see. I dont even know what I would have to be doing to run out of 8gb of ram. I dont see myself running out of ram unless I use some for a ramdisk or some sort of VM software.
If you open enough tabs in Chrome, your RAM will eventually get used up
BigWrecKs is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 03:24 PM   #6959
Jessie James
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2072
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Out of my mind
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigWrecKs View Post
Well done. I'm actually quite envious of your RAID 0 SSD configuration.

I say looks good and you definitely won't be disappointed.
I had to edit that and change the case. The one I picked is out of stock for 1-4 months.

Do you think CPU & Mobo are okay? That's my biggest concern.

I've always wanted to try a RAID 0 SSD system after seeing some guy do something like 24 SSDs in a RAID configuration a few years ago and it was a blindingly fast system. Remember that video?
Jessie James is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 03:25 PM   #6960
Hondaslayer
Purified Dick
Moderator
 
Member#: 4562
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Auburn, WA
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy LSi
1998 Forester, lifted.

Default

Just ordered my beginners first build (my term, not theirs) package from Newegg.

yes, it's low power compared to a lot of you, but compared to the 1.5GB / Pentium 1 Dell I currently use it should be a screamer!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboB...=Combo.1242867

Seemed like a decent deal. I'll be re-using the SSD and CD/DVD/RW out of the Dell that had a MOBO / PSU failure. Should keep the wife happy for a few years and be upgrade-able for once.
Hondaslayer is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 03:33 PM   #6961
BigWrecKs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93830
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
11.5 New Balance
Shoes

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessie James View Post
I had to edit that and change the case. The one I picked is out of stock for 1-4 months.

Do you think CPU & Mobo are okay? That's my biggest concern.

I've always wanted to try a RAID 0 SSD system after seeing some guy do something like 24 SSDs in a RAID configuration a few years ago and it was a blindingly fast system. Remember that video?
It's a LOT of processor, one of the most powerful(today). The system board is fine for what you're doing plus will be great for gaming if you wanted to explore that area.

Edit: I remember exactly which video you're talking about and, even today, it still amazes me.
BigWrecKs is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 03:35 PM   #6962
BigWrecKs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93830
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
11.5 New Balance
Shoes

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hondaslayer View Post
Just ordered my beginners first build (my term, not theirs) package from Newegg.

yes, it's low power compared to a lot of you, but compared to the 1.5GB / Pentium 1 Dell I currently use it should be a screamer!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboB...=Combo.1242867

Seemed like a decent deal. I'll be re-using the SSD and CD/DVD/RW out of the Dell that had a MOBO / PSU failure. Should keep the wife happy for a few years and be upgrade-able for once.
That's the glory of SSDs. They can make lower-power/budget computers quick like higher powered machines.
BigWrecKs is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 06:52 PM   #6963
nhat
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 140163
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing
Vehicle:
03 STi
hellaflunctional

Default

So I've got one of these: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16856101422

I have no idea what's broken inside it but it definitely hates life. Anybody think it's worth spending money to get it Bach running as a HTPC?

I'd ask about turning it into a NAS but I know I'd be better off just buying a purpose-made NAS instead.
nhat is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 08:11 PM   #6964
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
04 STi
Blue w/ custom bug splat

Default

Don't worry so much about the points. It is the research that the points represent that we should all be proud of. Having said that, I seek to maximize my points too, within reason.

For the record, my 3770k is churning out a 7809 work unit for 25,000 ppd at the moment, and my 680 FTW is churning out a 8071 work unit for 32815 ppd. I am too lazy to get up and check my other 2 folding rigs.

For smp (cpu) folding, the biggest thing is to get a passkey and successfully complete 10 smp work units. That will earn you quick return bonuses. That is the biggest improvement you can make. Then, of course,you can overclock, which improves the qrb even more. Right now, they are working on implementing qrb for GPU work units. I participated in the beta and my 560ti was earning about 140,0000 ppd . It is unlikely that those numbers will carry over when it is rolled out to the public. Personally, I think they are working on the AMD side of folding, creating an openCL client before they roll out qrb for GPU folding. GPU folding has been optimized for most nVidia GPUs. So they rule (for now). They also churn out a lot of research into protein folding.

