Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 24, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2015, 11:48 PM   #1
DGMSTI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 435906
Join Date: Dec 2015
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Alberta
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
DGM

Default OEM remote start for 2015 STI?

I'm looking for a remote starter for my 2015 STI Sport Tech.
I saw the thread by TziTzi and the aftermarket options of Subiespeed and Viper however I see Subaru has an OEM one and I'd rather go that even after seeing they can be annoying. I don't see the option for a remote start on Subaru.ca in the accessories even though I've seen videos of 2015 WRX with a remote start. Is it not available for the push button start?

For people that have it, how far is the remote start range and is it a 2 way system where you will know if your car is on or not?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
DGMSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 12-17-2015, 12:13 AM   #2
DGMSTI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 435906
Join Date: Dec 2015
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Alberta
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
DGM

Default

I see that the OEM Remote start is for the 2015 WRX with CVT. I don't see an OEM for the manual so I guess aftermarket it is. Viper good?
DGMSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 12:13 AM   #3
That_Boosted_Life
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 422693
Join Date: Jun 2015
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Buffalo,NY
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Premium
Lapis Blue Pearl

Default

The remote start is only available on the CVT models. You would have to fool the ECU into thinking the clutch is fully depressed in order to hook up a remote start on a manual trans car. It has been done before, but you just have to remember to leave the car in neutral, or it will try and start the car when it is in gear and potentially cause a lot of damage.
That_Boosted_Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 12:29 AM   #4
DGMSTI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 435906
Join Date: Dec 2015
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Alberta
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
DGM

Default

Thats a great idea. That way I could go OEM and not deal with the problems of aftermarket and the stock keyless entry/pushbutton start. I would hope.

Is there a thread on how to do this?
DGMSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 12:41 AM   #5
aerosaaber
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33850
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Pittsfield, MA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon
WRC Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by That_Boosted_Life View Post
The remote start is only available on the CVT models. You would have to fool the ECU into thinking the clutch is fully depressed in order to hook up a remote start on a manual trans car. It has been done before, but you just have to remember to leave the car in neutral, or it will try and start the car when it is in gear and potentially cause a lot of damage.
it won't damage the car, but it will move the car. My old Saab would move if I didn't depress the clutch pedal (my Saab tech cousin told me it was so you could move a car out of a garage or parking spot for the tow truck)
He forget to put the car in neutral before starting once and it moved enough that he hit a toolbox in the garage.
aerosaaber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 12:58 AM   #6
DGMSTI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 435906
Join Date: Dec 2015
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Alberta
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
DGM

Default

Depends on the car I believe. I think some cars will actually start moving and will pick up speeds so for a manual car they have steps you have to take when you turn the car off to "prime" so when you want to start remotely it will work.
DGMSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 01:07 AM   #7
DGMSTI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 435906
Join Date: Dec 2015
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Alberta
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
DGM

Default

Im assuming the remote starter for the CVT is the same distance to unlock/lock the car? That is way too close.
DGMSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 01:41 AM   #8
Reezo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 404929
Join Date: Oct 2014
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Burnaby
Vehicle:
2010 Subaru STI H/B
White

Default

Reezo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 06:37 PM   #9
phd12v
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
16 Wrx Limited CVT
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reezo View Post
please note the IDATALINK above is not set up for the manual vehicles at this time.

If it is a CVT vehicle it is fine.

If it is a manual vehicle, please look at the compustar 7200 or 7000 units paired with your favorite remotes, and a blade-al
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 11:29 PM   #10
Reezo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 404929
Join Date: Oct 2014
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Burnaby
Vehicle:
2010 Subaru STI H/B
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phd12v View Post
please note the IDATALINK above is not set up for the manual vehicles at this time.

If it is a CVT vehicle it is fine.

If it is a manual vehicle, please look at the compustar 7200 or 7000 units paired with your favorite remotes, and a blade-al
^^ you will also need an adsalca and a blade al. one for convienience the other for bypass.

Whats nice about the Idatalink unit it now has both convinience and bypass built in so no need for 2 modules anymore.

The fortin one uses the factory remote
Reezo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 03:38 AM   #11
Kona14
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 436343
Join Date: Dec 2015
Default

I was thinking about going with the OEM remote start as well. But found out that it comes with an additional keychain which was a deal breaker. I ended up going with compustar alarm and remote start with drone. Only one keychain for all functions and I use my valet key. Drone mobile is awesome as well!
Edit: car is 6MT
Kona14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 12:31 PM   #12
phd12v
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
16 Wrx Limited CVT
DGM

Default

you only need 1 module from us now on this platform, SUB2 install (for PTS) SUB3 (for standard key)

so either a Blade al or a AL-Ca

Last edited by phd12v; 12-18-2015 at 01:17 PM.
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2015, 04:19 PM   #13
DGMSTI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 435906
Join Date: Dec 2015
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Alberta
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
DGM

Default

In any of those methods did it affect the push button or the advanced keyless entry?

How much did it cost for the whole setup installed? I dont plan on installing myself as I don't like to deal with wires
DGMSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2015, 07:02 PM   #14
corlon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 352266
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

compustar or idatalink will not effect the push button or advanced keyless entry. for an entry level compustar installed at like a best buy your probably around 400 bucks.
corlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 02:19 AM   #15
ryuujinwrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 415742
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
CWP

Default

The OEM might be posible. I saw the wiring diagram in the service manual.
ryuujinwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 01:48 AM   #16
skyline2693
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 436901
Join Date: Dec 2015
Default starter

So did you come up with a solution ?
skyline2693 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 12:27 PM   #17
just.a.wrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 435968
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oklahoma
Default

@phd12v
with the newer update to the idata modules, do the doors still unlock to start?
that was the deal breaker for me when i was researching them.
just.a.wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 10:18 PM   #18
milolai
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 413466
Join Date: Feb 2015
Default

We have the OEM unit in our 2015 Forester XT.

