Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday May 23, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2011, 06:29 AM   #1
soslow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95027
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Vehicle:
'13 BRZed
pretend racecar

Default Computer/Virus Question. Windows content inside.

Instead of making a new thread I'm bumping an old one:

I'm running windows now as my primary OS for a variety of reasons. I have it set on a power saver program that has the computer hibernate after 45 minutes of no activity/input. This has worked great up until yesterday.

Yesterday I switched the power strip on my PC with another in the house. The powerstrip I swapped the PC onto has two always on outlets and the rest of the outlets are controlled by one outlets, if that one outlet is drawing power then the other outlets receive power.

It's currently set like this: Tower plugged into always on, Left monitor plugged into the control outlet, printer, speakers and left monitor slaved so that they have power cut when the right monitor goes into sleep mode or is powered off.

Previous to the power strip swap the power program turned the monitors off after 20 minutes, then 25 minutes after that the computer when into sleep/hibernate mode.

Now the monitors power down as they should after 20 minutes of inactivity. Once this happens power to the larger left monitor is cut. HOWEVER now the computer never goes into sleep/hibernate mode 25 minutes later

Solutions? I can't really swap strips



OLD:
I looked thru the Virus thread and then saw the first post hasn't been updated since 2010 .

So here's my situation.

Over the weekend I redid both my laptop (was linux only) and my desktop (dualboot) with fresh 100GB installs of Ubuntu 10.10 32-bit and the remainder (the majority of the hard drive space) given to Windows 7 Pro 64-bit.

This is not another thread about *nix vs. the world.

I need AutoCad for school and thanks to ****ty (nonexistent) OpenGL support on ATi Cards Minecraft didn't work in Ubuntu on the laptop (works peachy in windows on the laptop now ) wasting time is important. Anyway for the last year and a half I've used Linux for pretty much everything web related so I never worried about getting viruses. I will still be doing my random ****s and giggles web browsing in Linux for the most part but I do need to be able to go online on the windows sides of both of my machines without worrying and I have NO idea what I should be running to help avoid viruses/trojans/malware. School me on windows security.

Currently I run two accounts on the Windows Sides (identical setups for the laptop and desktop) a fully privileged ADMIN account and then a limited user account. Unless I'm doing administrative stuff like installing software (example, last night I had to go online to download/install AutoCad) I do everything on the user account to help avoid viruses. My thinking here is that If I'm not running with admin privileges at all times it will reduce my likelihood of getting infected?

I also am running Google's Chrome web browser across all 6 user accounts/workspaces. I'm not going to give this up since I can sync everything between all of the different boots/accounts and everything stays consistent and it's faster to boot. I've grown to dislike FireFox almost as much as IE.

So outside of running on a user account and not running IE what Should I install to stay virus free? I need whatever virus/anti-malware protection I run to be a) freeware/shareware and b) not bog down the computer so bad that I'd rather just have a virus.


C/N: Soslow needs virus/anti-malware protection for windows 7 needs to be free and not bog down the computer.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by soslow; 12-31-2012 at 07:49 PM.
soslow is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 09-12-2011, 06:37 AM   #2
White_Rex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 39891
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Scotland
Vehicle:
2009 Volvo C30
2.0 Diesel R-Design

Default

Microsoft Security Essentials. It is pretty damn good and it is free. This is what I use. Most virus proctection programs have some form of malware protection, but you can use anything like Spybot for that. Malware is only an issue if you tend to download pirated material.
White_Rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 06:45 AM   #3
JjSwee
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 75880
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: California
Default

^^^ That is what I use now. It works nicely with Windows, and doesn't bother you to update every year like my past protection, Avast, did.
JjSwee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 07:01 AM   #4
teamjordan23
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 105025
Join Date: Jan 2006
Vehicle:
The Widowmaker

Default

MSE with Comodo Firewall.
teamjordan23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 07:43 AM   #5
Davemeister
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86577
Join Date: May 2005
Location: D1cKSh0Tz [ON] OFF
Vehicle:
2016 Supercoolmobile
Awesome Pearl Metallic

Default

Get VMWare and install Linux in a VM, use that to surf anywhere and don't worry about it.

