Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday May 7, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2011, 09:33 PM   #1
NastyT23
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287996
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Springfield
Default 04 wrx with 2.5 sti block & turbo, which AP do i need to buy

I'm interested in buying an accessport, I just recently bought a 2004 WRX that was converted into an STI (2.5 litre block, turbo, 850cc injectors, 4in catless exhaust from downpipe) and I wasn't sure which AP I need to get..? Do I get one that's for a WRX or for an STI...?
Thanks for your help.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
NastyT23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 09:55 AM   #2
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

The AP needs to match the engine control unit (ECU) that is in the car. If you retained the factory 04 WRX ECU, then you would need the SUB-001 AP v2 (designed for 02-05 WRX). If you did a full swap from an STi, including the STi ECU, then you would need either the SUB-002 or SUB-003 AP v2 depending on what ECU is in the car.

Keep in mind if you have the existing 04 WRX ECU, none of the off-shelf-maps are going to work with a 2.5L short block and aftermarket injectors. You will need to either get a custom tune from a shop that uses our AccessTUNER Pro software or tune it yourself via the free AccessTUNER Race software (which you can request after purchasing an AP v2).

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 11:38 AM   #3
NastyT23
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287996
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Springfield
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobb Tuning View Post
The AP needs to match the engine control unit (ECU) that is in the car. If you retained the factory 04 WRX ECU, then you would need the SUB-001 AP v2 (designed for 02-05 WRX). If you did a full swap from an STi, including the STi ECU, then you would need either the SUB-002 or SUB-003 AP v2 depending on what ECU is in the car.

Keep in mind if you have the existing 04 WRX ECU, none of the off-shelf-maps are going to work with a 2.5L short block and aftermarket injectors. You will need to either get a custom tune from a shop that uses our AccessTUNER Pro software or tune it yourself via the free AccessTUNER Race software (which you can request after purchasing an AP v2).

Bill

Alright thanks. The previous owner told me the vehicle was tuned at a shop and it does have the 04 WRX ECU, It was tuned for better gas mileage I guess, and made close to 300whp (I forgot the exact number)... I just thought if I had an accessport I could get it tuned for good gas mileage, and also have a map for more power, and I also have a CEL on (probably because of the exhaust) so if I understand correctly I can clear that with an accessport...?

Thanks
NastyT23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 01:39 PM   #4
WhatTurboLag?
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 243992
Join Date: Apr 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Morton Grove, Illinois
Vehicle:
2006 WRX TR
WRB

Default

gas mileage tunes are a gimmick, your gas mileage tune is your right foot!

have it tuned for relibility and you will have a good motor that will last a while
WhatTurboLag? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 02:35 PM   #5
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NastyT23 View Post
Alright thanks. The previous owner told me the vehicle was tuned at a shop and it does have the 04 WRX ECU, It was tuned for better gas mileage I guess, and made close to 300whp (I forgot the exact number)... I just thought if I had an accessport I could get it tuned for good gas mileage, and also have a map for more power, and I also have a CEL on (probably because of the exhaust) so if I understand correctly I can clear that with an accessport...?

Thanks
The AccessTUNER Pro software is what a shop would use to create a custom tune for your AccessPORT and car (The race version is basically the same tuning software but for end-users to tune a single vehicle). In addition to tuning the vehicle, this software can also disable individual check engine light codes.

The AccessPORT will allow you to store up to 100 maps on the device.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 12:26 PM   #6
NastyT23
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287996
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Springfield
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhatTurboLag? View Post
gas mileage tunes are a gimmick, your gas mileage tune is your right foot!

have it tuned for relibility and you will have a good motor that will last a while
Ah well thank you! I will have it tuned for reliability then, I need to find a good local shop that can do it for me!
NastyT23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 12:37 PM   #7
2Fast4U1DAY
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 250152
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pennsylvania
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Limited
OBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NastyT23

Ah well thank you! I will have it tuned for reliability then, I need to find a good local shop that can do it for me!
You dont need a protune for reliability. There are hundreds of AP users that have ran for thousands of miles on this very forum with no ill effects.
2Fast4U1DAY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 04:58 PM   #8
NastyT23
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287996
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Springfield
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobb Tuning View Post
The AccessTUNER Pro software is what a shop would use to create a custom tune for your AccessPORT and car (The race version is basically the same tuning software but for end-users to tune a single vehicle). In addition to tuning the vehicle, this software can also disable individual check engine light codes.

