Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Pre-2002 Factory Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2011, 02:49 PM   #1
Marcos Peguero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 114653
Join Date: May 2006
Default 96 STI type RA

I have a 96 Sti type Ra.

I whant to know if its OBD1 or 2, to know if I can reprogram the ECU.

Thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Marcos Peguero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 04:09 PM   #2
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

neither and no you cannot

it will do ssm but the obd-1 is incomplete
even the modern jdms don't pass obd-2 ready checks
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 07:16 PM   #3
69subaru360
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 159682
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Maine
Vehicle:
1995 WRX
1998 2.5 RS

Default

You can chip the ECU but can't flash it.
69subaru360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 04:44 AM   #4
Marnix
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51480
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: International
Location: The Netherlands
Vehicle:
1984 AM5, 1994 BC4,
2010 BR5

Default

Yes search for Rob's 550 tune
Marnix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 05:38 PM   #5
sizzflair
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 94268
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Nolanville, TX
Vehicle:
1995 JDM STi RA ver2
2010 Exige S240

Default

I'm running a hydra.
sizzflair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 09:39 PM   #6
CanSTi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 182226
Join Date: Jun 2008
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Kelowna
Vehicle:
1996 STi RA
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marnix View Post
Yes search for Rob's 550 tune
I have a 96' STi RA as well and was under the impression that Rob's tune will not work on the EJ20K that comes in these cars. Someone correct me if im worng.
CanSTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 04:48 AM   #7
NICO TURBINE
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15445
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: North Pole Igloo
Vehicle:
1986 Leone STi EJ22T
JDM White

Default

last picture in the tread if you have a four plug !! scrap your oem ecu ! http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...light=autronic
NICO TURBINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 06:46 AM   #8
Millhouse_5
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 269208
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Nova Scotia
Vehicle:
95 JDM STI RA
08 2.5i Sedan

Default

Not to jack, but does all this mean that my 95 has the same ECU and therefore cannot be tuned?
Millhouse_5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 03:25 PM   #9
elislider
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 133923
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, OR
Vehicle:
03 Legacy GT wagon
I love goooollllllllddddd

Default

all v1-2 Impreza EJ20G (with individual coilpacks and angle-entry turbo) will have the 4-plug ECU and will qualify for a "Rob tune". The EJ20K is v3-4 and has 1 coilpack and straight-entry turbo
elislider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 09:34 PM   #10
sneaky
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 200316
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Oly, Wa
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Millhouse_5 View Post
Not to jack, but does all this mean that my 95 has the same ECU and therefore cannot be tuned?
Quote:
Originally Posted by elislider View Post
all v1-2 Impreza EJ20G (with individual coilpacks and angle-entry turbo) will have the 4-plug ECU and will qualify for a "Rob tune". The EJ20K is v3-4 and has 1 coilpack and straight-entry turbo
Millhouse you have a V1-2.
sneaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sti Type RA gearset vs. JDM Sti Type Ra gearset russtafari Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 4 08-22-2008 11:04 PM
Help with understeer Sti type RA 96 Marcos Peguero Brakes, Steering & Suspension 9 07-02-2006 07:57 PM
FMIC in my sti type RA 96 Marcos Peguero Pre-2002 Factory Turbo Powertrain 25 05-30-2006 07:16 AM
NEED!!! STi Type RA or STi gearbox ASAP! RS22b Tri-State Area Forum 10 06-10-2003 04:25 PM
What about the STi Type RA (or Type C?)? akuhner STi Forum Archive 12 01-06-2003 11:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.