Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday November 25, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2012, 03:08 PM   #1
Whitenukl
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 305215
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Cobb V2 question

I have searched first off which leads me to this question...if I have a ringland failure, will my access port show a code? Thanks in advance
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Whitenukl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 03:12 PM   #2
jts749
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 281293
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Loves Park, IL
Vehicle:
2006 WRX CGM
1993 Saturn SC2 turbo

Default

You should get a misfire code for a cylinder with a broken ringland.
jts749 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 04:05 PM   #3
RoadKillDMD
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 284792
Join Date: Jun 2011
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Vanilla Valley, CO
Vehicle:
2011 STI
Blurple

Default

^^ Ring land failures won't necessarily throw a code. You'll experience excessive oil consumption, smoke at start up, smokey blow by with the oil filler cap off, etc etc. I don't think the car nor the AP can detect if there is low compression in a piston. However, you may experience detonation followed by a CEL. This detonation can cause the ring land failure.
RoadKillDMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 05:16 PM   #4
Whitenukl
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 305215
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default

I get excessive oil consumption. But no smoke on start up or under load or boost. Did the oil cap test, no smoke blowing out of the hole. No cel. But I can't diagnose why the car is stalling out and idle is bad. Cant find any vacuum leaks, cleaned the maf, and it's not throwing any codes. On cold starts its blowing oil outta the exhaust but i just asssumed its just running rich. I'm gonna take it in tomorrow to a shop and have a compression test done. Thanks guys

Last edited by Whitenukl; 06-30-2012 at 06:46 PM.
Whitenukl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 06:25 PM   #5
Whitenukl
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 305215
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default

Sorry about that. It was originally an AP question. So is there an answer? It will or won't? Can anyone else chime in since I've got 1 yes and 1 no answer please.
Whitenukl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:25 AM   #6
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitenukl View Post
Sorry about that. It was originally an AP question. So is there an answer? It will or won't? Can anyone else chime in since I've got 1 yes and 1 no answer please.
No, you generally won't get any diagnostic trouble code with a busted ringland. Loss of compression may eventually get to the point to cause a misfire, but a misfire code can have many other causes as well. However, you do tend to see large unexplained knock corrections (including a drop in the dynamic advance multiplier - DAM) with a broken ringland that does not improve with more conservative maps (or higher octane gas). The only way to determine for sure, though, is to get a compression/leakdown test of the motor.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 03:34 PM   #7
Whitenukl
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 305215
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default

^^^thanks for your help
Whitenukl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cobb AccessPORT V2 question..? 801wrx AccessPort 3 03-23-2012 12:53 PM
Cobb AccessPORT V2 question..? 801wrx AccessPort 2 03-12-2012 07:36 PM
Quick question about Cobb V2 compatibility Scott_2.5TS AccessPort 2 09-01-2011 04:01 PM
WTB: Cobb V2 accessport 04-07 STI, Cobb catless downpipe MarkRx TXIC Private Classifieds 1 08-17-2011 10:58 PM
FS : in WA, Cobb v2 AP (AP-SUB-003) and AVO v2 TMIC DGMLGT07 NWIC Private Classifieds 3 05-06-2011 09:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.