Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday November 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2012, 04:46 PM   #1
The Phenx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95823
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
2003 Imprezza Wrx
WRC BLUE

Default Prodrive Type UK Cluster Swap

This thread is to explore options related to this cluster.

We have a gentleman who already can do milage re-sets and convert Celsius to Farenheight.

Now we are exploring how to get the temp sensors to work if your car wasn't factory wired for them.

Take it away...
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
The Phenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 05:35 PM   #2
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

I'll add that I can.

The FSM list the temp sensor as connected between pin B8 and B11 on the cluster.

The cluster can be programed for current millage and also to switch the outside temp to display in F instead of C.

I have done this to one of these clusters and to a 02 wrx cluster.

To reprogram the chip (i'll try to add more detail and pic when I get my dccd version cluster)

You first have to disassemble the cluster
Find the EEPROM chip. Its a 8 pin chip marked CSI 93C56.
De solder the chip and place it into a programmer.
I use a SP200SE programmer. With WLPro v2.20 software.
Read the chip and save the current contents just in case it gets messed up.
Then determine what the new mileage would be and if you want C or F.
Edit the saved file and burn it to the chip.
Then re solder it back into the cluster, re assemble the cluster and test it.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 05:38 PM   #3
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

Here is the un modified contens of a prodrive non dccd cluster that I have in my car right now.

I saved this with WLPro v2.20 software in intel hex

:10000000FFFFFFFF5C025C025C020E110E11AA00F2
:100010000C00AA00331A0305886A52341022EA63DE
:100020000A14334B08100000314FAAFA55F5F000BE
:10003000000000000000FFFFBFE35CE35AEEB4E005
:10004000F2E113E2F8E61EE34CE2AEE221EFCEE18C
:1000500067EA8DE32FE7C8E297019603190D1403B1
:10006000E4061BF9E4061BF9E4061BF9E4061BF998
:10007000E4061BF9E4061BF9E4061BF9E4061CF987
:10008000553355335533FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFE2
:10009000FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF70
:1000A000FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF60
:1000B000FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF50
:1000C000FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF40
:1000D000FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF30
:1000E000FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF20
:1000F000FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF10
:00000001F

Last edited by AFBeefcake; 01-30-2012 at 06:57 PM.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 05:39 PM   #4
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

And the modified content.

I saved this with WLPro v2.20 software in intel hex

:10000000FFFFFFFF5C025C025C020E110E11AA00F2
:100010000C00AA00331A0305886A52341022EA63DE
:100020000A14334B08100000314FAAFA55F5F000BE
:10003000000000000000FFFFBFE35CE35AEEB4E005
:10004000F2E113E2F8E61EE34CE2AEE221EFCEE18C
:1000500067EA8DE32FE7C8E297019603190D1403B1
:10006000213BDEC4213BDEC4213BDEC4213BDEC498
:10007000213BDEC4213BDEC4213BDEC4213BDEC488
:10008000559955995599FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFB0
:10009000FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF70
:1000A000FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF60
:1000B000FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF50
:1000C000FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF40
:1000D000FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF30
:1000E000FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF20
:1000F000FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF10
:00000001FF

Last edited by AFBeefcake; 01-30-2012 at 06:57 PM.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 05:41 PM   #5
The Phenx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95823
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
2003 Imprezza Wrx
WRC BLUE

Default

Heh I ought to have you tell me how to make a backup copy of the Prodrive St III tune on my Ecu while we are at it.
The Phenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 05:49 PM   #6
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

line 10008000 controls the C or F on the out side temp display.

553355335533 is for C

559955995599 is for F

lines 10006000 and 1007000 are the mileage.


Its stored repeated 4 times in each of the two lines but ever set of bits is flipped.

Now I discovered that you can't edit these files or they get corrupted for some reason.

So, after I save a copy I edit the buffer in the programmer software.
Which displays the hex numbers a little differently, but it works out in you favor.

