Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday September 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2011, 07:33 PM   #1
milkface
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 143742
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: vancouver
Vehicle:
2004 STi wagon
2008 WRB Forester XT

Default can a AP overwrite ECUTek ?

Just for clearification:

Can a COBB APV2 be installed on to an ECUTek locked ECU and overwrite it?


- I have an ECUTek locked ECU, and I want to install an AP to use on it instead.



thanks in advance.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
milkface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 09:05 AM   #2
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by milkface View Post
Just for clearification:

Can a COBB APV2 be installed on to an ECUTek locked ECU and overwrite it?


- I have an ECUTek locked ECU, and I want to install an AP to use on it instead.



thanks in advance.
Most likely, although we can't guarantee that this will always work (Ecutek can change their methods at any time). The only issues with overwriting Ecutek that have been reported us have been with the 02-03 WRX and some later models Subarus in the SUB-003 category. We are going to come out with a fix (firmware update) for the SUB-003 issue in the near future that will hopefully address those problems. But, again, we make no guarantees that the AP will always overwrite an Ecutek tune. If you purchase an AP directly from Cobb, we do offer a 30-day satisfaction guarantee, so if it doesn't work, you can always return it within that time period. Details are here:
http://www.cobbtuning.com/info/?id=2207

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 01:49 PM   #3
milkface
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 143742
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: vancouver
Vehicle:
2004 STi wagon
2008 WRB Forester XT

Default

Thanks Bill,

Story goes:
I have recently purchased an COBB APV2 Sub-002 BNIB from one of your vendors.
If I am to go ahead and try to install it to the ECUTek locked ECU, could there be any consequences if the overwriting does not work with the ECU? - in regards to the AP unit somehow.
If the AP will be fine, then it'll definitley be worth a try to test.

I simply much rather use the AP then ECUtek for my tuning.


Thanks for your time!
-Charles
milkface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 09:05 AM   #4
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by milkface View Post
Thanks Bill,

Story goes:
I have recently purchased an COBB APV2 Sub-002 BNIB from one of your vendors.
If I am to go ahead and try to install it to the ECUTek locked ECU, could there be any consequences if the overwriting does not work with the ECU? - in regards to the AP unit somehow.
If the AP will be fine, then it'll definitley be worth a try to test.

I simply much rather use the AP then ECUtek for my tuning.


Thanks for your time!
-Charles
Worst case scenario is that the AP just won't install over Ecutek. Won't impact the AP or the ECU if this happens.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What can the AP/EcuTeK give me that cheaper options can't? KingOfSiam Commercial ECU Reflashes 11 10-20-2007 11:05 AM
Can cobb AP be married to ECUtek ECU? swift2fly AccessPort 3 06-23-2006 04:04 AM
can cobb AP clear/read ecutek CELs? swift2fly Engine Management & Tuning 13 06-20-2006 09:59 PM
AP or ecutek for reliability ralliharri Engine Management & Tuning 34 12-13-2005 10:49 PM
AP or ECUtek w/vf34 SubWRX2002 Engine Management & Tuning 13 05-10-2005 09:14 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.