Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday July 28, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Service & Maintenance

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2012, 12:09 PM   #1
kerdos
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 318073
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default Helpp! cobb AP and failed emmsions

Hey everyone, i just took my 06 wrx for emmisions...and it failed. I have Cobb Accessport 2. It failed emmisions because the obd2 had no connection to the emmisions computer. The connector voltage was 0 and the communication status failed. Could anyone help me out here? when i plug in the accessport, it turns on and reads fine so i dont think it would be a fuse? i was reading around and someone said that cobb confuses the CT emmisions testing computer or something? I dono i have a little less then a month to get these emmisions done, any help would be greatt
Heres a pic of the sheet:

* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
kerdos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 12:22 PM   #2
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2007 CGM VF'd WRX
12.70 @ 108.4mph

Default

Does your power outlet work?
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 12:50 PM   #3
kerdos
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 318073
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default

ill have to check that, ill get back to you on that
kerdos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 05:24 PM   #4
kerdos
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 318073
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default

my power outlet did have power, infact i had this little usb thing plugged in there, could something being pluged in effect this at all?
kerdos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 05:32 PM   #5
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2007 CGM VF'd WRX
12.70 @ 108.4mph

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kerdos
my power outlet did have power, infact i had this little usb thing plugged in there, could something being pluged in effect this at all?
no, you have a wiring or some other type of electrical problem. what you should do, is checking every fuse in your fuse box and make sure they are all good. your cobb accessport is not the source of this problem.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 08:51 PM   #6
kerdos
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 318073
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default

alright, i just didnt understand how the accessport could work when i plugged it in but the emmisions testing plug didnt have connectivity, but ill chek all fuses and try a different testing station
kerdos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 09:00 PM   #7
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2007 CGM VF'd WRX
12.70 @ 108.4mph

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kerdos View Post
alright, i just didnt understand how the accessport could work when i plugged it in but the emmisions testing plug didnt have connectivity, but ill chek all fuses and try a different testing station

i'm not sure how the emissions testing goes out in CT, but here in RI, if you go to another inspection station, you will have to pay again. What you should do is check all of your fuses, and contact a "state referee" there may be something else that can be done, that wont cost you additional money.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 09:15 PM   #8
ragejed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 76817
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
Black

Default

I have the Cobb AP2, running stage 2 and passed twice so far in CT. So the AP is not the cause of the issue.
ragejed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 01:50 PM   #9
BeastianSTI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 310506
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Florida
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STi
Blown Up Color

Default

When was the last time you unplugged your battery? If it has been somewhat recently, you may need to wait for more cycles to pass, before things will be kosher. This of course would be second to the suggestion of checking the fuse. Isn't there some type of modification you need to do.

Perhaps take it for a decent drive (over 100 miles), check the fuses, and go to Advanced Auto to "check" for CEL. It'll throw an error to them, and you'll save yourself some money by not bombing out at the DMV or whatever.
BeastianSTI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 08:46 AM   #10
kerdos
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 318073
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default

ok ill do that first, thank you
kerdos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 11:01 PM   #11
leecea
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 37359
Join Date: May 2003
Vehicle:
2003 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeastianSTI View Post
When was the last time you unplugged your battery? If it has been somewhat recently, you may need to wait for more cycles to pass, before things will be kosher. This of course would be second to the suggestion of checking the fuse. Isn't there some type of modification you need to do.

Perhaps take it for a decent drive (over 100 miles), check the fuses, and go to Advanced Auto to "check" for CEL. It'll throw an error to them, and you'll save yourself some money by not bombing out at the DMV or whatever.
You're thinking his monitors are not ready, but the sheet he posted shows they can't even connect to the OBD-II port to get any type of reading. The port is dead according to them. Trying AutoZone is a good idea - see if they can connect.

There's a post by someone else with a similar issue and he's looking to see of any pins are damaged on his connector. Just an idea.
leecea is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELPP cobb ap RJ2120 Newbies & FAQs 7 08-16-2011 08:51 PM
Performance and Looks! Cobb AP and 04-05 or 06-07 BlackTop Aero CF lip for under $1k RavSpec Engine Management 6 02-01-2010 09:34 PM
FS: COBB AP and Stock 03 WRX parts ProSTI Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 4 12-28-2004 09:11 PM
Cobb AP and NE winter conditions question Jduke Engine Management & Tuning 6 12-08-2004 05:57 PM
Cobb AP and HKS TT DOHCammin Engine Management & Tuning 4 10-02-2004 02:57 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.