Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 29, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2011, 12:51 AM   #1
dukeduster
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95789
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lovington nm
Vehicle:
2002 WRX PTE
6262, hydra, 1100 FIC

Default Accessport v2 limitations?

pretty simple question. Is it possible for a user to tune their car with the Accessport with VERY heavy mods. IE:1100cc injectors, big rotated turbo? Or would it have to be taken to a cobb tuner?

Basically is the software available to the end user to modify Injector scaling, fuel maps, timing maps, etc?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
dukeduster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 12-09-2011, 01:38 AM   #2
Strider327
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 131280
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Northern California Hayward
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX
WRB

Default

Yes, Street Tuner.
Strider327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 02:30 AM   #3
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
1994 5.8T Cobra
565rwhp @ 10psi

Default

Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 08:40 AM   #4
dukeduster
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95789
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lovington nm
Vehicle:
2002 WRX PTE
6262, hydra, 1100 FIC

Default

Already downloaded software but won't install unless I connect an accessport which i don't own yet.
dukeduster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 10:28 AM   #5
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dukeduster View Post
pretty simple question. Is it possible for a user to tune their car with the Accessport with VERY heavy mods. IE:1100cc injectors, big rotated turbo? Or would it have to be taken to a cobb tuner?

Basically is the software available to the end user to modify Injector scaling, fuel maps, timing maps, etc?
The AccessTUNER Race software gives you the same powerful functionality as the AccessTUNER Pro software used by protuners. The only difference is that you can only use the Race software to tune one vehicle (i.e. yours) and you cannot "lock" your map (i.e. prevent others from opening it).

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 05:06 PM   #6
dukeduster
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95789
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lovington nm
Vehicle:
2002 WRX PTE
6262, hydra, 1100 FIC

Default

I would like to play with the software a bit to get used to it but cannot since it asks for my accessport to be plugged in when installing software. Its either this or $2k on a hydra!
dukeduster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 05:30 PM   #7
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
1994 5.8T Cobra
565rwhp @ 10psi

Default

just spend the money and buy the AP.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 05:33 PM   #8
dukeduster
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95789
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lovington nm
Vehicle:
2002 WRX PTE
6262, hydra, 1100 FIC

Default

why would I want to spend $600 on something that I may not like to tune with? I really just wanna look at the tuning interface and logging capabilities with a wideband!
dukeduster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 06:56 PM   #9
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dukeduster View Post
why would I want to spend $600 on something that I may not like to tune with? I really just wanna look at the tuning interface and logging capabilities with a wideband!
Unfortunately, we do not have a demo mode for the software. But, if you purchase the AccessPORT directly from us, we do have a 30-day satisfaction guarantee. Details here:
http://www.cobbtuning.com/info/?id=2207

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 07:02 PM   #10
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
1994 5.8T Cobra
565rwhp @ 10psi

Default

I like the ATR software. At first I was cursing Cobb for not being able to datalog my wideband through my AP. But then I found out that it was as simple as wiring my widebands 0-5v output to a USB cable, and then running it straight to my netbook. It's really good software, I just wish that Cobb added in a "description" section to the interface so people will have some idea of what the values are for.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 07:10 PM   #11
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black94Snake View Post
I like the ATR software. At first I was cursing Cobb for not being able to datalog my wideband through my AP. But then I found out that it was as simple as wiring my widebands 0-5v output to a USB cable, and then running it straight to my netbook. It's really good software, I just wish that Cobb added in a "description" section to the interface so people will have some idea of what the values are for.
If you have a more recent version of the software, you can hit F1 and it will give you a pdf listing every table and monitor with a description. We can also answer any specific questions you have. We also have a tuning guide and worksheet which can be found here:
http://www.cobbforums.com/forums/sho...et-for-Subarus

If you have an older version of the software, simply re-submit a request for the new software. The newer versions of software also have an auto-updater which means you won't have to submit requests for the software in the future.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 07:12 AM   #12
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
1994 5.8T Cobra
565rwhp @ 10psi

Default

The DAM link is broken... Seems like it has been for a few years.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 09:55 AM   #13
dukeduster
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95789
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lovington nm
Vehicle:
2002 WRX PTE
6262, hydra, 1100 FIC

Default

one other problem I have with using the AP is I am not gonna run the stock o2 sensor. I plan on using aftermarket wideband for st/lt trims and what not. cant do this on AP
dukeduster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 10:45 AM   #14
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black94Snake View Post
The DAM link is broken... Seems like it has been for a few years.
Sorry about that. Fixed it. Try it now.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 10:58 AM   #15
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dukeduster View Post
one other problem I have with using the AP is I am not gonna run the stock o2 sensor. I plan on using aftermarket wideband for st/lt trims and what not. cant do this on AP
If you are trying to run full-time closed loop, then, yes, you would need a standalone that supported it. That is not a limitation of the AP, but one of the factory ECU. But, it isn't necessary to run full-time closed loop. There are plenty of big build cars running the factory ECU. We also developing speed density tuning for the AccessTUNER software which will make it even more powerful.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 01:38 PM   #16
dukeduster
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95789
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lovington nm
Vehicle:
2002 WRX PTE
6262, hydra, 1100 FIC

News

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobb Tuning View Post
If you are trying to run full-time closed loop, then, yes, you would need a standalone that supported it. That is not a limitation of the AP, but one of the factory ECU. But, it isn't necessary to run full-time closed loop. There are plenty of big build cars running the factory ECU. We also developing speed density tuning for the AccessTUNER software which will make it even more powerful.

