Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday September 15, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Alaskan Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Alaskan Impreza Club Forum -- AKIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2011, 11:38 PM   #1
AK_Ford
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 257415
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2007 Sti

Default Bigger turbo draw-thru guys, how big is your maf housing?

I'm getting ready to put a ATP gt35r on my car, and the last thing I need to figure out is the maf. I was gonna do blow-thru, but after reading all the horror stories, I figured I'd better get all the new stuff tuned first before I start playing with that potential headache.
It's still a stock location turbo, so it won't have the flow of a true 35r with a 3" inlet and .60 a/r compressor housing, but it still should be up there.
I'd like to keep it around 3", since the filter and inlet tube are both 3, but I don't want it to be a major choking point either.

Thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
AK_Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 11:48 PM   #2
Carter
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156708
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Palmer, AK
Vehicle:
2004 Mini Cooper S
Invader 125 Shifter Kart

Default

Why all the hassle versus going rotato?
Carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 12:00 AM   #3
AK_Ford
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 257415
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2007 Sti

Default

No hassle at all. Got the turbo and 3" inlet for under $700, already have a ewg on the car. Bolt it on and go. I got the final puzzle pieces in the mail today for nicks rwd spool, if I'm not happy with how it does in the stock location on the dyno, I'll spend $450 on housings and use the chra out of this turbo to make a true 35r.
AK_Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 12:21 AM   #4
seascooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 133535
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: status racing
Vehicle:
06 limited - mine
ww evo 8 - hers

Default

if you're dealing with nick (if i recall correctly) he runs a blow through set up on his sti. they're a good set up but it just takes tuning and time. if you are gonna keep your maf step up to big maf. a bunch of evo guys run blow through set ups and don't have issues either way the tune will probably take some time not just a quick parking lot flash
seascooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 12:30 AM   #5
amalgrover
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 183480
Join Date: Jun 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Valdosta, GA
Vehicle:
2011 Audi A3 Quattro
2009 Forester XT

Default

going GT35 sized you are going to want something in the 80+mm range or you will probably run out of voltage...check out KSTech or something similar to theirs. i have tuned quite a few cars on the KSTech MEGA MAF 83mm setup, including my own FPRed setup, and it does the trick pretty well. as long as the person tuning it is fairly decent at scaling the maf table, it shouldn't really take too long to dial it in at all...usually only a few revisions is all it takes to get the scaling pretty darn perfect.
amalgrover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 12:55 AM   #6
retrac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 217208
Join Date: Jul 2009
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Alaska
Vehicle:
996 Porsche 911
Seal Gray

Default

KSTech 73mm here. Maxing it out in the summer at 28 psi.
retrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 01:16 AM   #7
AK_Ford
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 257415
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2007 Sti

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seascooby View Post
if you're dealing with nick (if i recall correctly) he runs a blow through set up on his sti. they're a good set up but it just takes tuning and time. if you are gonna keep your maf step up to big maf. a bunch of evo guys run blow through set ups and don't have issues either way the tune will probably take some time not just a quick parking lot flash
He has the 83mm kstech, It works great on his car. He'll be tuning the car while I'm out of town, which is why Im a little weary of doing blow through right off the bat. If something needs to be moved, adjusted, redone, whatever, I won't be around to take care of it and it'll be in his way for two weeks. Id rather he get the new turbo, injectors, and map sensor all squared away before i throw another variable into the mix. He's way too slammed right now to waste time messing around with something stupid on my setup.
AK_Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 02:49 AM   #8
retrac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 217208
Join Date: Jul 2009
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Alaska
Vehicle:
996 Porsche 911
Seal Gray

Default

Or... I'm talking with the OpenSource group to get Speed Density ported into the 07 STI rom to get rid of the MAF. It's not going to be overnight, but I'm following it closely.
retrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 07:33 PM   #9
P3Auto
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 241881
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: 907-355-6655 text or phone
Vehicle:
2014 P3 Import Auto
AWD Dyno, Mods, etc

Default

Might as well pony up for a stand alone ECU that supports SD and more. They are getting much cheaper. Even the 05 STI OS SP tune is full of issues and has poor stability.

The other option is COBB. They now support SD tuning on the stock ECU.

A note on large MAF tubes is that you will loose a lot of resolution. Sometimes you can run into idle issues, surging during cruise and light throttle. All can be tuned out especially if you eliminate the use closed loop.

Sounds like a fun project!
P3Auto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 07:53 PM   #10
retrac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 217208
Join Date: Jul 2009
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Alaska
Vehicle:
996 Porsche 911
Seal Gray

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P3Auto View Post
Even the 05 STI OS SP tune is full of issues and has poor stability.
That's already been worked out with the latest revisions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by P3Auto View Post
The other option is COBB. They now support SD tuning on the stock ECU.
Nope! They STILL haven't released it except a close knit group of Alpha testers, and even then, they haven't committed to making it available to anyone outside of AccessTuner PRO.
retrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 08:00 PM   #11
Alaskan EJ20
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 160040
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchortown
Vehicle:
2002 Bugi / 1993 L
Symmetry Tuning

Default

mine is kinda a unique hack job but thats because of my 16 bit ecu and 300 g/sec maf sensor, but im using a perrin big maf
Alaskan EJ20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 07:18 AM   #12
amalgrover
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 183480
Join Date: Jun 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Valdosta, GA
Vehicle:
2011 Audi A3 Quattro
2009 Forester XT

Default

<-- 16bit ecu, 300g/sec maf limit, 83mm MAF pipe, 1250cc injectors, and ZERO idle and low throttle issues...also, the Carbibbles SD ROM over on the romraider forums is actually a pretty good SD setup.

Last edited by amalgrover; 12-15-2011 at 09:52 AM.
amalgrover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 11:16 AM   #13
akeric
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 122954
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2006 Evo IX
My car is black not

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by retrac View Post
Or... I'm talking with the OpenSource group to get Speed Density ported into the 07 STI rom to get rid of the MAF. It's not going to be overnight, but I'm following it closely.

This.... SD makes life much easier, just be sure you can tweak it a bit for winter/summer sometimes the tune gets skewed a bit, of course if you tune it in summer and don't try mashing the balls off it (like you could with a gt35) in the winter then you would probably be just fine.
akeric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 11:23 AM   #14
retrac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 217208
Join Date: Jul 2009
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Alaska
Vehicle:
996 Porsche 911
Seal Gray

Default

Yep! That's the goal. I'm expecting to have a test ROM this week to validate the code.

Looks like both the 16bit and 32bit Subaru ECUs are heading down the Tephra-mod route pretty quickly right now as well with additional features.
retrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 08:02 PM   #15
P3Auto
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 241881
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: 907-355-6655 text or phone
Vehicle:
2014 P3 Import Auto
AWD Dyno, Mods, etc

Default

As with anything else in test status unless you are prepared to monitor and tweak the tune as you go playing with the OS SD tunes could be a costly mistake. This means unless you have your tuner person in your back pocket or your savvy enough,have the tools, and the understanding then caution should be taken with these tunes.
P3Auto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How big is your blow-through MAF housing? NSFW Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 9 12-25-2009 12:10 AM
How important is your MAF sensor? Answer inside 2gnt2wrx Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 3 08-20-2008 09:53 AM
*how big is yours?* Here is my PC. Wheels Off-Topic 52 11-18-2005 01:07 PM
How big is your house, apartment, cardboard box, dorm room? wyn525i Off-Topic 36 11-22-2004 12:40 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.