Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday October 25, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Alaskan Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Alaskan Impreza Club Forum -- AKIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2012, 10:08 AM   #1
DaBlueSquirrel
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 311480
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Blue

Default Someone help PPPPLLLEEEAAAASSSSEEEE

So I can hook up my accessport, or even my computer using the access tuner, it will read at idle or REALLY light driving. Anytime I try to datalog a WOT pass it stops working and tells me that there is something wrong with the connection. Any thoughts ?????
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by DaBlueSquirrel; 03-15-2012 at 06:13 AM.
DaBlueSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 01:07 PM   #2
Mavrik
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 90347
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage AK
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ & Imp 2.5RS
Yamaha FZ8

Default

loose connection? make sure the cable is secure in the back of the AP and into the OBDII port.
Mavrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 02:34 PM   #3
AK SloPok
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56464
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
12 Ram
White

Default

OK, I have had this issue several times before. First step is to update your AP to the latest firmware. Then, go by RadioShak or similar and get to barrel magnets to snap over your USB cord between the dongle and AP. You shouldn't have any more issues. If you do, check to see how many parameters you are logging and don's select more than 10. Let us know what you find...
AK SloPok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 02:45 PM   #4
Alaskan EJ20
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 160040
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchortown
Vehicle:
2002 Bugi / 1993 L
Symmetry Tuning

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AK SloPok View Post
OK, I have had this issue several times before. First step is to update your AP to the latest firmware. Then, go by RadioShak or similar and get to barrel magnets to snap over your USB cord between the dongle and AP. You shouldn't have any more issues. If you do, check to see how many parameters you are logging and don's select more than 10. Let us know what you find...
interesting solution........

i had this problem also with the cobb all the time. it happens occasionally with romraider but its loose connections normally
Alaskan EJ20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 03:28 PM   #5
White_Rice
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 160049
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage, AK
Default

For some reason Mine always came up as a JDM car lol.
White_Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 05:33 AM   #6
DaBlueSquirrel
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 311480
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Blue

Default

Ok so just a little update.

I checked to see if any cables or pins were loose and all seemed well (i work on electronics for a living) I went as far as taking apart the Dongle to make sure all the solder points were good. I then replaced the cable with a good quality NEW cable and tried again.

It will log up until I let off the gas. As soon as I let off the gas it switches back to the screen saying it lost connectivity and wont capture the log. I then have to unplug and plug it back in. I am getting irritated that I cannot do a damn log. Also it is set to default parameters so Im only logging the bare min.

Any ideas?
DaBlueSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 11:05 AM   #7
retrac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 217208
Join Date: Jul 2009
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Alaska
Vehicle:
996 Porsche 911
Seal Gray

Default

Chad gave you some good points that most of us use... You most likely need ferrite beads for the cable, when the cable picks up high-frequency interference on the shield of the cable, it can cause these issues.
retrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 11:10 AM   #8
DaBlueSquirrel
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 311480
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Blue

Default

Im not sure what exactly ferrite beads are . I havent heard of them before.
DaBlueSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 11:12 AM   #9
retrac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 217208
Join Date: Jul 2009
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Alaska
Vehicle:
996 Porsche 911
Seal Gray

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBlueSquirrel View Post
Im not sure what exactly ferrite beads are . I havent heard of them before.
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=ferrite+beads
retrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 11:16 AM   #10
DaBlueSquirrel
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 311480
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Blue

Default

LOL already googled it. Ive used them on larger scale but they werent called ferrit beads. I will try it out today and keep everyone informed of my results.
DaBlueSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 03:28 PM   #11
Dominator
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 156712
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Vehicle:
1991 Legacy SS
Pearl White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBlueSquirrel View Post
LOL already googled it. Ive used them on larger scale but they werent called ferrit beads. I will try it out today and keep everyone informed of my results.
Lol @ Ferrit Beads. I'm thinking "that's not legal is some states".
Dominator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 04:20 PM   #12
Alaskan EJ20
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 160040
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchortown
Vehicle:
2002 Bugi / 1993 L
Symmetry Tuning

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBlueSquirrel View Post
Ok so just a little update.