Last edited by AFBeefcake; 01-30-2012 at 06:58 PM.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 06:06 PM   #7
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

First off. What you do with this info is out of my control. If you mess up your cluster or use it to commit odometer fraud its not on me.



This may look like I mixed up some of the numbers, but its how the software displays the chip data when set to 16 bit.

Starting with the stock unmodded prodrive chip data this is how you change it to mach your old cluster's mileage, or get it closes. ( can't get it dead on some times)

Useing WLPro v2.20 software go to Edit then Edit Buffer and switch the data from 8 bit to 16 bit
and swtich addr from DEC to HEX

Line 1006000 and 1007000 are show as addresses 00000030 and 00000038 now.

It will look like this

00000030 06E4 F91B 06E4 F91B 06E4 F91B 06E4 F91B
00000038 06E4 F91B 06E4 F91B 06E4 F91B 06E4 F91B

So 06E4 F91B is the mileage part. Well sorta. The mileage is only the first 4 digits 06E4 and the F91B is the inverted checksum.

Last edited by AFBeefcake; 03-27-2012 at 12:25 PM.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 06:11 PM   #8
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

Each digital is a multiplier.

The first digit is a 65,536 multiplier.
The second digit is a 4,096 multiplier.
The third digit is a 256 multiplier.

The fourth digit is from this table.

0 = 15
1 = 95
2 = 223
3 = 143
4 = 159
5 = 207
6 = 79
7 = 31
8 = 191
9 = 239
A = 111
B = 63
C = 47
D = 127
E = 255
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 06:15 PM   #9
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

So 06E4 is

0 * 65536 + 6 * 4096 + (E in hex)15 * 256 + 159(from the table above) = 28,575

Last edited by AFBeefcake; 01-30-2012 at 06:42 PM.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 06:17 PM   #10
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

To get the inverted check sum F91B from 06E4 you use this conversion table.

0 - F
1 - E
2 - D
3 - C
4 - B
5 - A
6 - 9
7 - 8
8 - 7
9 - 6
A - 5
B - 4
C - 3
D - 2
E - 1
F - 0
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 06:26 PM   #11
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

So say I wanted to set my cluster to 135999.

135,999 / 65536 = 2.07518 so the first digit is 2
135,999 - 65536*2 = 4927

4927 / 4096 = 1.20288 so the second digit is 1
4927 - 4096*1 = 831

831 / 256 = 3.246 so the thred digit is 3
831 - 256*3 = 63

Look up 63 in the first table gives you the fourth digit as B

So 213B use the second table to get the inverted checksum of DEC4

once you have this 213B DEC4 in this case. you edit the software buffer to read like this.

0000030 213B DEC4 213B DEC4 213B DEC4 213B DEC4
0000038 213B DEC4 213B DEC4 213B DEC4 213B DEC4

Then program the chip.

I did this to my curent cluster and when I powerd it on got 135,997.
So its close but not 100% right on.

Last edited by AFBeefcake; 01-30-2012 at 06:41 PM.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 06:50 PM   #12
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

And if I wanted to set my cluster to 40000.

40000 / 65536 = 0.61035 so the first digit is 0
40000 - 65536*0 = 40000

40000 / 4096 = 9.7656 so the second digit is 9
40000 - 4096*9 = 3136

3136 / 256 = 12.25 so the thred digit is C (12 in hex)
3136 - 256*12 = 64

Look up 64 in the first table the closest is 63 so the fourth digit as B

So 09CB use the second table to get the inverted checksum of F634

once you have this 09CB F634 in this case. you edit the software buffer to read like this.

0000030 09CB F634 09CB F634 09CB F634 09CB F634
0000038 09CB F634 09CB F634 09CB F634 09CB F634

Then program the chip.

