Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday December 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2011, 03:23 PM   #1
05PandaSti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 303141
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Cobb ap over ecutek pro tune??

Currently on ecutek protune by top speed, but now have a Cobb ap I'm wanting to run. I've heard of ppl using the ap to flash over the ecutek. Just wondering if I will lose my protune map ? I'm sure I will but I've heard the ecutek doesn't get erased until I unmarry the ap. thanks in advance!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
05PandaSti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 03:32 PM   #2
05PandaSti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 303141
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default

anyone?
05PandaSti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 06:54 PM   #3
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

The AccessPORT should be able to install over your EcuTEK lock no problem. Yes, you will lose your existing EcuTEK tune -- though your ProTUNER can likely convert your previous EcuTEK tune to an AccessPORT tune for a nominal fee.

Thanks for your interest and best of luck!

Cheers

Lance
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 09:55 PM   #4
05PandaSti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 303141
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobb Tuning View Post
The AccessPORT should be able to install over your EcuTEK lock no problem. Yes, you will lose your existing EcuTEK tune -- though your ProTUNER can likely convert your previous EcuTEK tune to an AccessPORT tune for a nominal fee.

Thanks for your interest and best of luck!

Cheers

Lance

No way i could save the tune myself???
Thanks for the reply!
05PandaSti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 09:46 AM   #5
Vtwrx04
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 97147
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Vermont
Vehicle:
2012 wrx
gray

Default

I've got a similar situation. Does the tuner need to have Ecutek equipment to convert it to the Accessport tune? What needs to be done to do this?
Vtwrx04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 12:42 PM   #6
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Hi there,

There is no way to convert an Ecutek tune to a Cobb tune other than a tuner who has access to your Ecutek map, the Ecutek software, and the Cobb AccessTUNER software to manually copy the tuning values from the Ecutek tune to the new Cobb tune. You will have to check with your tuner to see if they have that capability and it this is something they would normally do.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 01:36 PM   #7
Vtwrx04
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 97147
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Vermont
Vehicle:
2012 wrx
gray

Default

OK, then it can only be done by the original Ecutek tuner, which in my case won't work as he no longer uses or support Ecutek. But I could just load a Cobb stage 2 over the Ecutek tune if I decide that's the route I want to go, correct?
Vtwrx04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 02:49 PM   #8
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vtwrx04 View Post
OK, then it can only be done by the original Ecutek tuner, which in my case won't work as he no longer uses or support Ecutek. But I could just load a Cobb stage 2 over the Ecutek tune if I decide that's the route I want to go, correct?
Yes, you certainly can as long as your mods are compatible with the stage 2 map in question. You can also get a new custom protune via the tuner that uses or tuning software.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 10:14 PM   #9
05PandaSti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 303141
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobb Tuning
Yes, you certainly can as long as your mods are compatible with the stage 2 map in question. You can also get a new custom protune via the tuner that uses or tuning software.

Bill
Wellll neither will work for me so I guess it's new tune time... ecutek sucks again!!

Thanks for all the help Cobb guys!!!
05PandaSti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cobb AP vs Ecutek C6turbo88 AccessPort 2 04-12-2007 07:22 PM
Cobb AP or Ecutek ? PyRoXanDer Engine Management & Tuning 0 03-22-2007 04:46 PM
Torn between Cobb AP or EcuTek`s Easy ECU SedonaRed03WrX Engine Management & Tuning 24 11-20-2006 03:39 AM
Cobb AP or Ecutek? (Atlanta) AGL_7882 South East Region Forum 23 02-08-2006 08:33 PM
AP over ECUTEK? (ECUTEK already installed) byroll01 Engine Management & Tuning 14 01-13-2006 02:00 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.