Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday March 5, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2012, 12:04 AM   #51
SP2Flip
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 63932
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hampton Roads
Vehicle:
2006 Tribeca B9

Default

Glad you got it running, it's always the easy things that get you! The ring has to be really close to the front of the key cylinder, too far back and it won't pick up. In the past I have had to use a small zip tie to take some of the slack out of the ring so that it fits snugly around the cylinder. You should also be able to hear the 555uw module click when you initiate the remote start sequence. Also the placement of the key inside the module makes a difference. Good luck...almost there!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
SP2Flip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 12:43 PM   #52
zpeedd3mon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 332170
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

whoop whoop!! So excited, its starting up perfectly! Couple of things I changed/fixed:

Clutch bypass - I didn't realize there were two different switches hooked up to the clutch and I had mistakenly hooked up the wrong pair. They were showing voltage and would switch when the clutch is engaged but it was the wrong plug (lower plug, smaller gauge wire). Got that hooked up correctly to the relay and that worked perfectly!

Question: I know everyone likes to solder for good connections but do you normally solder relays? I've done it both ways (solder vs connectors) but wondered what the pros out there do.

Immobilizer bypass: relay wasn't getting the message from the blue wire off the remote start for some reason. Manual says its a 200ma (-) output but the 556uw doesn't say anything about how many MA to send so I decided to snag the orange 500ma (-) of the viper and it worked perfectly!

Got everything taped and tied up nice and pretty and now am on to finishing up my stereo. Already have my pioneer in dash in but gotta hook up all the ebrake *cough* wire. Then in goes the 6 channel amp and sub. Stoked to be getting the car all dialed in!

The only thing that seems a bit odd to me is that when I remote start the car it unlocks prior to starting but doesn't re-lock after the start sequence has occurred. Is this normal? Not a big deal since I can just hit the lock again after but am curious if there is a way to eliminate an extra button push.

Thanks again guys and for all your help and patience here. It was greatly appreciated and I hope that others who go down this road can get problems solved by reading from my mistakes!
zpeedd3mon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 01:55 PM   #53
SP2Flip
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 63932
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hampton Roads
Vehicle:
2006 Tribeca B9

Default

Glad you got it sorted brotha. If you tied the disarm wire
(black/green) to the unlock/disarm to the flcan, cut it. Then test, should be good to go.
SP2Flip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 02:49 PM   #54
zpeedd3mon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 332170
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SP2Flip View Post
Glad you got it sorted brotha. If you tied the disarm wire
(black/green) to the unlock/disarm to the flcan, cut it. Then test, should be good to go.
I went the D2D direction and so none of those inputs/outputs are wired to the flcan.
zpeedd3mon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 03:02 PM   #55
SP2Flip
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 63932
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hampton Roads
Vehicle:
2006 Tribeca B9

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zpeedd3mon View Post
I went the D2D direction and so none of those inputs/outputs are wired to the flcan.
Ahh gotcha, thought you switched over to the hardwire.
SP2Flip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 03:19 PM   #56
zpeedd3mon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 332170
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SP2Flip View Post
Ahh gotcha, thought you switched over to the hardwire.
No, I was going to as a last resort because the FLCAN wasn't seeing the ground while starting but that was resolved before it went that far. Hmm...
zpeedd3mon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 04:07 PM   #57
zpeedd3mon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 332170
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

ok, so there is the option in the programming:

OEM ALARM DISARM OUTPUT -
1. with lock
2. with unlock
3. with remote start only.

Would this be a solution?
zpeedd3mon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 05:24 PM   #58
zpeedd3mon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 332170
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

not sure what the deal was before but it seems to be operating fine now. Probably user error. Thanks all!
zpeedd3mon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 11:45 PM   #59
kevosti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 269463
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Vehicle:
2012 WRX STi Sedan
DGM

Default

Anyone have a suggestion for how to hook up a back up battery to a compustar CM6000? Does it have its own charging unit? If so, can I just hook something like this (http://www.ebay.com/itm/12V-1-3AH-SL...item5ae85a1529) up to the +12VDC battery terminal and (-) ground battery terminal?
kevosti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 11:51 PM   #60
SP2Flip
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 63932
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hampton Roads
Vehicle:
2006 Tribeca B9

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevosti View Post
Anyone have a suggestion for how to hook up a back up battery to a compustar CM6000? Does it have its own charging unit? If so, can I just hook something like this (http://www.ebay.com/itm/12V-1-3AH-SL...item5ae85a1529) up to the +12VDC battery terminal and (-) ground battery terminal?
This is what you need kev http://www.ebay.com/itm/DEI-520t-Bac...item20cbeadbfc. It just charges of your alternator and when main power is disconnected the alarm would then revert to the back up battery.
SP2Flip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 12:48 AM   #61
kevosti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 269463
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Vehicle:
2012 WRX STi Sedan
DGM

