Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 31, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2012, 01:14 AM   #1
mod maniac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 300551
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: mariposa ca.
Vehicle:
2&4 fxt & fxt sti
Fullers Garage

Default need tune vf39 kelford cams tvg deleates

Building motor 2002 wrx with kelford 199e cams, modded injectors, sri, sti tmi, tbe, walbro fuel pump, ported throttle body, tvg deleates, catless uppipe, I need a tune close enough to get me started I would be thankful for any help, I am new at this open source tuning stuff. I have flashed a xpt tune to my present motor but thats about it. I have repaired hundreds of subarus but not tuned any.
thanks Dan
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
mod maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 02-09-2012, 10:21 AM   #2
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

You could just purchase an E-tune. Contact Phatt-botti tuning.
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 10:30 AM   #3
mod maniac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 300551
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: mariposa ca.
Vehicle:
2&4 fxt & fxt sti
Fullers Garage

Default

Thats kind of the plan, I was just hoping someone would have something close so i could start it and break in the cams.then I was going to fiddle with it and see if I could figure it out and if I couldn't then buy one. So if anyone has a tune they are messing with that should be close enough to get me started that would be great.
mod maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 04:08 PM   #4
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mod maniac View Post
then I was going to fiddle with it and see if I could figure it out and if I couldn't then buy one.
Thats a pretty horrible idea. Especially since your installing injectors and an intake at the same time. You didn't even list what SRI you are using. If you are new to tuning this would not be the setup to learn on.
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 06:43 PM   #5
mod maniac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 300551
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: mariposa ca.
Vehicle:
2&4 fxt & fxt sti
Fullers Garage

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quazimoto View Post
Thats a pretty horrible idea. Especially since your installing injectors and an intake at the same time. You didn't even list what SRI you are using. If you are new to tuning this would not be the setup to learn on.
It's a spt but I 90ed it into the fender well for cold air, if someone is running someting similar it should start and run the 20 min I need to season the cams I can watch my wide band and make sure it's running ok. what do you want me to learn on? I have one running wrx and one I am building, I would rather learn on my extra car not my dd.
mod maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 12:41 AM   #6
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

^^ um....you should learn on a mostly stock car by changing 1 part at a time.

learning how to change the maf correctly is a chore in itself....then add in modded stockers......then cams.....you're asking for trouble.

My suggestion is to put the stock injectors and stock intake on and break the car in that way.

And make the AF Correction range +-40% just in case
Phatron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 11:14 AM   #7
mod maniac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 300551
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: mariposa ca.
Vehicle:
2&4 fxt & fxt sti
Fullers Garage

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
^^ um....you should learn on a mostly stock car by changing 1 part at a time.

learning how to change the maf correctly is a chore in itself....then add in modded stockers......then cams.....you're asking for trouble.

My suggestion is to put the stock injectors and stock intake on and break the car in that way.

And make the AF Correction range +-40% just in case
Thanks I understand that but my mostly stock wrx has a xpt stage 2 and 220k on it it's next to get rebuilt. I do plan on learning on it but it's on it's last leg. The other is built and waiting for the install (I work 60 to 70 hrs a week when the shop is biz ) it should go in this next week if I get a couple of hours. I was hoping someone would be running something similar and have a good tune then it would need a min amount of work to dial in. I know how complicated this is, I know there is alot to learn, I can see everyone want's you to buy a tune, I know how to buy a tune and load a tune, it's time to learn a little more. I will buy a tune if no one comes up with a tune that is close but that helps me learn nothing, great. Thanks for the advice though.
mod maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 11:39 AM   #8
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

As a tuner I wouldnt even do it because the fueling isn't going to be spot on.....

You don't want to be trying to tune the car during this time.

Your best bet is to put the stock stuff on....
Phatron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 03:37 PM   #9
mod maniac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 300551
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: mariposa ca.
Vehicle:
2&4 fxt & fxt sti
Fullers Garage

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
As a tuner I wouldnt even do it because the fueling isn't going to be spot on.....

You don't want to be trying to tune the car during this time.

Your best bet is to put the stock stuff on....
Ok I understand but I modded my injectors, I deleated my tvgs, I don't have any of my stock intake or filter and my tdo4 is gone.
mod maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 04:35 PM   #10
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

I'd seriously take the intake and injectors off your dd and put them on your build car to break it in. Then learn how to scale the injectors/intake on your dd.

Or at least throw them on your dd and get the maf and injector scalar dialed in THEN put then in the build car with those values.

Last edited by Phatron; 02-11-2012 at 04:46 PM.
Phatron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 07:19 PM   #11
mod maniac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 300551
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: mariposa ca.
Vehicle:
2&4 fxt & fxt sti
Fullers Garage

Default

at least throw them on your dd and get the maf and injector scalar dialed in THEN put then in the build car with those values.[/quote]
I could do that. thanks for the idea that sounds like a good place to start if I can't come up with a tune that is close. If someone is running cams, modded injectors,cai and a vf39 there tune should be very close though and that would be easier.
mod maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 07:39 PM   #12
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

I could make a tune that's "close" but then u have the cams too....and that changes everything. The point is that u don't want to be tuning during break in.

Even if u have the maf and injectors done from getting them dialed on your dd, the fueling could still be off by ~20% from the cams.
And with your custom cai if you do em all at once the fueling could be off by 40% initially.
Phatron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 09:49 PM   #13
mod maniac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 300551
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: mariposa ca.
Vehicle:
2&4 fxt & fxt sti
Fullers Garage

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
I could make a tune that's "close" but then u have the cams too....and that changes everything. The point is that u don't want to be tuning during break in.