The AccessPORT will allow you to store up to 100 maps on the device.

Bill

Perfect, I'll be buying one once I get the funds!
Would it be able to disable the airbag light as well? (to pass vehicle inspection in MA we can't have any CEL's or Airbag lights on...)

Thanks.
NastyT23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 04:58 PM   #9
NastyT23
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287996
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Springfield
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Fast4U1DAY View Post
You dont need a protune for reliability. There are hundreds of AP users that have ran for thousands of miles on this very forum with no ill effects.
Thanks!
NastyT23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 07:53 PM   #10
2Fast4U1DAY
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 250152
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pennsylvania
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Limited
OBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NastyT23

Perfect, I'll be buying one once I get the funds!
Would it be able to disable the airbag light as well? (to pass vehicle inspection in MA we can't have any CEL's or Airbag lights on...)

Thanks.
No you wont be able to disable the airbag light, nor should you. The airbag light is on because theres a fault somewhere. Do a search on this forum, as there are several that have had this problem and fixed it by finding the connectors, and ensuring that they are fully engaged with each other.

Last edited by 2Fast4U1DAY; 10-01-2011 at 09:25 PM.
2Fast4U1DAY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 01:00 AM   #11
NastyT23
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287996
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Springfield
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Fast4U1DAY View Post
No you wont be able to disable the airbag light, nor should you. The airbag light is on because theres a fault somewhere. Do a search on this forum, as there are several that have had this problem and fixed it by finding the connectors, and ensuring that they are fully engaged with each other.
Ah well thank you, your definitely right, it would be a dumb idea to disable the airbag light... I'll search around and see what I can figure out.
Thanks!
NastyT23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 03:11 PM   #12
NastyT23
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287996
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Springfield
Default

Alright so I ended up buying an AP V2, but I am disappointed. I now realize it needs a proper tune. I installled the AP and it warned me it was going to delete the current tune that was currently on the ecu and that it would be unrecoverable (should have stopped there) So I figured it'd be fine. Reflashed it to a Stage 2 tune for 93 octane (that's all I use in my car) Car started (stumbling and white smoke out the exhaust a bit for the first couple minutes) Then it smoothed out a bit after that, So I took it for a drive for about 15 minutes and it ran like crap.... after about 3500 rpms it just hesitated a whole lot... so I pulled over and reflashed with Stage 1 93 Octane... same result... So finally I uninstalled the AP and the car seems to run a little better with the base map but still not running normal. Wish I never deleted the tune that came with the car...
I am from western MA (springfield specifically) and I guess I need to find a ProTuner that can make a map for me to get the car back to running normal and reliably... Oh and it also wasn't able to clear the CEL's I had... (I actually had more after reflashing, misfire on all 4 cylinders... Is it ok to keep driving it this way till I get it to a shop that can tune it?)
Thanks in advance
NastyT23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 03:17 PM   #13
ChestyPuller
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 293281
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NastyT23 View Post
Alright so I ended up buying an AP V2, but I am disappointed. I now realize it needs a proper tune. I installled the AP and it warned me it was going to delete the current tune that was currently on the ecu and that it would be unrecoverable (should have stopped there) So I figured it'd be fine. Reflashed it to a Stage 2 tune for 93 octane (that's all I use in my car) Car started (stumbling and white smoke out the exhaust a bit for the first couple minutes) Then it smoothed out a bit after that, So I took it for a drive for about 15 minutes and it ran like crap.... after about 3500 rpms it just hesitated a whole lot... so I pulled over and reflashed with Stage 1 93 Octane... same result... So finally I uninstalled the AP and the car seems to run a little better with the base map but still not running normal. Wish I never deleted the tune that came with the car...
I am from western MA (springfield specifically) and I guess I need to find a ProTuner that can make a map for me to get the car back to running normal and reliably... Oh and it also wasn't able to clear the CEL's I had... (I actually had more after reflashing, misfire on all 4 cylinders... Is it ok to keep driving it this way till I get it to a shop that can tune it?)
Thanks in advance
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobb Tuning View Post
The AP needs to match the engine control unit (ECU) that is in the car. If you retained the factory 04 WRX ECU, then you would need the SUB-001 AP v2 (designed for 02-05 WRX). If you did a full swap from an STi, including the STi ECU, then you would need either the SUB-002 or SUB-003 AP v2 depending on what ECU is in the car.