Default

I was considering using the 520T, but my local installer just told me to buy a lead acid battery and connect it to connector two of the schematic below:

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...SMlJhg&cad=rja

The unfortunate thing is I don't have much confidence in my local installer, that is why I am tackling the install myself. I looked into the 520T, but I heard that the factory battery is not all that great. If I wanted to use the charging circuit from 520T with a different battery, how would I go about hooking it up on the compustar side?

http://www.mobiletraxx.com/id131.html

Can I wire as below?

520T side to CM6000

(+) Constant Power 12V Input -> Connector 2 Pin 1
(-) Instant Trigger Input -> Connector 2 Pin 2
kevosti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:58 AM   #62
claythrow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 283663
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Root Beer

Default

I didn't read through your entire post but this is almost certainly a stick shift right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevosti
I was considering using the 520T, but my local installer just told me to buy a lead acid battery and connect it to connector two of the schematic below:

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...SMlJhg&cad=rja

The unfortunate thing is I don't have much confidence in my local installer, that is why I am tackling the install myself. I looked into the 520T, but I heard that the factory battery is not all that great. If I wanted to use the charging circuit from 520T with a different battery, how would I go about hooking it up on the compustar side?

http://www.mobiletraxx.com/id131.html

Can I wire as below?

520T side to CM6000

(+) Constant Power 12V Input -> Connector 2 Pin 1
(-) Instant Trigger Input -> Connector 2 Pin 2
claythrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:46 AM   #63
kevosti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 269463
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Vehicle:
2012 WRX STi Sedan
DGM

Default

Yes it is a stick shift
kevosti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 04:30 PM   #64
zpeedd3mon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 332170
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

loving the remote start. Warming up this morning and it tells me how nice it is in the car! fun stuff.

zpeedd3mon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 05:09 PM   #65
SP2Flip
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 63932
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hampton Roads
Vehicle:
2006 Tribeca B9

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zpeedd3mon View Post
ok, so there is the option in the programming:

OEM ALARM DISARM OUTPUT -
1. with lock
2. with unlock
3. with remote start only.

Would this be a solution?
Hmmm, try changing the settings to see what happens. But I am unsure if that would work as the remote start and the flcan communicate with Data. It is strange that the flcan is causing your car to unlock upon remote start.
SP2Flip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 05:14 PM   #66
zpeedd3mon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 332170
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SP2Flip View Post
Hmmm, try changing the settings to see what happens. But I am unsure if that would work as the remote start and the flcan communicate with Data. It is strange that the flcan is causing your car to unlock upon remote start.
Not quite sure what was going on with it. I'm guessing I was a little tired and didn't realize what exactly was going on therefore I spoke too soon. Its all working properly and up to speed now. Thanks for all your input and expertise!
zpeedd3mon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 05:16 PM   #67
SP2Flip
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 63932
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hampton Roads
Vehicle:
2006 Tribeca B9

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevosti View Post
I was considering using the 520T, but my local installer just told me to buy a lead acid battery and connect it to connector two of the schematic below:

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...SMlJhg&cad=rja

The unfortunate thing is I don't have much confidence in my local installer, that is why I am tackling the install myself. I looked into the 520T, but I heard that the factory battery is not all that great. If I wanted to use the charging circuit from 520T with a different battery, how would I go about hooking it up on the compustar side?

http://www.mobiletraxx.com/id131.html

Can I wire as below?

520T side to CM6000

(+) Constant Power 12V Input -> Connector 2 Pin 1
(-) Instant Trigger Input -> Connector 2 Pin 2
Hi Kev, sorry about the late response. By the diagram you attached it looks like the Compustar has a charging circuit built into the brain. I would have to look at the instructions to see if there are any stipulations on what type of battery that you can use. If your installer suggested that battery then you should be ok with it. Just have to make sure that the built in charging circuit can support the back up battery that you will be using. Good luck...
SP2Flip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 05:17 PM   #68
SP2Flip
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 63932
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hampton Roads
Vehicle:
2006 Tribeca B9

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zpeedd3mon View Post
Not quite sure what was going on with it. I'm guessing I was a little tired and didn't realize what exactly was going on therefore I spoke too soon. Its all working properly and up to speed now. Thanks for all your input and expertise!
Anytime Buddy, glad you got that thing going!
SP2Flip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 11:47 PM   #69
kevosti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 269463
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Vehicle:
2012 WRX STi Sedan
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SP2Flip View Post
Hi Kev, sorry about the late response. By the diagram you attached it looks like the Compustar has a charging circuit built into the brain. I would have to look at the instructions to see if there are any stipulations on what type of battery that you can use. If your installer suggested that battery then you should be ok with it. Just have to make sure that the built in charging circuit can support the back up battery that you will be using. Good luck...
Flip, thanks for the tip. I looked at the manual and it says that the 2nd connector has a charging circuit built in. I bought a battery and a 506T glass break sensor to finish off my list of to buy items.

