Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday April 19, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2012, 02:41 AM   #1
iAgiLiiTy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 291957
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Sacramento, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
CGM

Default Cruise Control won't stay set

Not too long ago I had to get a new transmission because the previous owner was an idiot. Ever sense the new transmission, I haven't been able to set my cruise control. You can set it sometimes if its just right, but its really random, and when you finally get it to set, it will turn off in around 5 seconds. The mechanic I took it too first replaced the relay, and it still did the same thing. Then he replaced the switch and it still does it. He now thinks its the wiring harness, and thinks there might be a short. He said the dealer might have some device to quickly check for a short, but because he doesn't, it would be really expensive to test all the wires? Any ideas? Do dealers have this magical tool he speaks of? Its really annoying and I have a big road trip coming up in August
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
iAgiLiiTy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 10:35 AM   #2
dontcallmepete
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 323181
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default

could be the harness, but i would also check the transmission speed sensor. A lot of systems wont engage until a specific speed is met. The vehicle speed sensor and the transmission speed are in both in the transmission and maybe the cat who put it in either hooked them up wrong or not properly. Regardless its worth a look before paying someone more money to just troubleshoot/guess.
dontcallmepete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 04:49 PM   #3
iAgiLiiTy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 291957
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Sacramento, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
CGM

Default

Okay thanks for the ideas. I'll let you know how it goes.
iAgiLiiTy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 05:09 PM   #4
island boyeee
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 171758
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Quincy, MA / St. John, USVI
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Ltd Stg m@!
Blk&Grn / 08 Daytona 675

Default

i've been having this same issue since putting a built 02-03 tranny in my 06

i assumed any speedo stuff was hooked up correctly since the speedometer works. i can turn the cruise control on, but it won't set
island boyeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 05:29 PM   #5
iAgiLiiTy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 291957
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Sacramento, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
CGM

Default

Same. But what gets me is that I can set mine sometimes
iAgiLiiTy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 07:57 PM   #6
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

check the ground wire that is supposed to go from the pitch stop mount on the firewall to the second from the front transmission case bolt

that is one that almost always gets forgotten and broken....and it is VERY NECESSARY
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 08:15 PM   #7
JarHarms
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 138994
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: DeKalb-ish, IL
Vehicle:
06 WRX Ltd SGM 6MT
02 Forester S

Default

What year was your replacement trans from? 05+ 5MTs had a different polarity neutral switch than prior years and throws some a curve ball when putting in a 6MT swap and using the switch that came with the 6MT. Truthfully, I have never taken a DMM to the older 5MT switches so I am not positive that is it. Still worth checking. At least it is easier to switch out on a 5MT than a 6MT.
Like Scotty noted I would look carefully at ground since your issue description sounds intermittent. Good luck

Last edited by JarHarms; 08-01-2012 at 09:25 AM.
JarHarms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 08:42 PM   #8
iAgiLiiTy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 291957
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Sacramento, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
CGM

Default

I'm definitely going to check the pitch mount. I installed an oil pressure sender last weekend and I noticed that there was no nut on the pitch mount connecting to the transmission. I just had the bolt sitting there. Im becoming skeptical about my mechanic
iAgiLiiTy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 02:09 AM   #9
iAgiLiiTy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 291957
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Sacramento, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
CGM

Default

Took a quick look today, ground is connect but it was dark. Tomorrow I inspect it thoroughly.
iAgiLiiTy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 04:58 PM   #10
island boyeee
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 171758
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Quincy, MA / St. John, USVI
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Ltd Stg m@!
Blk&Grn / 08 Daytona 675

Default

every figure it out? my trans is getting reinstalled this week.
island boyeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 02:44 PM   #11
island boyeee
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 171758
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Quincy, MA / St. John, USVI
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Ltd Stg m@!
Blk&Grn / 08 Daytona 675

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JarHarms View Post
What year was your replacement trans from? 05+ 5MTs had a different polarity neutral switch than prior years and throws some a curve ball when putting in a 6MT swap and using the switch that came with the 6MT. Truthfully, I have never taken a DMM to the older 5MT switches so I am not positive that is it. Still worth checking. At least it is easier to switch out on a 5MT than a 6MT.
Pretty sure this may be my issue, since I put an 03 trans in my 06 WRX... any idea how to fix this?
island boyeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! brake lights stay on and cruise control doesnt work hottwrx02 Electrical & Lighting 30 01-20-2014 11:49 PM
STi Cruise Control won't stay set BOFslime Service & Maintenance 64 02-17-2013 12:28 PM
Installed catted DP, now cruise control won't set ekw Newbies & FAQs 22 12-16-2006 05:28 PM
Why would removing cruise control make idle stay permanently at 1500 rpm? garface Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 2 06-13-2005 08:51 PM
Cruise Control Won't Work After Bad Weather jikhead Electrical & Lighting 0 12-27-2004 05:30 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.