I hate my laptop because all of the utilities require you to be an administrator, so if you want to use the hotkeys to enable/disable the wireless, etc. then you need to be logged in as an Administrator. ****ing Asus, a bunch of amateurs.
Davemeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 07:56 AM   #6
BhamRoadrunner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87294
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Wanna fight ab'at it?
Vehicle:
98 Silver
POS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soslow View Post
Computer/Virus Question. Windows content inside.
Ya don't say.
BhamRoadrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 07:59 AM   #7
markman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93623
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cleftal Horizon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soslow View Post
I looked thru the Virus thread and then saw the first post hasn't been updated since 2010 .
The first post is still valid. Get the 3 apps listed at the top of it. Immunet, MSE & WOT combine for a nice defense.
markman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 08:58 AM   #8
CalcVictim
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57056
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, MA
Vehicle:
2006 Miata
Copper Red

Default

OP, +1 on MSE


Quote:
Originally Posted by BhamRoadrunner View Post
Ya don't say.
stupid douchebag, why do you have to start this?
CalcVictim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 09:03 AM   #9
bakadayo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 41230
Join Date: Aug 2003
Default

I believe there's an adblock extension for Chrome as well? Install that as well. Other than that, so long as you are smart with your surfing you'll be ok. I haven't had anti-virus software on my machines for years and haven't needed 'em either. It's my brothers' kids that play all these ****ty games that are chock full of nasty **** that pisses me off as I end up being the fix-it-up guy.
bakadayo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 09:33 AM   #10
Manarius
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 106258
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Grantham, PA; Near Harrisburg
Vehicle:
2005 Subaru Outback

Default

You can install every kind of security software you want, but bad browsing/file management habits will get you a virus.

That being said though, MSE and Chrome/Ad-Block will get you a long way.

Point of reference: I've been using a computers for 15 years and have never infected my computer with any sort of virus.
Manarius is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 09:52 AM   #11
markman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93623
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cleftal Horizon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manarius
You can install every kind of security software you want, but bad browsing/file management habits will get you a virus.

That being said though, MSE and Chrome/Ad-Block will get you a long way.

Point of reference: I've been using a computers for 15 years and have never infected my computer with any sort of virus.
This.

Common sense > all

If you don't have common sense, download Bufferzone. It can be a pain in the ass with some plugins but at least it'll keep you safe.
markman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 10:00 AM   #12
aod
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 7121
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: \_(ツ)LF!
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White_Rex View Post
Microsoft Security Essentials. It is pretty damn good and it is free. This is what I use. Most virus proctection programs have some form of malware protection, but you can use anything like Spybot for that. Malware is only an issue if you tend to download pirated material.
I used to think having Microsoft handle your security was like having the IRS do your taxes, but I am using MSE on my one computer that is running Windows 7 and I have to say it seems to have good protection and it isn't a resource hog. I'm not sure who Microsoft acquired for that software, but it was a good purchase on their part.
aod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 10:02 AM   #13
KOJAK-02-WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 208052
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Southern Indiana
Vehicle:
2004 SGM FXT-6speed
*SOLD* 02 PSM WRX

Default

I use AVG which is free on filehippo.com , it's where the guys in our IT department told me to get it.
KOJAK-02-WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 10:06 AM   #14
Calamity Jesus
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 44501
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: in a minefield of caddishness.
Vehicle:
1984 That's *Sir*
Weinerlicks of Douche 2u.

Default

+1 to MSE. It's lightweight and very effective. Most other cleanup can be handled by MalwareBytes and not being a moron (so you're covered there).

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcVictim View Post
stupid douchebag, why do you have to start this?
Err.. he's pointing out facts. Something like 98% of all viruses are written for Microsoft operating systems.

Also 97% of the computer-using population can't handle maintaining Linux for a desktop and another 1% don't have time.

Lastly, 98% of Mac buyers spend $$$$ only to check their webmail and Facebook.