I have a pretty nice excel spreadsheet of a 901SS/CM6000 Compustar to 2008-2012 STi interconnecting wiring list that I made. I'm going to start wiring up this week/weekend and will post it up when I get everything working.

I started some of the install today with installing the siren, hood pin, and antenna. Stage 2 will be connecting the BLADE-AL and Compustar and getting the door lock interface to work.

For the main 12V feed into the alarm, there are two 16AWG wires with two 30A wires. I was considering connecting these two wires together, then connecting it to the 12V constant white wire on the ignition connector on the car. Is this a bad idea or would this be acceptable? I'm concerned that the fuse upstream is rated less than 60A total, but I'm not sure if the constant 12V white wire on the ignition connector is high current or not. My only thought to fix this problem is to directly tap off the battery, relocate the fuses, and then extend the wiring. Anyone know what the 12V constant white wire on the ignition connector is rated for on the (08-12) STi?
kevosti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 12:50 AM   #70
SP2Flip
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 63932
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hampton Roads
Vehicle:
2006 Tribeca B9

Default

Hi Kev, I believe the main 12v wire in the ignition harness is rated at 50A. There should be two 12v wires, both white. Just utilize both of these wires and you will be good.Take it easy!
SP2Flip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 10:18 PM   #71
KenBeanNet
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 335407
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default

Hey Guys. Hate to be the noob of the thread, but I am here. I just bought a 2013 STI. Got everything but my remote starter in. I bought a Viper 4704V and found it doesn't have security, so I just bought a Viper 5904. I would like to not do a bypass, and only allow remote start when the system is setup for remote start. (Brake > EBrake > Break release > Leave Car > etc).

Do I need additional hardware for me to get this functional? What limitations will I have when going to attack this project with just the Viper unit and nothing else? My father is very good with cars and will help with the installation but I want to ensure I have all the required parts before hand! Thanks!
KenBeanNet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:13 AM   #72
jegomes
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 303039
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Vehicle:
2006 WRX

Default

You will need a bypass... no way around it. You're best off getting 2 flcans or 1 and a 556u however with the latter you will need a spare key to stash in the dash..
jegomes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:13 AM   #73
jegomes
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 303039
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Vehicle:
2006 WRX

Default

Also you will need a relay if the vehicle is a manual.. for your clutch bypass
jegomes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:48 AM   #74
KenBeanNet
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 335407
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jegomes View Post
Also you will need a relay if the vehicle is a manual.. for your clutch bypass
With the clutch bypass (It is a manual), I still don't want it to start unless I do the required setup EBrake and such. That won't override that.

Any suggestions of good companies/pricing found online that I can buy from for the required parts? I have a 2013 STI Limited.
KenBeanNet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 11:06 AM   #75
jegomes
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 303039
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Vehicle:
2006 WRX

Default

I can't help you on where to get the parts as I work at a shop where they are only an arms reach away.. but we charge retail, I know you can get them elsewhere cheaper.. but there is no way around the parts, you need them for the unit to function.. as far as how you set the car up for remote start, that's up to you.
jegomes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
***liteSPEC 08+ WRX STI HB Titanium Exhaust System GROUP BUY Starting at $750*** liteSPEC Vendor 'Group Buy' Classifieds 177 02-20-2013 08:51 PM
FS : MN: Perrin Cold Air Intake 08+ WRX/STI and spare foam filter. hotrodrex MWSOC Private Classifieds 2 02-04-2012 11:07 AM
Invidia Q300 Catback for 08 STI, AEM CAI for 08 WRX/STI, and Element Tuning for 02+! WorldOne NWIC Vendor Classifieds 9 03-25-2011 12:11 PM
2004 STi Remote Start, Keyless entry inop,alarm activates Murphdog Car Audio, Video & Security 5 12-30-2009 11:48 AM
vf48, 08 STi TMIC, LGT/08+ WRX/STI downpipe, 08 injectors vhalin Engine/Power/Exhaust 23 12-09-2008 11:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.