Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday July 28, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2014, 01:10 PM   #1
02nismokiller
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 322963
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: upstate NY
Vehicle:
04 wrx
psm

Default Speed density installing iat sensor

Alright guys I'm going speed density and have the AEM map sensor and AEM iat sensor, I made a harness for my map sensor so it's plug and play. What I'm worried/over thinking is the iat sensor. I'm going maf-less and I know I gotta solder the iat sensor to the current iat wiring in the maf plug. But what I'm worried about is how do you guys go about with installing it. Sti Mikey is making the trip next weekend to south FL and Ima drive over 2hrs to have him tune it. But how is the best route to install/wire in the iat sensor? I can't install it now cause ima have to remove the maf sensor and I know my car won't run without the maf. Or do I bring my soldering gun, heat shrink and wire it when I get down there for the tune? Or have you guys gone a different route?

Thanks in advance
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
02nismokiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 03:19 PM   #2
Honest Bob
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 94698
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton, PA
Vehicle:
2005 30R Wagon
CGM

Default

Do what this guy did.

http://www.iwsti.com/forums/cobb-acc...rt-finish.html

Follow it closely and read it more than once. It allows you to retain the factory maf connector in case you want to switch back for whatever reason.
Honest Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 03:28 PM   #3
md2regul8
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 371029
Join Date: Oct 2013
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Lake Stevens Washington
Vehicle:
2011 STI Hatch Black
Inj,Tbe,Intake: DomTuned

Default

are you front or top mount, also just get ready for it with the quick connects
md2regul8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 03:41 PM   #4
02nismokiller
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 322963
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: upstate NY
Vehicle:
04 wrx
psm

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by md2regul8 View Post
are you front or top mount, also just get ready for it with the quick connects
What quick connects? Yes I'm front mount with a built stroker motor with a rotated holset turbo
02nismokiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 04:10 PM   #5
md2regul8
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 371029
Join Date: Oct 2013
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Lake Stevens Washington
Vehicle:
2011 STI Hatch Black
Inj,Tbe,Intake: DomTuned

Default

Follow the information in the above link will be your best bet, make sure you have the sensor install in your FMIC piping should be as close to the TB as possible. as for the map. How are you planning on running it for a two hour, or has this already been tuned your just going to switch to SD
md2regul8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 06:21 PM   #6
02nismokiller
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 322963
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: upstate NY
Vehicle:
04 wrx
psm

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by md2regul8 View Post
Follow the information in the above link will be your best bet, make sure you have the sensor install in your FMIC piping should be as close to the TB as possible. as for the map. How are you planning on running it for a two hour, or has this already been tuned your just going to switch to SD
No I made a plug and play harness for the map sensor, I'm not worried about the map sensor. What I'm trying to figure out is what is the best approach to the iat sensor. I already have it welded about 2" from the throttle body, the sensor is already in the piping, it's just not connected yet lol
02nismokiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 12:54 PM   #7
blubug_768
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 324962
Join Date: Jul 2012
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Morgan Hill CA.
Vehicle:
02 WRX

Default

I think your making too big of a deal out of this, you can put the iat in and drive it to get a tune or you can put in some plugs in the oem iat and drive to get tuned on the oem iat sensor the when you get there simply unplug the oem an plug in the aem. If your putting on a different intake without a place for a maf then get all the wiring ready and bring the new intake with you an switch it out when you get there. With the maf unplugged on the stock rom it will run, but I wouldn't recommend making a long trip like that.
Maybe I'm miss-understanding the problem though.
blubug_768 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 09:49 AM   #8
02nismokiller
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 322963
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: upstate NY
Vehicle:
04 wrx
psm

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blubug_768 View Post
I think your making too big of a deal out of this, you can put the iat in and drive it to get a tune or you can put in some plugs in the oem iat and drive to get tuned on the oem iat sensor the when you get there simply unplug the oem an plug in the aem. If your putting on a different intake without a place for a maf then get all the wiring ready and bring the new intake with you an switch it out when you get there. With the maf unplugged on the stock rom it will run, but I wouldn't recommend making a long trip like that.
Maybe I'm miss-understanding the problem though.
What kind of plugs can I put in the oem iat so that I can plug my aem iat sensor into it? Any pics or links to said plugs?
02nismokiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 01:44 PM   #9
blubug_768
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 324962
Join Date: Jul 2012
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Morgan Hill CA.
Vehicle:
02 WRX

Default

Really just any connector will work. Put a male end going to the ecu, then a female end on the wires going to the maf and to the aem sensor.
blubug_768 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 05:36 PM   #10
02nismokiller
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 322963
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: upstate NY
Vehicle:
04 wrx
psm

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blubug_768 View Post
Really just any connector will work. Put a male end going to the ecu, then a female end on the wires going to the maf and to the aem sensor.
So basically splice into the iat on maf? So that when I arrive to Miami all I gotta do is plug them together?
02nismokiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 02:46 AM   #11
blubug_768
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 324962
Join Date: Jul 2012
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Morgan Hill CA.
Vehicle:
02 WRX

Default

Correct, have the iat on the maf plugged in and then when you get there plug in your aem for your toon.
blubug_768 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 12:37 PM   #12
02nismokiller
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 322963
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: upstate NY
Vehicle:
04 wrx
psm

Default

Ok now I'm at a stump. I've tried researching and came up with different results. Which two wires are the iat on the maf plug? I read two differnt answers, one said the far right 2 wires, and then another thread said the far left 2 wires. Which one is correct?

Thank you and sorry for the questions
02nismokiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 01:35 PM   #13
md2regul8
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 371029
Join Date: Oct 2013
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Lake Stevens Washington
Vehicle:
2011 STI Hatch Black
Inj,Tbe,Intake: DomTuned

Default

Read the speed density tuning guide from Cobb it will help you

There are three wires for the MAF I believe and two for the IAT on the 04 the Brown Green/red are the IAT wires
md2regul8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 09:19 PM   #14
02nismokiller
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 322963
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: upstate NY
Vehicle:
04 wrx
psm

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by md2regul8 View Post
Read the speed density tuning guide from Cobb it will help you

There are three wires for the MAF I believe and two for the IAT on the 04 the Brown Green/red are the IAT wires
Your right! I just read the speed density guide and the brown and green/red wires are for the iat thanks again bro!
02nismokiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.