Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday November 28, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2012, 10:56 AM   #101
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

So, two things continued to bother me with the 2004 USDM Sti cluster:
-The speed error, which starts around 20 MPH with an optimistic 3 extra MPH shown and goes to 80 MPH to an extra 6 MPH shown
-The early low fuel light.

I have swapped back the WRX cluster and confirmed that with current conditions on the car, the speed is dead-on match with my GPS unit and the low fuel light means that I have to add 13.5 gals of fuel. This means that about 2.4 gals were left, which is considered normal.

Now with the Sti, I have to add only about 1 gal less, the light is early by 1 gal, which can be seen on the level gauge as well.

So I tried to swap the Sti fuel pump assembly (I wanted the spec C fuel pickup box anyway) and this did not change anything.

There is however also a sublevel sensor and the cluster calculates the level at which to turn on the low light out of both the signals from the level and sublevel senders.
The sublevel sender may not be accessible.

As far as the speed signal:
My research sows that although the Vehicle Speed Sensors are of a different part number with Subaru, for WRX and Sti, aftermarket ones are the same, so they are most likely interchangeable, signal-wise.

As far as signal ratio:
The signal pickup is with a pinion which is located upstream of the center differential. It picks up off of the main driven shaft.
So the ratio of the center differential does not directly affect this.

With this knowledge, I went to compare distance measurement, between GPS and cluster.
This morning, with 23 miles travelled, at an average of 29MPH (where error is with cluster showing an extra 3 MPH), there is no difference between what the GPS counted, distance-wise and what the cluster counted, down to the decimal point.

This got me to think about how the cluster calculates the speed:
Probably, for a known circumference of the tire, one revolution generates a number of revolutions of the VSS and therefore a known number of distance impulses.
Then a formula in the cluster transforms the impulses in miles and displays them.
This process does not involve time as a coefficient.

Then (maybe), there is a time signal generator in the cluster and it uses a formula to calculate the speed, by comparing the pulses from the VSS with the elapsed time from the clock signal.

So, if this was right, it is possible to have an accurate odometer signal and inacurate speed signal, due to a poor clock signal.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 02:38 PM   #102
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

I'm going to check the tach readings and see if they're off by the same percentage as the speed.
That would support some kind of time signal discrepancy.
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:53 AM   #103
malinwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241819
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Parsippany NJ
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Hi guys I was trying to read eeprom from my v7 and v8 clusters I'm using wlpro and sp200se programmer, when I read and then was trying to edit eeprom I get only ffff all over.
malinwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 12:02 PM   #104
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malinwrx View Post
Hi guys I was trying to read eeprom from my v7 and v8 clusters I'm using wlpro and sp200se programmer, when I read and then was trying to edit eeprom I get only ffff all over.
That means your not reading the chip right.

Did you set wlpro to read a 93c56?
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 12:09 PM   #105
malinwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241819
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Parsippany NJ
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AFBeefcake View Post

That means your not reading the chip right.

Did you set wlpro to read a 93c56?
Yes I setup to 93c56 but I'm not sure on which one exactly atmel, microchip or st. Nothing happened on all of them. I have some other eeprom 93c66 which one I can read
malinwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 12:15 PM   #106
dangerousatom
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70710
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Quakertown/AREA1320 391whp
Vehicle:
2002 04STi Swaped RS
w/PPGS & 02 Wagon w/PPGs

Default

I used one of the Healtech converters for my V8 WRX and V8 STi Prodrive Cluster. Its a one wire splice in and then just set the little box to conversion mode and your done. You can also raise and lower the MPH reading with some minor programing if needed, but my cluster is only one mph off of the i-phone GPS when its converted.

dangerousatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 12:15 PM   #107
malinwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241819
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Parsippany NJ
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

everything I do on the printed circuit board without desoldering, via clip 3m and cable
malinwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:38 PM   #108
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malinwrx View Post
everything I do on the printed circuit board without desoldering, via clip 3m and cable
O, did you disable the osilator on the cluster?

Also reading the chip on the board can wipe the chip. So be very carfull. I have had it hapen 2 times sofar, lucky i save back ups of every custer I program.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:56 PM   #109
malinwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241819
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Parsippany NJ
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

I got it I found out I need to unplug USB cable from my laptop and read chip right after reconnect USB cable
malinwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:57 PM   #110
malinwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241819
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Parsippany NJ
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AFBeefcake View Post

O, did you disable the osilator on the cluster?