And when I powerd it on got 39,999.
So was off by 1.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 06:54 PM   #13
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

Now for switching the temp from C to F.

look in the software buffer in 16 bit at address 00000040

It reads
00000040 3355 3355 3355 FFFF FFFF FFFF FFFF FFFF
So, its curently C

Swtich it to read

00000040 9955 9955 9955 FFFF FFFF FFFF FFFF FFFF

and it will read in F
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 06:55 PM   #14
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Phenx View Post
Heh I ought to have you tell me how to make a backup copy of the Prodrive St III tune on my Ecu while we are at it.
Sorry, I dont know how to do that.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 12:30 AM   #15
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AFBeefcake View Post
De solder the chip and place it into a programmer.
I use a SP200SE programmer. With WLPro v2.20 software.
What do you use to de-solder the chip without overheating it?
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 08:48 AM   #16
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vlad View Post
What do you use to de-solder the chip without overheating it?
I use a radio shack solder station set to 575F. I heat one pin at a time and use a solder sucker to free up the pin. I try to only keep the solder iron on the pin untill the solder melts and not much longer.

I have done this type of thing for work a bunch of times.

I would practice on some junk circuit board first.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 09:38 AM   #17
The Phenx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95823
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
2003 Imprezza Wrx
WRC BLUE

Default

The solder sucker is key, especially on multi pin anything, otherwise you are trying to keep everything heated to remove your item.

Good advice for anyone desoldering anything.

I consider it one of the must have tools of any garage.
The Phenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 08:08 PM   #18
The Phenx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95823
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
2003 Imprezza Wrx
WRC BLUE

Default

The solder sucker is key, especially on multi pin anything, otherwise you are trying to keep everything heated to remove your item.

Good advice for anyone desoldering anything.

I consider it one of the must have tools of any garage.
The Phenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 04:01 AM   #19
The Phenx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95823
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
2003 Imprezza Wrx
WRC BLUE

Default

Got mine installed. Beautiful unit.

Had any luck with figuring out how to hook up a thermometer?
The Phenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 07:18 AM   #20
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

Does yours have the DCCD?
Is it the type UK in miles or JDM with silver center point and in kilometers?

And finally, how are you doing with speed reading errors?

To be honest, speed reading errors are designed by the manufacturer into the speedometer, and their magnitude varies with speed.

At the same time, however, the odometer and ECU get the real speed/mileage from the sensor, via an ecu that is in the cluster assembly.

Basically, in Europe, many time a new car is reviewed, at the very end, they show real speed, vs speed readings. It usually goes like: 0-60 MPH (around 100 Km/h) no difference.
60-90 optimistic reading by 2-3 MPH
90+ optimistic by 5-8 MPH

Remeber, the car knows its speed but is showing you something different.
As for the reason.. I don't know... safety, maybe, or some kind of regulation?

Now, in the other speedometer thread, they found a big error, when swapping speedometers, an error that is present even in the lower speeds. It is not clear which clusters have it and which not, when swapped in which cars.
It could be that the speed sensor that goes with a particular cluster has to be swapped in as well, or if not, the healer unit.

If you install the healer unit to fix the factory built-in errors as described above, you could mess up the "real speed" data, that the cluster ECU feeds to the main ECU.

With this said, my USDM WRX cluster is usually spot-on with the speed indication untill at least 90MPH, I would think. But a type UK cluster is manufactured to meet possibly some kind of regulations, as stated above, for EU.
So it's important to check the real speed data that the cluster feeds to the ECU, you can do that via OBDII reading compared to, let's say GPS data.
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 11:12 AM   #21
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vlad View Post
Does yours have the DCCD?
Is it the type UK in miles or JDM with silver center point and in kilometers?

And finally, how are you doing with speed reading errors?

To be honest, speed reading errors are designed by the manufacturer into the speedometer, and their magnitude varies with speed.

At the same time, however, the odometer and ECU get the real speed/mileage from the sensor, via an ecu that is in the cluster assembly.

Basically, in Europe, many time a new car is reviewed, at the very end, they show real speed, vs speed readings. It usually goes like: 0-60 MPH (around 100 Km/h) no difference.
60-90 optimistic reading by 2-3 MPH
90+ optimistic by 5-8 MPH

Remeber, the car knows its speed but is showing you something different.
As for the reason.. I don't know... safety, maybe, or some kind of regulation?