Like I said earlier, by father died of cancer, and this is MY way of giving a little back to research into a cure. They work on other good causes as well (all medical research).

HERE is a link to the wikipedia entry on Folding@Home.
Please review it and consider joining the cause. Those who have recently, thank you!
bcblues is online now  
Old 03-24-2013, 08:16 PM   #6965
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
04 STi
Blue w/ custom bug splat

Default

Absolutely not.

You would be far better off buying a $100 Atom system. Everything about it is obsolete. There are more modern systems that are cost-effective HTPC solutions today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhat View Post
So I've got one of these: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16856101422

I have no idea what's broken inside it but it definitely hates life. Anybody think it's worth spending money to get it Bach running as a HTPC?

I'd ask about turning it into a NAS but I know I'd be better off just buying a purpose-made NAS instead.
bcblues is online now  
Old 03-24-2013, 08:41 PM   #6966
96accord
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 145105
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Middle River, Maryland
Vehicle:
2015 WRB WRX Limited
2007 WRX Limited (sold)

Default

I understand about the research but it's like a challenge to pass people on the list

You have 2 folding rigs dedicated to folding 24/7?

I think my problem is that I have not completed 10 smp work units yet.. Maybe my points will go up then.

It just amazes me that my HP laptop with an Core i5 2450M processor (on-board video card) is getting me around 4k PPD and my gaming rig (AMD Athlon II X4 CPU/2GB HD6950 GPU) is only getting me around the same (maybe a tad bit more)...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcblues View Post
Don't worry so much about the points. It is the research that the points represent that we should all be proud of. Having said that, I seek to maximize my points too, within reason.

For the record, my 3770k is churning out a 7809 work unit for 25,000 ppd at the moment, and my 680 FTW is churning out a 8071 work unit for 32815 ppd. I am too lazy to get up and check my other 2 folding rigs.

For smp (cpu) folding, the biggest thing is to get a passkey and successfully complete 10 smp work units. That will earn you quick return bonuses. That is the biggest improvement you can make. Then, of course,you can overclock, which improves the qrb even more. Right now, they are working on implementing qrb for GPU work units. I participated in the beta and my 560ti was earning about 140,0000 ppd . It is unlikely that those numbers will carry over when it is rolled out to the public. Personally, I think they are working on the AMD side of folding, creating an openCL client before they roll out qrb for GPU folding. GPU folding has been optimized for most nVidia GPUs. So they rule (for now). They also churn out a lot of research into protein folding.

Like I said earlier, by father died of cancer, and this is MY way of giving a little back to research into a cure. They work on other good causes as well (all medical research).

HERE is a link to the wikipedia entry on Folding@Home.
Please review it and consider joining the cause. Those who have recently, thank you!
96accord is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 08:54 PM   #6967
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
04 STi
Blue w/ custom bug splat

Default

Obviously, you have a large budget. Good for you. The 3930K is a workhorse, especially in multithreaded environments. I don't know the intel roadmap for Haswell 6/8 core CPU releases, that is the only thing I would worry about shelling out top dollar for a 2011 (literally) technology.

Other than that,just make sure you add in the peripherals to match: Top notch high resolution monitors, hi res mouse, and a monitors or cans wirth their salt.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessie James View Post
bcblues is online now  
Old 03-24-2013, 08:57 PM   #6968
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
04 STi
Blue w/ custom bug splat

Default

I have 4 desktop systems at the moment, and fold on 3 of them. 2 are dedicated 24/7 folders, the 3rd is my main gaming rig that also folds pretty much full time. The 4th is a server.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 96accord View Post
I understand about the research but it's like a challenge to pass people on the list

You have 2 folding rigs dedicated to folding 24/7?