Also reading the chip on the board can wipe the chip. So be very carfull. I have had it hapen 2 times sofar, lucky i save back ups of every custer I program.
What is that osilator
malinwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 02:13 AM   #111
Mario_pic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 346512
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default help

need some help got 04 wrx cluster in km has 200000km on it need it corrected to match my car with usa wrx cluster currently has 71000miles on it so need the canadian wrx cluster to have 115873km prodrive sti cluster im willing to try i if u got a good pic of the prodrive board

Last edited by Mario_pic; 02-13-2013 at 02:49 AM.
Mario_pic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 03:12 AM   #112
malinwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241819
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Parsippany NJ
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Did anyone knows why I'm getting brake light on on v8 dccd prodrive cluster in 04 WRX ????
malinwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 10:02 AM   #113
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malinwrx View Post
What is that osilator
An oscillator is like a clock. It is needed to run any processor. Its a crystal that resonates at a specific frequency.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 10:03 AM   #114
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malinwrx View Post
Did anyone knows why I'm getting brake light on on v8 dccd prodrive cluster in 04 WRX ????
This mite be a dumb question but is your parking brake off and is your brake fluid tank full?
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 10:10 AM   #115
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mario_pic View Post
need some help got 04 wrx cluster in km has 200000km on it need it corrected to match my car with usa wrx cluster currently has 71000miles on it so need the canadian wrx cluster to have 115873km prodrive sti cluster im willing to try i if u got a good pic of the prodrive board
I am confused as to what your asking.

If you have a KPH cluster and need the KMs changed I can do that.
If you have a MPH cluster and need the miles change I can do that.

I cann't make a MPH cluster read in KPH. there is a chip you can get that will make a KPH cluster read in MPH, but not the other way around.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 11:20 AM   #116
malinwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241819
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Parsippany NJ
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AFBeefcake View Post

This mite be a dumb question but is your parking brake off and is your brake fluid tank full?
It is I just installed v8 dccd cluster and this happen on non-dccd version brake light work fine
malinwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 11:30 AM   #117
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malinwrx View Post
It is I just installed v8 dccd cluster and this happen on non-dccd version brake light work fine
weird i have have both dccd and non dccd prodrive clusters in my 02 and never had the happen.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 11:54 AM   #118
malinwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241819
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Parsippany NJ
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AFBeefcake View Post

weird i have have both dccd and non dccd prodrive clusters in my 02 and never had the happen.
My friend was using this cluster in 03 and also without problem
malinwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 11:01 PM   #119
Xissix
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 85985
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Meridian, ID
Default

Not sure if this is the right spot to ask, but is related to this thread. I have a black faced non-dccd UKDM (pretty sure) STI cluster that has a POWER light, any idea what it is? I've been searching with no luck. This isn't the battery light (has one of those as well).
Xissix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 11:15 PM   #120
drischnie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 54278
Join Date: Feb 2004
Default

its for the automatic transmisson non-sti models.
the light has no function on the sti cluster.
drischnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 11:20 PM   #121
Xissix
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 85985
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Meridian, ID
Default

Oh ok, thanks!
Xissix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 08:38 PM   #122
malinwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241819
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Parsippany NJ
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Did anyone know how to do mileage correction on usdm STI cluster ????
malinwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 04:08 PM   #123
Mario_pic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 346512
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default

I need a file to program my 03 Canadian Wrx cluster so it shows 115000km on odometer u able to help me out
Mario_pic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 04:12 PM   #124
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mario_pic View Post
I need a file to program my 03 Canadian Wrx cluster so it shows 115000km on odometer u able to help me out

If you can get me the hex file from your cluster chip using wlpro. I can make the edits.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 06:20 PM   #125
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

Just an update on my cluster programing.

I just figured out how to do it on a 2004 forester XT cluster today. So I can do those too now.

I am also very close on the USDM STI clusters I just need some one to give me a broken one cheaply or for free so I can try it.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS : v8 Type UK Prodrive STi Cluster with DCCD RedMonkey999 NWIC Private Classifieds 22 09-26-2011 10:31 PM
FS : (WA) v8 Type UK Prodrive STi Cluster with DCCD RedMonkey999 Interior/Dressup/Audio & Security 25 09-26-2011 10:30 PM
FS : (WA) v7 Type UK (Prodrive) STi Cluster RedMonkey999 Interior/Dressup/Audio & Security 16 06-15-2011 05:56 PM
Prodrive Type UK Spoiler axis Interior & Exterior Modification 3 05-28-2002 08:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.