Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday August 1, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2012, 12:51 PM   #1
Zoombaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30961
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2002 WRX x2
WRB

Default Going open source after UTEC

I have a 2002 WRX that I purchased with a UTEC installed. I removed the UTEC because I want to go open source instead, but my tuner is unable to access my map. He can monitor everything, but the map is locked. Tried installing an Accessport for grins and it wouldn't work, so something funky is happening.

I have another 2002 WRX ECU from another former UTEC car that has the same problem. I have not tried installing my ECUs in another car to rule out any wiring issues just yet, but it occurred to me that perhaps somehow the UTEC locked us out? If that's the case, is there any way to unlock the map, or do I just need to find another ECU?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Zoombaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 12:59 PM   #2
NITROS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 41561
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago
Vehicle:
04 GT3076 2.1
Stroker = Broken 3rd

Default

Utec doesn't do that. Did your tuner use the blue jumper connector? The newer cars do not require this but 02-03 wrx do. The 04-05 also need a connector but its different than the blue connector for the 02-03 wrx.
NITROS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 01:18 PM   #3
Zoombaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30961
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2002 WRX x2
WRB

Default

All he does is tune Subarus all day every day, so I don't think it was operator error. I suppose my next step would be to either try my ECU in another car or find a known good ECU. I also need to check all the pins of the OBD connector, but beyond that, I'm not sure what else to do. My car needs a tune!
Zoombaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 08:35 AM   #4
NITROS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 41561
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago
Vehicle:
04 GT3076 2.1
Stroker = Broken 3rd

Default

No disrespect to your tuner. I still think it is worth asking the question if he used the jumper connector that is seperate from the 2 green connectors. There any many more cars out there are do not need jumper connector. It may be a small oversight by your tuner. Additionally, this question saves you time from doing possibly unnecessary work.

Additionally, I've never seen a utec cause this problem. I've been using a utec since 2005 and have personally owned 3 seperate ones (keep coming back).
NITROS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 10:23 AM   #5
mowgli29
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 203438
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St. Louis, MO
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NITROS View Post
No disrespect to your tuner. I still think it is worth asking the question if he used the jumper connector that is seperate from the 2 green connectors. There any many more cars out there are do not need jumper connector. It may be a small oversight by your tuner. Additionally, this question saves you time from doing possibly unnecessary work.

Additionally, I've never seen a utec cause this problem. I've been using a utec since 2005 and have personally owned 3 seperate ones (keep coming back).
I agree with Nitros. Make sure he has the "flash block" AND "test connectors" connected.

I've used both Open Source and a UTEC, including using both at the same time...it works just fine! The UTEC is simply a (quite impressive) piggyback. It has no effect on reflashing your ECU...
mowgli29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 04:06 PM   #6
toxin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51259
Join Date: Dec 2003
Vehicle:
2007 WRX
СGM

Default

Contact the previous owner of the car. Your ECU might be locked with Ecutec or something.
toxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 04:24 PM   #7
evan_impreza
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 115276
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Joplin, MO
Vehicle:
04 PSM WRX -sold:(
98 RS- WRX swap complete!

Default

Yup sounds like your ECU is locked from a previous tune. It isn't because of the UTEC though. Either an Accessport that never got unmarried, or Ecutek.
evan_impreza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 12:39 PM   #8
Zoombaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30961
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2002 WRX x2
WRB

Default

Thanks for all the help so far, I will ask him if he used the jumper connector.

Quote:
Originally Posted by toxin View Post
Contact the previous owner of the car. Your ECU might be locked with Ecutec or something.
That was my tuner's thought, but I doubt it because I tried two different ECUs and both had the same problem. The second ECU is a spare from my other car that has an AEM. I know for a fact that that car never had an Ecutec, so I was just trying to figure out if it was an ECU problem (the only thing they have in common is that they both had Utecs), or a problem with the car.

The jumper connector thing is sounding more and more plausible. If it's not that, then I have no idea.
Zoombaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 08:07 PM   #9
Bamofo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159743
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Plymouth Ma
Vehicle:
07 STI Limited
TurboMike Tuned 2.35

Default

IDK... if your saying he tunes subarus all the time then when he got the programming voltage error on ecu flash or ecu edit he would have said duhhh i forgot to plug in the jumper... Sounds more like locked ecu unfortunately..
Bamofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 02:26 AM   #10
Zoombaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30961
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2002 WRX x2
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamofo View Post
IDK... if your saying he tunes subarus all the time then when he got the programming voltage error on ecu flash or ecu edit he would have said duhhh i forgot to plug in the jumper... Sounds more like locked ecu unfortunately..
I honestly don't think he forgot the jumper. I live in Colorado, every other car here is a Subaru. He has probably done hundreds of open source tunes on Subarus, so it's unlikely that he would overlook something that obvious...but I'd be thrilled if that was all it was.

Two locked ECUs in a row? One from a car that I know for a fact only ever had a Utec on it before I went to a standalone? That's why I asked if perhaps the Utec might have locked it. I have been trying to hunt down a known good ECU, but my gut feeling tells me it's something with my car (especially after discovering that an Accessport wouldn't even work on it).

Out of curiosity, do any of you know if there are specific pins in the OBD connector that are used to program the ECU? I'm going to check them all, but if there are certain pins that I should pay special attention to, that would be good to know.

