Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday September 3, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2011, 02:50 PM   #1
100_Percent_Juice
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126042
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Reno, NV
Vehicle:
2004 W Ŕ X
PSM

Default Smog Problem. AccessPort related

CAR INFO
04wrx
AccessPort since 2006 running OTS map for stage 1 or 2 mods. Can't remember its been so long.
3" TBE (high flow cat in DP)
Gutted UP
STI TMIC
K&N drop-in
AP was used to clear CELs that resulted from removing the cat in the up-pipe. I left the EGT sensor in place and connected (I broke the stem off the sensor as I read it has the possibility to break off and go into turbo, yadda, yadda) Again this was back in 06.

SHORT STORY
Recently, I replaced my timing belt and several other maintenance items on my car. I had my wife hold the brake so that I could break loose the crank pulley. This reset my ECU. No big deal right? Well it just so happened that my registration is due and obviously you will not pass smog right after an ECU reset. So, I drove over 100 miles and then went to smog my car. 2 monitors were not ready. OXY SNSR and CATALYST.
So I drove another 100. Same thing.
Drove another 150. Same
Yes, I drove both highway and city, 50mph, 20mph, stop without brake, etc. etc. etc.

I have come to the conclusion that my AP is keeping those 2 monitors from becoming ready. So I assume once I can unblock those monitors, they will become ready and then I can pass smog and move on with life.

QUESTIONS
1. Can I unblock the CEL's that the AP is currently blocking? If so, whats the easiest way?

2. Would I be correct in saying that when a CEL light comes on, this would indicate that the monitor is ready and has thus detected the problem?

Thanks in advance for the help.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by 100_Percent_Juice; 11-09-2011 at 12:58 PM.
100_Percent_Juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 02:34 AM   #2
100_Percent_Juice
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126042
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Reno, NV
Vehicle:
2004 W Ŕ X
PSM

Default

I'm all for posting in the correct sub forum but, whats the point if it will not be seen by anyone. I honestly don't think I have been in this section more than 2 times. I probably should have just posted in the Factory 2.0L section.

*sigh*
100_Percent_Juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 04:17 AM   #3
SoCal11Subie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 299942
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default

I think you did the right thing, as I can pretty much guarantee a Cobb Rep will answer your post fairly soon.
SoCal11Subie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 07:09 AM   #4
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 100_Percent_Juice View Post
CAR INFO
04wrx
AccessPort since 2006 running OTS map for stage 1 or 2 mods. Can't remember its been so long.
3" TBE (high flow cat in DP)
Gutted UP
STI TMIC
K&N drop-in
AP was used to clear CELs that resulted from removing the cat in the up-pipe. I left the oxygen sensor in place and connected (I broke the stem off the sensor as I read it has the possibility to break off and go into turbo, yadda, yadda) Again this was back in 06.

SHORT STORY
Recently, I replaced my timing belt and several other maintenance items on my car. I had my wife hold the brake so that I could break loose the crank pulley. This reset my ECU. No big deal right? Well it just so happened that my registration is due and obviously you will not pass smog right after an ECU reset. So, I drove over 100 miles and then went to smog my car. 2 monitors were not ready. OXY SNSR and CATALYST.
So I drove another 100. Same thing.
Drove another 150. Same
Yes, I drove both highway and city, 50mph, 20mph, stop without brake, etc. etc. etc.

I have come to the conclusion that my AP is keeping those 2 monitors from becoming ready. So I assume once I can unblock those monitors, they will become ready and then I can pass smog and move on with life.

QUESTIONS
1. Can I unblock the CEL's that the AP is currently blocking? If so, whats the easiest way?

2. Would I be correct in saying that when a CEL light comes on, this would indicate that the monitor is ready and has thus detected the problem?

Thanks in advance for the help.
Hi there. Preventing a specific diagnostic trouble code (DTC) from setting the check engine light does not prevent the readiness monitors from being ready. In the case of the 02-05 WRX, it doesn't have any effect either way (2.5L Subarus are different), but you can be sure that if you have a check engine light, you will not pass emissions.

For the 02-05 WRX, you will need to address the cause of the failure. If it is due to P0420 (related to the rear o2) and you have an AP version 2, you can disable the fault detection for this DTC for the 02-05 WRX via the free AccessTUNER Race (two toggles can be found under the advanced parameters option). This is different than disabling a DTC for the 02-05 WRX in that it will remove the fault detection all together, not just prevent the CEL from coming on because of it.