I park underground so I don't use it -- but if I did park outside i'd dislike it for 2 reasons.

a) low range. like 100 feet max. many moons ago i had one of those compustar remote starters and it worked from MUCH MUCH further away.

b) when you open the door the car shuts off -- requiring you to restart when you get into the seat.
milolai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 12:36 PM   #19
just.a.wrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 435968
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oklahoma
Default

^ wiring up a relay to cancel door trigger while car is started without key in would get that fixed

unless you are worried that someone will possibly break into your car while its running
just.a.wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 05:38 PM   #20
MrBrownstone
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 436597
Join Date: Dec 2015
Default

Is there a way to rig up one of these to a '14 Forester?
MrBrownstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2016, 06:33 AM   #21
Guzzi 1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338666
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Northeast Ohio
Vehicle:
2014 Impreza Limited
SWP/Blk Leather CVT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DGMSTI View Post
Im assuming the remote starter for the CVT is the same distance to unlock/lock the car? That is way too close.
No, it works from considerably further away. As noted, the factory unit will shut off the engine when you open the door. It will also lock the doors when it starts the car if they are not locked. You can unlock the doors and the engine will remain on, UNTIL you open the door. Also, the factory unit will keep the car running for 15 minutes before it automatically shuts off.


John
Guzzi 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2016, 08:46 PM   #22
DGMSTI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 435906
Join Date: Dec 2015
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Alberta
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skyline2693 View Post
So did you come up with a solution ?
Once I saw how complicated it seems to be, the necessity of multiple units, I decided to forget about this for now. Maybe next winter. Seems the guys who posted know what they're talking about so I'd ask them about their setups.
DGMSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2016, 09:37 PM   #23
Imprezafan93
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 436777
Join Date: Dec 2015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DGMSTI View Post
Once I saw how complicated it seems to be, the necessity of multiple units, I decided to forget about this for now. Maybe next winter. Seems the guys who posted know what they're talking about so I'd ask them about their setups.
Finally since I started my account on nasioc there is interest in security systems, and people who appreciate the idatastart hc2 system! I have some good news for anyone who peruses this thread looking for a solution, I have an idatalink hc2 remote starter for sale, for a steal of a price. Two way, 3000 ft range, recieved from idatalink as a promotional when they came out for being a registered mecp installer, brand new in box, never opened never used. As somebody previously stated It is new in a way that it interfaces with data and has a built In immobilizer bypass. Yes you can do it with MT, I have one and I never leave my car in gear but I never did before either. You use a second accessory output to trigger the clutch(electronically) so you trick your car into thinking you have it depressed. Shops usually won't do that for you, unless it's on the side or they make you sign a waiver but I've only seen it done as side work for cash, because it's a huge liability. And yes if you go with a MT capable unit, you have to follow a series of steps called reservation mode. You have to put in the clutch, shift to nuetral, press the brake, release the clutch put on the e brake, release foot brake and voila! Car will keep running for several minutes after you exit(to ensure it is REALLY in neutral, and the doors will lock after you shut them. ONCE THE DOORS LOCK, IF YOU OPEN THE DOOR/unlock you will have to re initiate reservation mode(because the brain unit assumes you have entered the car and could possibly have bumped the shifter into gear) it's a total PITA and I don't think I could stand it although it does have it's advantages. Just to recap I have an hc2 for sale, do your homework, look at the features(which include a turbo timer option) and then pm me for a steal deal! Thanks
Imprezafan93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2016, 10:39 AM   #24
DGMSTI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 435906
Join Date: Dec 2015
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Alberta
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
DGM

Default

Reviving this old thread.

Its now almost been a year and I'm ready to get a remote starter now. I've done a bit more research although still confused on a lot of things, primarily the differences between companies like Fortin who says theirs bypasses and does remote start and how they differ in use from idatalink and compustars. I've been trying to get professional advice however Compustar doesn't have a email I could find or Canadian dealers on their website that specialize in this stuff, and iDatalink is telling me to ask my local dealers which there aren't any :S

Anyways I don't have the time to look up all the different remote starters so I'm choosing the iDatalinkSub2 bypass with a Compustar 7000. Installing it myself with some friends due to I don't trust most people to touch my car.

Questions
1. Do I need to purchase a Blade-Al or Al-Ca as well as a Sub2 or is that what the DL-Sub2 is? I am confused as the DL-Sub2 is categorized under firmware.
2. Does the Compustar come with everything I need including the remote and whatnot therefore all I need are these 2 items?
3. Is there a way to install a turbotimer function into either of these or is there a separate product that does this?
4. Are there any new recommendations since I posted this thread?
DGMSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2016, 12:41 PM   #25
A W
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 265433
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DGMSTI View Post
Thats a great idea. That way I could go OEM and not deal with the problems of aftermarket and the stock keyless entry/pushbutton start. I would hope.

Is there a thread on how to do this?
Wait, did they change it only for the WRX and STI? The OEM remote start on all Subaru models are supposed to shut the car down when you open the driver's door.

I'd rather go with Viper and find a reputable dealer unless you can handle voiding the warranty when you do a self-install with the Viper systems.
A W is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.