I think my problem is that I have not completed 10 smp work units yet.. Maybe my points will go up then.

It just amazes me that my HP laptop with an Core i5 2450M processor (on-board video card) is getting me around 4k PPD and my gaming rig (AMD Athlon II X4 CPU/2GB HD6950 GPU) is only getting me around the same (maybe a tad bit more)...
bcblues is online now  
Old 03-24-2013, 09:22 PM   #6969
xanthus29
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 118313
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Warrensburg, MO
Vehicle:
2007 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessie James View Post
Dunno what video editing program you'll be using, but your video card won't be utilized by Adobe's Mercury Playback Engine in CS6.

http://www.adobe.com/products/premie...ck-engine.html

Edit: Ah, I guess PowerDirector is a video editing application. Hopefully that can utilize your card.
xanthus29 is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 09:29 PM   #6970
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
04 STi
Blue w/ custom bug splat

Default

Yeah, I think most killer VE rigs use multiple nVidia cards (at least they used to).

[disclaimer] I am not a video editor.
bcblues is online now  
Old 03-24-2013, 11:47 PM   #6971
07Wagon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 152718
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Vehicle:
2005 CTS-V

Default

Two additional questions: Is ATI the way to go with my video card? Is Physx worth going with Nvidia? Secondly, should I bother with tinting the heat spreader and the CPU cooler like the arctic silver directions recommend?
07Wagon is online now  
Old 03-24-2013, 11:57 PM   #6972
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
04 STi
Blue w/ custom bug splat

Default

Tinting the cooler????

I don't understand what that refers to.

I have used AS for years and I don't think I have EVER read their directions!
bcblues is online now  
Old 03-25-2013, 12:00 AM   #6973
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
04 STi
Blue w/ custom bug splat

Default

As far as the chip manu, that is a personal choice. Right now, it appears that AMD has the edge on performance/cost, except for folding@home. Unless you want bleeding edge stuff like the Titan, wihch cannot be touched by AMD (but is also a cool grand).

The cost/performance sweet spot at the moment seems to be the 7950 on the AMD side, and the 660ti on the nVidia side.
bcblues is online now  
Old 03-25-2013, 12:01 AM   #6974
Jaren1
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 195061
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Cool story, Brogue
Vehicle:
1997 Legacy Outback
Green

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 07Wagon View Post
Two additional questions: Is ATI the way to go with my video card? Is Physx worth going with Nvidia? Secondly, should I bother with tinting the heat spreader and the CPU cooler like the arctic silver directions recommend?
ATI is usually the way to go from a price perspective but I think nvidia has better driver support. The GHz edition of the 7970 is only a smidge better than the gtx 680. But the 680 is more efficient and draws less power, so i would assume its cooler. The 7970 is on average cheaper too.

It really comes down to preference I suppose
Jaren1 is online now  
Old 03-25-2013, 12:07 AM   #6975
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
04 STi
Blue w/ custom bug splat

Default

My 680 is folding in the same case as my 3770k OCed to 4.6, and they are running 74 for the CPU and 73 for the stock clocked 680 (both folding 24/7).

Thanks for getting me to check. I just applied an overclock to the 680 of 1135. Should help my folding ppd. I forgot to start my afterburner utility after I updated my video drivers.
bcblues is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Ultimate Scooby Engine Build Thread! maperformance Engine/Power/Exhaust 142 08-04-2010 08:03 PM
Another critique my PC build thread. sick boy Off-Topic 19 06-17-2008 04:57 PM
The 1973 VWRX (STI) build thread gsusmaniac Subaru Conversions 24 11-14-2007 03:15 AM
The official desktop PC post thread! live311 Off-Topic 3 08-11-2005 09:25 PM
The OT NHL Play Offs thread Tim Quinn Off-Topic 407 06-08-2004 11:32 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.