Best thing to do is determine exactly what DTCs are being set. Even though they may be disabled (in that they won't turn the CEL on), you still should be able to read the codes via the AP.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 11:15 AM   #5
100_Percent_Juice
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126042
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Reno, NV
Vehicle:
2004 W Ŕ X
PSM

Default

Thank you for your response. I should have mentioned that I've had a V1 AccessPort since 06. I am 99% sure that the last time I tried to read codes with the AP, there were none.

Please help me work this out so we are on the same page.

What relationship do Readiness Monitors have to Dagnostic Trouble Codes?

ASSUMPTIONS
I assumed (I could be wrong) that the readiness monitor would test the system and if there was a problem, it would create a DTC, thus causing a CEL. However, in this scenario it would be "READY", regardless of the results, since it did run the test. I just wouldn't pass because of a CEL.

If the readiness monitor never tests the system "NOT READY" then how can it generate a DTC and thus a Check Engine Light?

MORE ASSUMPTIONS

I don't think a Readiness Monitor can go from "ready" to "not ready" unless the ECU is reset.

This is why I assume that I would have passed, had the ECU not been reset. It has not been reset for years so I guess something could be blocking the Readiness Monitors and it wasn't brought to my attention until this reset.

OTHER QUESTIONS
If I blocked CELs with my V1 AP, how do I "unblock" them so the light will come back on?

Assume that the drive cycles have been completed. What could keep a monitor from becoming ready??
100_Percent_Juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 12:18 PM   #6
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 100_Percent_Juice View Post
Thank you for your response. I should have mentioned that I've had a V1 AccessPort since 06. I am 99% sure that the last time I tried to read codes with the AP, there were none.

Please help me work this out so we are on the same page.

What relationship do Readiness Monitors have to Dagnostic Trouble Codes?

ASSUMPTIONS
I assumed (I could be wrong) that the readiness monitor would test the system and if there was a problem, it would create a DTC, thus causing a CEL. However, in this scenario it would be "READY", regardless of the results, since it did run the test. I just wouldn't pass because of a CEL.

If the readiness monitor never tests the system "NOT READY" then how can it generate a DTC and thus a Check Engine Light?

MORE ASSUMPTIONS

I don't think a Readiness Monitor can go from "ready" to "not ready" unless the ECU is reset.

This is why I assume that I would have passed, had the ECU not been reset. It has not been reset for years so I guess something could be blocking the Readiness Monitors and it wasn't brought to my attention until this reset.

OTHER QUESTIONS
If I blocked CELs with my V1 AP, how do I "unblock" them so the light will come back on?

Assume that the drive cycles have been completed. What could keep a monitor from becoming ready??
The readiness monitors do not determine whether DTCs are set or not. They do use the DTC fault detection as one of the inputs to determine whether or not a given readiness monitor will pass or not (DTC faults checked dependent on the readiness monitor in question). The logic also looks at certain sensor data as well. The drive cycle is necessary so that you can't just disconnect the car's battery and immediately pass (some DTC take some driving to set).

Usually, your biggest issue with an aftermarket downpipe will be the rear o2 sensor. Even if it is functional, the exhaust stream seen by the rear o2 with a hi-flow cat (or catless) is different than the stock cats and may cause issues with passing readiness. Another big one is the front o2 sensor, but since you need this in order for the car to run properly, it usually isn't an issue with these cars unless they have a specific mechanical problem (like a bad sensor). The car will still run with a bad front o2, though.

Your best bet is to uninstall the AP and then drive around until you get a check engine light (try to stay out of boost as you will be on the stock map). Then get the codes read via an OBDII scanner (some auto parts stores will do this for free). Then you need to address the problem for those codes that come up.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 01:32 PM   #7
100_Percent_Juice
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126042
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Reno, NV
Vehicle:
2004 W Ŕ X
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobb Tuning View Post
They do use the DTC fault detection as one of the inputs to determine whether or not a given readiness monitor will pass or not (DTC faults checked dependent on the readiness monitor in question).
Sorry, this sentence confused me. By "pass or not" do you mean go from "not ready" to "ready". So you are saying that a DTC could keep a monitor from becoming "ready"?