Even if u have the maf and injectors done from getting them dialed on your dd, the fueling could still be off by ~20% from the cams.
And with your custom cai if you do em all at once the fueling could be off by 40% initially.
I do understand that. My dd has 220k on it with the stock tdo4 leaking oil and making noise and I am sure the compression isn't up, so i'm not sure I could get close that way. So now what? This is a modded 58k motor so It won't be during break in I just need to season cams. I could take the intake and injectors off my dd but then both my winter cars would be not working and i can't drive my built falcon in the weather it does snow here.

Last edited by mod maniac; 02-11-2012 at 10:11 PM.
mod maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 10:20 PM   #14
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

Idk man. Either go with the stuff u know the scalings for or don't. Up to u.
Phatron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 03:31 PM   #15
mod maniac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 300551
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: mariposa ca.
Vehicle:
2&4 fxt & fxt sti
Fullers Garage

Default

Still no one with a simular setup?
mod maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 03:46 PM   #16
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

if you're insistent on doing it with those parts open up the rom, type in the injector scalar, hilight the whole maf scale and multiply it by 10% and open up the AF corrections from +-15 to +-50

i just dont understand the thinking that after spending all the money on parts, you're gonna take a map for free from someone off the internet and load it on your car.
Phatron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 03:34 PM   #17
mod maniac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 300551
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: mariposa ca.
Vehicle:
2&4 fxt & fxt sti
Fullers Garage

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
if you're insistent on doing it with those parts open up the rom, type in the injector scalar, hilight the whole maf scale and multiply it by 10% and open up the AF corrections from +-15 to +-50

i just dont understand the thinking that after spending all the money on parts, you're gonna take a map for free from someone off the internet and load it on your car.
Was just looking for some maps to look at, I have no idea of what to do, looking to learn a little, You are still going to tune this car. rolled my other wrx it's in the body shop, so i'm a little behind right now, I expect to be done in the next couple of weeks, most of the engine is together.
mod maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 04:04 PM   #18
PhatBotti Tuning TKR
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 239659
Join Date: Feb 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tri-State / California
Vehicle:
STI Mikey & Phatron
Tuning Da Subies

Default

Phatron was in jersey with me when I tuned this exact same setup, literally part for part. Ended up running a 12.40 on 93 octane at the track with traps at 109-111.

-Mikey
PhatBotti Tuning TKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 09:24 PM   #19
mod maniac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 300551
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: mariposa ca.
Vehicle:
2&4 fxt & fxt sti
Fullers Garage

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhatBotti Tuning TKR View Post
Phatron was in jersey with me when I tuned this exact same setup, literally part for part. Ended up running a 12.40 on 93 octane at the track with traps at 109-111.

-Mikey
That sounds great I look forward to getting it done.
mod maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 10:35 PM   #20
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

so it will run 13.0 @ 103mph on 91

your other cars not drivable....good time to snag those injectors and intake
Phatron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 10:45 PM   #21
mod maniac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 300551
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: mariposa ca.
Vehicle:
2&4 fxt & fxt sti
Fullers Garage

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
so it will run 13.0 @ 103mph on 91

your other cars not drivable....good time to snag those injectors and intake
Yes I can take the intake and air box but what injectors I have 420, 565 or 825. If you just tuned one with all the same mods couldn't you start with that tune and tweek it a little so it is safe?
mod maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 01:41 PM   #22
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mod maniac View Post
Yes I can take the intake and air box but what injectors I have 420, 565 or 825. If you just tuned one with all the same mods couldn't you start with that tune and tweek it a little so it is safe?
He could but you were insisting on trying to do this yourself,remember?
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 08:49 PM   #23
mod maniac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 300551
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: mariposa ca.
Vehicle:
2&4 fxt & fxt sti
Fullers Garage

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quazimoto View Post
He could but you were insisting on trying to do this yourself,remember?
Sorry you weren't in the loop, pmed phatron last week and he is going to tune my car. I do still hope to learn something, maybe when I fix my other one.
mod maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 10:54 AM   #24
mod maniac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 300551
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: mariposa ca.
Vehicle:
2&4 fxt & fxt sti
Fullers Garage

Default

Engine didn't survive the tune.. I pushed Ron to raise the redline to high and the oiling system couldn't keep up. It was runnind really good till that point. Not the tunners falt, all mine. Oh well another good excuse to build a better motor.

Last edited by mod maniac; 06-17-2012 at 11:51 AM.
mod maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 11:27 AM   #25
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

I'm going to give u the benefit of the doubt right now and assume you dont understand how that statement sounds to people reading it and give you an opportunity to expound on the situation yourself.
Phatron is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who's tuned AEM EMS w/ Kelford cams? (05 STi) bigmike25rs Other Engine Management 62 01-14-2014 08:25 PM
Kelford Cam install w/ supertech valves, need help on install SBW Built Motor Discussion 24 11-28-2011 09:42 AM
FS : MD: Element Tuning GT75 rotated kit, Kelford cams, intake manifold & 1000cc injectors Md05STI Engine/Power/Exhaust 33 04-07-2011 11:13 PM
Kelford cam card needed? korhan Built Motor Discussion 1 11-27-2008 03:58 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.