Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday September 17, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2012, 12:19 AM   #1
dillonlightman88
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287889
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hays, kansas
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx

Default IAM .5 when flashed back to stock

Ive been running 89 octane in my stage 1 TP, 08 wrx for the previous tank.(before you give me the typical smiley face and box of popcorn read a bit more) I monitored it daily for any signs of detonation via romraider and learningview. My IAM didn't break from 1 at any point at all, and never read any knock what so ever at WOT.(read a tiny bit, -1.4 at no load but i had seen the same symptom with a full tank of 91. And never any fine learning in learning view) Here is a log of WOT 3rd gear TP stage 1 89 octane

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...3JENnNMeUZvSUE

pulled a learning view after. saw nothing but zeros for fine knock learning, and 1.0 IAM. (these were last week)

So two days ago after running the tank down real low, i filled all the way back up with 91. Over the last two days i burned over a quarter tank and drove no more than 25 miles( probably closer to 20) I was alot more impressed by the gas mileage i was getting with 89 on the tp stage one. Starting questioning TP map a little more.

So tonight i went and logged a bit while sitting in the drive way screwing around, it seemed to be running funny cold so i logged for misfires on all 4 and noticed several misfires on 1 and 3. As shown here:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...3F1bVF3eXZpNkE

So i said screw this, im flashing back to stock. (also prior to all this i felt it was a little bit joltier then the stock map, like you could feel it stair stepping up the cells, while pulling through the gears, almost like some cells needed smoothed out(i think thats an accurate statement)) So I went ahead and flashed back to my stock map. Started it up, read a couple small misfires at idle sitting in the driveway again, then noticed my IAM had changed to a solid .5. 0 knock feedback or fine knock. Went out toook a light cruise checked for knock, nothing. Did a WOT 3rd gear saw this:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...HpwWVI5di1CTWc

pulled a learning view when i got to the driveway and saw that my IAM was .5 , af learning #1showed: 0-<5.6+-1, 5.6-<10.00=.1, 10.00-<40.00=.1, and the last one was zero. All zeros through the fine learning and no codes.

(sorry for the confusing numbers wasnt sure how to upload my screenshot, or what the numbers in af1 mean for that matter)

Sooo thought i would post up and see what everyone, or anyone has to say about my scenario. Input, advice, comments, questions, love to hear it all.

Thanks guys.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
dillonlightman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 12:23 AM   #2
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

the stock tunes have the IAM set at 0.5.

basically thats how subaru sells the car, then the ignition mapping tunes itself based on the various conditions such as octane, elevation, etc.

if the ecu goes through so many cycles without knock it will up the iam.
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 12:41 AM   #3
dillonlightman88
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287889
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hays, kansas
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx

Default

Ic, so.. If I check back after ten fifteen miles on this map there's a good chance I'm going to see 1.0? Is that every time you reset the ecu on a stock map it resets to .5? Any thoughts on my misfires?

Thanx!
dillonlightman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 12:46 AM   #4
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

The default value is 0.5 like i said....so yes any reset on a stock rom kicks the IAM back to 0.5

If nothing else has changed, then misfires are usually the result of a leak.

With an 08 wrx....is 6 years old....so you can start getting into lots of troubleshooting...front02 sensor, spark plugs and gap, leaks, etc.

if you didnt check your spark plug gap i'd start there.....and if you havent replaced your front 02 i'd do that next.

Both bad plugs and bad 02 sensor can cause misfires and horrible gas mileage.
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 12:48 AM   #5
dillonlightman88
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287889
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hays, kansas
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx

Default

Are misfires like this to be of any immediate concern?
dillonlightman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 12:55 AM   #6
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

its not common for a stage1 car to misfire....u just have to do the troubleshooting.

whens the last time you did your plugs and what did you gap them too?

if you're asking how long before your car dies due to misfires....i cant answer that.
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 01:02 AM   #7
dillonlightman88
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287889
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hays, kansas
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx

Default

I put a set of NGks in a couple months back. They were factory gapped. I believe.

And no I'm not asking how long until my car dies from misfires!!

Maybe I need to check into my front 02 sensor, possible my outrages mpg and misfires are hand and hand?

Any input on a troubleshoot process for it?
dillonlightman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 01:09 AM   #8
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

if you didnt check the gap of your plugs, i would start there. "pregapped" plugs are notorious for being over gapped to 0.045-0.055. they should be 0.028-0.030

if you're experiencing alot of hesitation while driving, thats a pretty good sign that your front 02 is bad. The hesitation along with the decreased gas mileage and the misfires could basically point to the plugs or the 02 sensor. Frst, i'd check the plugs and gap since they are cheaper. Then i'd disconnect the front 02 sensor and go drive. if any hesitation is gone, then thats a sing its your front 02.
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 01:22 AM   #9
dillonlightman88
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287889
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hays, kansas
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx

Default

Great input!! Thank you for your help I appreciate it!
dillonlightman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 07:57 PM   #10
dillonlightman88
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287889
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hays, kansas
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx

Default

I'm surprised I haven't gotten anyone brutalize me for using 89 !! Still wondering why the gas mileage was obviously better with 89 in my tank.
dillonlightman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 12:43 AM   #11
NSFW
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 140444
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Near Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
05 Stage Free LGT
ATP 3076, 6MT, AVO FMIC

Default

NSFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 01:52 AM   #12
dillonlightman88
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287889
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hays, kansas
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx

Default

Thanks nsfw. Deffinetely a good read.
dillonlightman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
neccisary to flash back to stock before oil change at the dealer? mattesonb AccessPort 5 02-17-2012 06:50 PM
Flash back to stock question (gutted uppipe) Humboldt wagon Newbies & FAQs 12 10-26-2007 09:57 PM
Noob question on flashing back to stock tokstad Commercial ECU Reflashes 3 11-16-2006 11:06 AM
Can ecutek be flashed back to stock?? MachinesWRX Engine Management & Tuning 1 11-30-2005 08:20 AM
can eku-tek flashed ecus be flashed back to stock programming? dothespeedlimit Engine Management & Tuning 2 03-29-2004 01:22 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.