I think we've about covered it.
Calamity Jesus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 10:28 AM   #15
Davemeister
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86577
Join Date: May 2005
Location: D1cKSh0Tz [ON] OFF
Vehicle:
2016 Supercoolmobile
Awesome Pearl Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calamity Jesus View Post
I think we've about covered it.
Come on, we didn't even do the smelly neckbeard part yet.
Davemeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 10:32 AM   #16
IggDawg
Celebrity Guest Star
 
Member#: 10648
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Sort of Boston, MA
Vehicle:
2002 Escort... D:
Mostly kind of white

Default

protip: "don't even mouse over ads on any site ever".
IggDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 10:44 AM   #17
Davemeister
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86577
Join Date: May 2005
Location: D1cKSh0Tz [ON] OFF
Vehicle:
2016 Supercoolmobile
Awesome Pearl Metallic

Default

Noscript is very helpful.
Davemeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 11:02 AM   #18
aod
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 7121
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: \_(ツ)LF!
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davemeister View Post
Come on, we didn't even do the smelly neckbeard part yet.
aod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 11:13 AM   #19
soslow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95027
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Vehicle:
'13 BRZed
pretend racecar

Default

Thanks guys. I do know how to be smart online and if I ever want to go chasing rabbits on the interwebs I'll be doing it on Ubuntu. Like I said this isn't an OS arguement thread, there is software I need for school that I need windows for.

Edit: I installed MSE

Last edited by soslow; 09-12-2011 at 11:19 AM.
soslow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 11:17 AM   #20
Calebz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 54398
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Souf Central France
Vehicle:
1980 CB400 Hawk
1996 GrandCherokeeLimited

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White_Rex View Post
Malware is only an issue if you tend to download pirated material.

Calebz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 11:24 AM   #21
Davemeister
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86577
Join Date: May 2005
Location: D1cKSh0Tz [ON] OFF
Vehicle:
2016 Supercoolmobile
Awesome Pearl Metallic

Default

Or porn. Or you surf the internet. If you don't connect to a network, you probably don't need to worry about it.
Davemeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 07:48 PM   #22
soslow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95027
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Vehicle:
'13 BRZed
pretend racecar

Default

Instead of making a new thread I'm bumping an old one:

I'm running windows now as my primary OS for a variety of reasons. I have it set on a power saver program that has the computer hibernate after 45 minutes of no activity/input. This has worked great up until yesterday.

Yesterday I switched the power strip on my PC with another in the house. The powerstrip I swapped the PC onto has two always on outlets and the rest of the outlets are controlled by one outlets, if that one outlet is drawing power then the other outlets receive power.

It's currently set like this: Tower plugged into always on, Left monitor plugged into the control outlet, printer, speakers and left monitor slaved so that they have power cut when the right monitor goes into sleep mode or is powered off.

Previous to the power strip swap the power program turned the monitors off after 20 minutes, then 25 minutes after that the computer when into sleep/hibernate mode.

Now the monitors power down as they should after 20 minutes of inactivity. Once this happens power to the larger left monitor is cut. HOWEVER now the computer never goes into sleep/hibernate mode 25 minutes later

Solutions? I can't really swap strips
soslow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 07:58 PM   #23
Pohenegamook
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 134262
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Nibiru
Vehicle:
9 조 ☼
Compiling Android: Zagnut

Default

The powerstrip should be irrelevant

Do you have your Power Options set to hibernate after 25 mins? (I think its (Control Panel -> Power Options -> Advanced -> Sleep -> hibernate after x minutes)

Are you running other programs that might be blocking hibernation and/or preventing inactivity e.g. if you have Antivirus or Updates running after 40 mins of inactivity then try to hibernate at 45 mins the PC will of course not be inactive.

EDIT: nothing else changed? Did you install / change any settings at all? DON'T LIE!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by soslow View Post
Solutions? I can't really swap strips
You seriously can't scrape up $7 for a new power strip to eliminate a variable?

Last edited by Pohenegamook; 12-31-2012 at 08:15 PM. Reason: hodar
Pohenegamook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:02 PM   #24
HighWayDrifter
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8908
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: state of oblivion
Vehicle:
2012 Ford Raptor

Default

reinstall linux
HighWayDrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:16 PM   #25
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK buy Nates beans
westcoastroasting.com

Default

format c: /u
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT computer geeks - Windows Media Center question oilybirdy Off-Topic 3 07-09-2006 01:20 PM
Computer question... Windows Install Sephro Off-Topic 10 12-27-2005 11:07 AM
computer viruses can now affect Lexus autos, transmitted via a bluetooth plunk10 Off-Topic 74 01-26-2005 11:37 PM
Help with crazy computer virus PARAMEDIC Off-Topic 7 01-25-2005 08:17 AM
Computer virus interrogative: wrigh003 Off-Topic 1 10-26-2004 07:16 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.