Keep in mind if you have the existing 04 WRX ECU, none of the off-shelf-maps are going to work with a 2.5L short block and aftermarket injectors. You will need to either get a custom tune from a shop that uses our AccessTUNER Pro software or tune it yourself via the free AccessTUNER Race software (which you can request after purchasing an AP v2).

Bill
check COBB's website for tuners in your area.
ChestyPuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 03:28 PM   #14
NastyT23
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287996
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Springfield
Default

Thanks, found one nearby :-)


Quote:
Originally Posted by ChestyPuller View Post
check COBB's website for tuners in your area.
NastyT23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 04:20 PM   #15
NastyT23
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287996
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Springfield
Default

Probably the wrong place to ask this, but am I doing damage to the engine by still driving it in the meantime till I have it tuned...? With the misfires on all cylinders...? It's driveable and I keep the RPM's as low as possible... Just wondering... I actually have an appointment for tomorrow morning to have it tuned but I've needed it to get around and drove it a few times, and I also need to get it to the shop which is about an hour away.
NastyT23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 04:24 PM   #16
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NastyT23 View Post
Probably the wrong place to ask this, but am I doing damage to the engine by still driving it in the meantime till I have it tuned...? With the misfires on all cylinders...? It's driveable and I keep the RPM's as low as possible... Just wondering... I actually have an appointment for tomorrow morning to have it tuned but I've needed it to get around and drove it a few times, and I also need to get it to the shop which is about an hour away.
Ask the shop if they'll send you a limp map for mods. The primary issue you have here is the injectors. If they can send you a map with at least reasonable scaling/latency for those injectors, you should be able to drive it safely as long as you drive slowly and not too much throttle.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 05:33 PM   #17
NastyT23
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287996
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Springfield
Default

Thanks Bill, I called and talked to them and they are going to send me a map based on the mods I have to at least get me to the shop safely tomorrow.

Terry

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobb Tuning View Post
Ask the shop if they'll send you a limp map for mods. The primary issue you have here is the injectors. If they can send you a map with at least reasonable scaling/latency for those injectors, you should be able to drive it safely as long as you drive slowly and not too much throttle.

Bill
NastyT23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
03 wrx with 2.5 short block and sti 6 speed platinum03wrx/sti Private Vehicle 'For Sale' Classifieds 0 09-19-2007 08:02 AM
WRX with 2.5 Sti Block 293whp 13.5k! awdvf22 Private Vehicle 'For Sale' Classifieds 5 03-21-2007 03:19 PM
WRX with 2.5 Sti Block 293whp awdvf22 Private Vehicle 'For Sale' Classifieds 4 03-17-2007 05:12 PM
Which gaskets do I need to buy? oldhat Pre-2002 Factory Turbo Powertrain 5 08-04-2006 02:57 PM
help with 2.5 sti block breather holes plugged? ktmbass85 Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 7 03-07-2006 04:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.