Bill
Not disagreeing with you on it being a limitation of the AP. True the factory ecu isnt capable and the AP is just a "tool" to modify settings within the ECU. My issue is that my factory o2 sensor crapped out and they are expensive to buy also I dont have a extra o2 bung on my DP.if I go ahead and spend the money on a new o2 sensor and also getting a bung welded on then buy AP to tune and I dont like it then I would have already spent money towards a standalone. DON'T get me wrong I think the AP is a great tool and I am going to buy one for my wifes 2008 legacy GT and will be doing custom maps for it. I just don't think it would be the best option for me and my car. Please feel free to prove me wrong cause if I can get away with spending 1k for a fully tuneable ecu that I like then I would be very happy!
dukeduster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 03:14 PM   #17
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
1994 5.8T Cobra
565rwhp @ 10psi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dukeduster View Post
Not disagreeing with you on it being a limitation of the AP. True the factory ecu isnt capable and the AP is just a "tool" to modify settings within the ECU. My issue is that my factory o2 sensor crapped out and they are expensive to buy also I dont have a extra o2 bung on my DP.if I go ahead and spend the money on a new o2 sensor and also getting a bung welded on then buy AP to tune and I dont like it then I would have already spent money towards a standalone. DON'T get me wrong I think the AP is a great tool and I am going to buy one for my wifes 2008 legacy GT and will be doing custom maps for it. I just don't think it would be the best option for me and my car. Please feel free to prove me wrong cause if I can get away with spending 1k for a fully tuneable ecu that I like then I would be very happy!
IMHO these are pretty lame excuses. I run an AEM WBO2 in my car. The unit came with a bung to weld into the exhaust. I drilled the hole in my DP and brought the whole DP to a local Midas. $20 I had a WBO2 bung in my DP. Realistically, what am I out? $20? I use my WBO2 as a daily use gauge. Right next to my Boost Gauge. Both of my cars have one.

You may not be able to use it to set your trims in the stock ECM, but it does a damn good job on its own with the stock sensors. Then if you download the ATR software that Cobb offers, you can run an output to your laptop, the same way the laptop plugs into your OBD2 port.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 10:55 PM   #18
dukeduster
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95789
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lovington nm
Vehicle:
2002 WRX PTE
6262, hydra, 1100 FIC

Default

Blacksnake I want to completely eliminate the stock o2 and run the aftermarket wideband for everything. Also I really like all the options hydra has like intergrating the wb right into the ecu instead of using it with a serial to usb cable. Another thing i like is the resolution of the maps and also Phil at element said he would throw me in a map that would require almost no tuning. That right there to me is a big deal. I also like the autotune feature that it does. Oh and also The onboard map sensor is a very big deal to me.
dukeduster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 10:55 AM   #19
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dukeduster View Post
Blacksnake I want to completely eliminate the stock o2 and run the aftermarket wideband for everything. Also I really like all the options hydra has like intergrating the wb right into the ecu instead of using it with a serial to usb cable. Another thing i like is the resolution of the maps and also Phil at element said he would throw me in a map that would require almost no tuning. That right there to me is a big deal. I also like the autotune feature that it does. Oh and also The onboard map sensor is a very big deal to me.
It sounds like you have a desire for those particular features offered by the standalone, but, I can tell you that none of those are necessary to tune the type of build that you are planning to do. The factory ECU is more than capable. Regardless, before you make a decision, I would review posts and talk to people that have used each solution. There are pros and cons to everything and I would try to get your info from unbiased sources (i.e. those that are not tryiing to sell you the product and have no vested interest either way).

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS : SD: Accessport V2 2.5L WRX trpotts Engine/Power/Exhaust 9 12-13-2011 09:10 PM
FS : 06 wrx cobb accessport v2 & catless cobb dp jsubi22 Engine/Power/Exhaust 3 12-10-2011 01:21 PM
FS: Cobb AccessPort V2 AP V2 Bpipp Engine/Power/Exhaust 2 04-15-2010 03:21 AM
Feeler: SoCal Accessport V2, VF39, Invidia V2 Downpipe jose1980 Engine/Power/Exhaust 12 04-12-2008 01:17 AM
STI V2 Limited Front Spoiler question Scoobie Newbie Interior & Exterior Modification 3 07-25-2002 04:15 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.