I'm sure it's something simple...I'll be sure to post up whenever I figure it out. And hopefully I figure it out sooner rather than later. Thanks for all the feedback so far.
Zoombaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 02:50 AM   #11
toxin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51259
Join Date: Dec 2003
Vehicle:
2007 WRX
СGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoombaru View Post
I honestly don't think he forgot the jumper. I live in Colorado, every other car here is a Subaru. He has probably done hundreds of open source tunes on Subarus, so it's unlikely that he would overlook something that obvious...but I'd be thrilled if that was all it was.

Two locked ECUs in a row? One from a car that I know for a fact only ever had a Utec on it before I went to a standalone? That's why I asked if perhaps the Utec might have locked it. I have been trying to hunt down a known good ECU, but my gut feeling tells me it's something with my car (especially after discovering that an Accessport wouldn't even work on it).

Out of curiosity, do any of you know if there are specific pins in the OBD connector that are used to program the ECU? I'm going to check them all, but if there are certain pins that I should pay special attention to, that would be good to know.

I'm sure it's something simple...I'll be sure to post up whenever I figure it out. And hopefully I figure it out sooner rather than later. Thanks for all the feedback so far.
Do you have, or can borrow from someone, the Tactrix cable and jumpers? If I were you, I'd try to put the ECUs in your other car and try to read the ROM yourself. If you can't read ROMs from both ECUs on a two different cars, I'll bet that both of them are locked
toxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 01:37 PM   #12
Zoombaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30961
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2002 WRX x2
WRB

Default

I really need to just get my own Tactrix cable and save myself the headache of driving back and forth from my house to my tuner's shop (45 minutes away). I've got a lead on a known good ECU, now I just need to find the time to make the drive to my tuner and try them all in various cars. Oi vey. I'm halfway tempted to just say screw it and get a standalone...but that would be the lazy way. And I'm not lazy. Or am I?
Zoombaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 01:54 PM   #13
toxin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51259
Join Date: Dec 2003
Vehicle:
2007 WRX
СGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoombaru View Post
I really need to just get my own Tactrix cable and save myself the headache of driving back and forth from my house to my tuner's shop (45 minutes away). I've got a lead on a known good ECU, now I just need to find the time to make the drive to my tuner and try them all in various cars. Oi vey. I'm halfway tempted to just say screw it and get a standalone...but that would be the lazy way. And I'm not lazy. Or am I?
LOL Just spend an extra dime, and get yourself a Tactrix cable That will be waaay more cost-effective solution than driving back and forth to the tuner's shop

Last edited by toxin; 04-19-2012 at 02:00 PM.
toxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 02:03 PM   #14
Dartholomew
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 208771
Join Date: Apr 2009
Vehicle:
2009 WRX
OBP

Default

I borrowed a Tactrix cable at first (2009 car so I need the 2.0) in order to save some money (be a cheapskate), and while it worked out great, eventually had to give it back so I needed to get one for logging and map revisions. Turns out the gas and appreciation-beer spent from borrowing the thing could have just gone to the purchase price.

I have my own now and I'm logging almost every day, and making small tweaks to the map on a regular basis. Having an open source tune is an incredible asset for those of us who like to tinker.
Dartholomew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 09:49 AM   #15
Zoombaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30961
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2002 WRX x2
WRB

Default

I am not opposed to buying a Tactrix cable. In fact, the only reason I haven't done so already is because I have no idea where to get it and which one I need, and I haven't had time to look into it. If someone could point me in the right direction, that would be swell!

I contacted the previous owners of both of my cars. As it turns out, fast wagon (where the spare ECU came from) had an Ecutek, and slow wagon (the one I'm trying to tune) had a Cobb reflash way back in the day, as well as an "early piggyback". I'm assuming he's referring to the Utec in that case. Mystery solved?
Zoombaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 10:07 AM   #16
toxin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51259
Join Date: Dec 2003
Vehicle:
2007 WRX
СGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoombaru View Post
I am not opposed to buying a Tactrix cable. In fact, the only reason I haven't done so already is because I have no idea where to get it and which one I need, and I haven't had time to look into it. If someone could point me in the right direction, that would be swell!

I contacted the previous owners of both of my cars. As it turns out, fast wagon (where the spare ECU came from) had an Ecutek, and slow wagon (the one I'm trying to tune) had a Cobb reflash way back in the day, as well as an "early piggyback". I'm assuming he's referring to the Utec in that case. Mystery solved?
Yep, mystery solved. Both Ecutek and Cobb reflashes lock the ECUs.
The easiest solution is to get used unlocked ECU and the Tactrix cable. You can buy it used (1.3 is good for your car) or order it brand new from tactrix.com. Either way, you'll need to get reflash jumpers as well. After that you download Ecuflash and RomRader and you can rock-n-roll
toxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 12:21 PM   #17
Zoombaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30961
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2002 WRX x2
WRB

Default

I will hopefully have that unlocked ECU tomorrow. I love solving mysteries. Time to order my cable!
Zoombaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open source vs Utec tune? killichnakropf Newbies & FAQs 1 09-10-2010 11:39 AM
Open source OR UTEC forsakenforlife Newbies & FAQs 16 01-13-2010 02:50 PM
Help figure what's the best way too go open source or cobb????????? rdiaz206 Open Source Reflashes 3 03-14-2009 02:33 AM
Keep AP or go Open Source Gray Ghost North West Impreza Club Forum -- NWIC 31 12-16-2008 06:53 PM
Going open source, saftey periperals? sciroccokid Commercial ECU Reflashes 29 08-08-2007 04:24 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.