I checked to see if any cables or pins were loose and all seemed well (i work on electronics for a living) I went as far as taking apart the Dongle to make sure all the solder points were good. I then replaced the cable with a good quality NEW cable and tried again.

It will log up until I let off the gas. As soon as I let off the gas it switches back to the screen saying it lost connectivity and wont capture the log. I then have to unplug and plug it back in. I am getting irritated that I cannot do a damn log. Also it is set to default parameters so Im only logging the bare min.

Any ideas?
take the obd 2 port out of the under dash and tape them together.
Alaskan EJ20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 06:02 PM   #13
kayetealynn
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 253304
Join Date: Jul 2010
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Eagle River, AK
Vehicle:
2001 Impreza 2.5RS
Plus MOAR

Default

I found that using the tactrix OB2 extension cable worked very well. It's designed to plug in differently than most OB2 cables (from the side, not straight like an accessport or generic ob2 readers/etc)... so it fits better, less likely to knock it out etc. Plus it's like 15 dollars..
kayetealynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 10:26 PM   #14
P3Auto
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 241881
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: 907-355-6655 text or phone
Vehicle:
2014 P3 Import Auto
AWD Dyno, Mods, etc

Default

The Cobb dongles are famous for failing this way. The port in the car may be worn as well. The above post is a good idea and then you can tape up or zip tie the cobb wires so they cannot move.
P3Auto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 10:35 PM   #15
07_STi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 290953
Join Date: Aug 2011
Vehicle:
'12 STi Ltd.

Default

grrr those dongles are a damn pain in my ass. i've been through like 3 already damnit, i recently just broke another and i still have to order one.
07_STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 10:39 PM   #16
DaBlueSquirrel
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 311480
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Blue

Default

I would like to thank everyone for there help. I recorded my first datalog today i went and bought the Ferrite Chokes today and all is well. i was lost when everyone said ferrite beads. lol but all in all it works great now. Below is a link of what i used just in case anyone else needs the info. Thanks again for everyone's assistance.

http://www.iautomate.com/products/Fe...allations.html
DaBlueSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 10:45 PM   #17
cosseywrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 276443
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Abilene, TX
Vehicle:
2005 2.1 stroker WRX
OBP

Default

if you removed your whole EVAP unit (charcoal canister) i would like to see that at some point as i plan to do this as well...you live off badger?
cosseywrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 11:20 PM   #18
DaBlueSquirrel
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 311480
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Blue

Default

Havent removed anything yet, Just trying to get the car up to par first. And yes I do live off badger lol right baout where you seen me that day. My wife works at Badger gas too so she comes home every day and tell me which Subies she saw LOL
DaBlueSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 01:00 AM   #19
Quasimodo_ak
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 310012
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Fairbanks
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBlueSquirrel
Havent removed anything yet, Just trying to get the car up to par first. And yes I do live off badger lol right baout where you seen me that day. My wife works at Badger gas too so she comes home every day and tell me which Subies she saw LOL
That's funny and cool at the same time lol. Hope to meet up with all you guys soon!
Quasimodo_ak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
('93-'01) Grrrrrr.... no smiley faces~! LttLDGN Impreza Forum 5 10-21-2001 09:48 AM
Grrrrrr! joltdudeuc Bay Area Impreza Club Forum -- BAIC 9 10-12-2001 11:42 AM
Grrrrrr! I hate my car now!!! Boom New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 16 05-31-2001 01:25 PM
Grrrrrr, this board is gonna be the death of me... JC General Forum Archive 5 09-17-2000 10:12 PM
Flat spot in acceleration!!!!!! grrrrrr! SubieRacer Technical Forum Archive 29 05-23-2000 11:01 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.