The monitors which are "not ready" are OXY SNSR and CATALYST. I would guess that the rear O2 sensor would be responsible for providing input to both of those?

I only need to make one of those "ready" to pass smog. From what you have said I think the first course of action would be for me to replace my rear O2 sensor and see what that does. Unless you think I should replace the front one first. At this point I want to refrain from putting a stock exhaust back on. I don't know if this is average or poor but I am getting about 18mpg average with you OTS CA91 stg 2 map.
100_Percent_Juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 01:32 PM   #8
100_Percent_Juice
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126042
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Reno, NV
Vehicle:
2004 W Ŕ X
PSM

Default

Just wanted to add that I really appreciate you helping me with this.
100_Percent_Juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 06:58 PM   #9
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 100_Percent_Juice View Post
Sorry, this sentence confused me. By "pass or not" do you mean go from "not ready" to "ready". So you are saying that a DTC could keep a monitor from becoming "ready"?

The monitors which are "not ready" are OXY SNSR and CATALYST. I would guess that the rear O2 sensor would be responsible for providing input to both of those?

I only need to make one of those "ready" to pass smog. From what you have said I think the first course of action would be for me to replace my rear O2 sensor and see what that does. Unless you think I should replace the front one first. At this point I want to refrain from putting a stock exhaust back on. I don't know if this is average or poor but I am getting about 18mpg average with you OTS CA91 stg 2 map.
Yes, a DTC can keep a monitor from being ready. By pass/fail, I mean the same thing as ready/not ready. I would not replace any parts. You need to determine which sensor is the issue first. Best way to do this, in the case of the AP v1, is to uninstall it and then read the codes via an OBDII scanner (may take some driving before the code(s) are set).

A code for the rear o2 sensor does not necessarily mean it is bad if you have an aftermarket DP. You may just need to swap in the stock DP (or stock midpipe if you have a shorty DP).

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 08:06 PM   #10
100_Percent_Juice
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126042
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Reno, NV
Vehicle:
2004 W Ŕ X
PSM

Default

Update to the thread. I tired to uninstall my AP from the car but when I plugged it in, its dead. My AP will not turn on. So now what options am I left with other than having to now buy a new ECU on top of whatever else is wrong? Ian, thank you for your continued efforts.
100_Percent_Juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 07:21 AM   #11
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 100_Percent_Juice View Post
Update to the thread. I tired to uninstall my AP from the car but when I plugged it in, its dead. My AP will not turn on. So now what options am I left with other than having to now buy a new ECU on top of whatever else is wrong? Ian, thank you for your continued efforts.
Did it fail in the middle of the install? If so, does the car still start?

You can always get the $200 credit towards the purchase of a new AP v2 when you trade-in the AP v1 (working or not). The AP v2 will overwrite your install and then you can uninstall and it will put a stock map back on there. Also, you can get a free copy of AccessTUNER Race software with the AP v2 which will allow you to enable/disable any DTCs.

Edit: I just read your conversation with Ian via PM. I would still consider getting the AP v2 as it gives you many more options. If all else fails, there's also a memory snapshot feature on the AP v2 that will allow you to send us a file that we can use to see exactly what is impacting your readiness monitors. If you still don't want to do that, if you are pretty computer literate you can get use open source software (Ecuflash) to flash a stock ROM to the ECU. You'll need to purchase a cable that is compatible with that software. The other option is to purchase a used ECU for about $150-$200.

Bill

Last edited by Cobb Tuning; 11-10-2011 at 07:38 AM.
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 02:32 PM   #12
100_Percent_Juice
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126042
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Reno, NV
Vehicle:
2004 W Ŕ X
PSM

Default

PMed.
100_Percent_Juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1995 Impreza 1.8 Smog problems... Can anyone help interpret results? Impretzle Normally Aspirated Powertrain 1 08-05-2006 11:44 PM
smog problems DUBRXINCA General Community 1 10-27-2005 12:48 PM
Accessport related questions CoolRex Engine Management & Tuning 7 08-26-2005 11:06 AM
Major Running Problems...TGV related New2MeSuby Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 7 09-18-2004 11:35 AM
down pipe smog problem fungracing Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 2 09-14-2002 08:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.