Now, in the other speedometer thread, they found a big error, when swapping speedometers, an error that is present even in the lower speeds. It is not clear which clusters have it and which not, when swapped in which cars.
It could be that the speed sensor that goes with a particular cluster has to be swapped in as well, or if not, the healer unit.

If you install the healer unit to fix the factory built-in errors as described above, you could mess up the "real speed" data, that the cluster ECU feeds to the main ECU.

With this said, my USDM WRX cluster is usually spot-on with the speed indication untill at least 90MPH, I would think. But a type UK cluster is manufactured to meet possibly some kind of regulations, as stated above, for EU.
So it's important to check the real speed data that the cluster feeds to the ECU, you can do that via OBDII reading compared to, let's say GPS data.
I currently have the UK prodrive non dccd cluster in my car, it reads in MPH.

At 70 on the cluster GPS reads 67-68 mph. OBDII vs. GPS is about the same 2-3 mph off. I have a 02 WRX with stock sized 16" wheels and tires, but I've done a 6 speed swap so I dont know how it would be on a 5 speed car.

I have never heard of a healer unit, but I just looked at the wiring diagrams for my car and the speed sensor is connected to the cluster and the ECU so its posable to install one that would only effect the cluster.

I can live with 2-3 mph off, that could be the difference between different brands of tires.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 11:14 AM   #22
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Phenx View Post
Got mine installed. Beautiful unit.

Had any luck with figuring out how to hook up a thermometer?
Sorry, I've been waiting to get my DCCD version of the cluster before I start pulling my car apart again. Also I need to sorce some cluster harness pins.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 01:21 PM   #23
The Phenx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95823
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
2003 Imprezza Wrx
WRC BLUE

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AFBeefcake View Post
I currently have the UK prodrive non dccd cluster in my car, it reads in MPH.

At 70 on the cluster GPS reads 67-68 mph. OBDII vs. GPS is about the same 2-3 mph off. I have a 02 WRX with stock sized 16" wheels and tires, but I've done a 6 speed swap so I dont know how it would be on a 5 speed car.

I have never heard of a healer unit, but I just looked at the wiring diagrams for my car and the speed sensor is connected to the cluster and the ECU so its posable to install one that would only effect the cluster.

I can live with 2-3 mph off, that could be the difference between different brands of tires.

The data coming to the cluster is unchanged. I would suspect all you have to do is swap that sensor over. Do can you point directly to which chip it is?

I have the type UK one in MPH by the way.

I care not about 2-3mph especially if its reading low... its not like I go the speed limit.... ever...but my original cluster was spot on till 90+.

Ill gps verify when I go to work tomorrow.

As for healers. They have been making them for the offroad market for years to calibrate for gear/tire size changes.
The Phenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 02:55 PM   #24
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

Here's what the odometer chip looks like.

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...uQ0s%2f7vThRwQ

I'll try get a real pic of the chip on the board when my dccd cluster shows up.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 03:51 PM   #25
The Phenx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95823
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
2003 Imprezza Wrx
WRC BLUE

Default

Ya definately will need to see which chip the speed sensor is to swap it over, I am not sure how I can live with it otherwise, its throwing all my entry and exit speeds off lol.

I eagerly await your picture.
The Phenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS : v8 Type UK Prodrive STi Cluster with DCCD RedMonkey999 NWIC Private Classifieds 22 09-26-2011 10:31 PM
FS : (WA) v8 Type UK Prodrive STi Cluster with DCCD RedMonkey999 Interior/Dressup/Audio & Security 25 09-26-2011 10:30 PM
FS : (WA) v7 Type UK (Prodrive) STi Cluster RedMonkey999 Interior/Dressup/Audio & Security 16 06-15-2011 05:56 PM
Prodrive Type UK Spoiler axis Interior & Exterior Modification 3 05-28-2002 08:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.