Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday October 2, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2012, 10:03 PM   #1
ryblair
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 309638
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Nevada
Vehicle:
2011 wrx premium
dark metallic grey

Default Accesstuner for tp tune

So I have a bit of a dilemma. My computer is a Mac and access tuner race only works on windows. Can I use a friends windows to then get it on my accessport? Would my friend have to have ap manager? If he did have ap manager would it only work on his ap when the tune was on his computer? Any help appreciated thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ryblair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 09:36 AM   #2
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryblair View Post
So I have a bit of a dilemma. My computer is a Mac and access tuner race only works on windows. Can I use a friends windows to then get it on my accessport? Would my friend have to have ap manager? If he did have ap manager would it only work on his ap when the tune was on his computer? Any help appreciated thanks
You can possibly use a windows emulator with a mac and run the AccessTUNER Race software. If you want to use your friend's computer, AP Manager will recognize the AccessPORT that is connected and you will be able to load maps specific to your car when yours is connected and he will be able to separately load maps for his car when his is connected.

Keep in mind that AccessTUNER Race software is only necessary if you are going to tuning the car yourself.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 05:04 PM   #3
ryblair
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 309638
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Nevada
Vehicle:
2011 wrx premium
dark metallic grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobb Tuning
You can possibly use a windows emulator with a mac and run the AccessTUNER Race software. If you want to use your friend's computer, AP Manager will recognize the AccessPORT that is connected and you will be able to load maps specific to your car when yours is connected and he will be able to separately load maps for his car when his is connected.

Keep in mind that AccessTUNER Race software is only necessary if you are going to tuning the car yourself.

Bill
Torqued performance maps state that you must have accessTUNER race software you get there map onto my accessport. I would use your guys Cobb tune but I got a catless dp. Any suggestions on this Bill? Thanks for your support
ryblair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 08:22 PM   #4
101101
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 260658
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Raleigh, NC
Vehicle:
2011 STI Sedan
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobb Tuning View Post
You can possibly use a windows emulator with a mac and run the AccessTUNER Race software.
I have a Mac (OSX 10.7) with a bootcamp partition (Win 7). When I run Parallels and run Win 7 in Mac AccessTuner Race doesn't connect to the AP. When I boot into Windows it works fine. Basically I'm saying you may need to install Windows in bootcamp to run ATR (based on my experience). I haven't tried any other setups for running Windows in Mac.
101101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 09:19 AM   #5
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryblair View Post
Torqued performance maps state that you must have accessTUNER race software you get there map onto my accessport. I would use your guys Cobb tune but I got a catless dp. Any suggestions on this Bill? Thanks for your support
That is not a normal procedure. Sounds like they are using a version of AccessTUNER Race for another car to create the tunes (rather than AccessTUNER Pro) and then requiring you to open and save the map in your version of AccessTUNER Race so that the serial number on the map will be correct for your AccessPORT. Is that the instructions they gave you? If so, then you'll have to find a computer that you can install AccessTUNER Race on. Normally, though, a custom tune would be completed by a tuner using the Pro software and then you would simply use AccessPORT Manager software to copy it to your AccessPORT.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:43 AM   #6
ryblair
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 309638
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Nevada
Vehicle:
2011 wrx premium
dark metallic grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobb Tuning
That is not a normal procedure. Sounds like they are using a version of AccessTUNER Race for another car to create the tunes (rather than AccessTUNER Pro) and then requiring you to open and save the map in your version of AccessTUNER Race so that the serial number on the map will be correct for your AccessPORT. Is that the instructions they gave you? If so, then you'll have to find a computer that you can install AccessTUNER Race on. Normally, though, a custom tune would be completed by a tuner using the Pro software and then you would simply use AccessPORT Manager software to copy it to your AccessPORT.

Bill
That must be what they do then. That kinda sketches me out now that I think about it. But I always here about how good tp tunes are. Anyways thanks for your help bill that answered all my questions
ryblair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 05:05 PM   #7
ryblair
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 309638
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Nevada
Vehicle:
2011 wrx premium
dark metallic grey

Default

I decided to go with a pdx tune. I read good things about them and I don't need windows to transfer it to manager. Does anybody have this tune running stage 2 setup?
ryblair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 05:53 PM   #8
bacalhau16
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 297565
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dartmouth, MA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX hatch
Silver

Default

I actually have the tp stage 2 tune and love it. It was a huge improvement off the Cobb Ots stage 2 tune.
bacalhau16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 08:57 PM   #9
guygettnby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 298231
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: maryland
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
WRB

Default

I also run the tp stage 2 tune and love it. there is no reason to feel bad or get an uneasy feeling about eric or his maps. I couldn't be happier with him or his stage 2 map.

Until I actually get a dyno tune I will use a tp map. it was a huge improvement over cobbs map and I get no knock with a tp map.
guygettnby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 10:58 PM   #10
BigRob74
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 305107
Join Date: Dec 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2012 wrx
360/386 E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryblair View Post
I decided to go with a pdx tune.?
never heard of them, keep us posted

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacalhau16 View Post
I actually have the tp stage 2 tune and love it. It was a huge improvement off the Cobb Ots stage 2 tune.
x1000000000
Quote:
Originally Posted by guygettnby View Post
I also run the tp stage 2 tune and love it. there is no reason to feel bad or get an uneasy feeling about eric or his maps. I couldn't be happier with him or his stage 2 map.

Until I actually get a dyno tune I will use a tp map. it was a huge improvement over cobbs map and I get no knock with a tp map.
x100000000000000000000000
BigRob74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 11:25 PM   #11
ryblair
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 309638
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Nevada
Vehicle:
2011 wrx premium
dark metallic grey

Default

I decided to order a tune from of tuning because of the Mac book issue I have heard good things from tp and pdx but this was the best solution for me. Tune should be here tomorrow then I'm installing TBE after work. I'm excited!
ryblair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 07:14 AM   #12
guygettnby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 298231
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: maryland
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryblair View Post
I decided to order a tune from of tuning because of the Mac book issue I have heard good things from tp and pdx but this was the best solution for me. Tune should be here tomorrow then I'm installing TBE after work. I'm excited!
w/e route you decide to go have fun with it. just make sure to do a bunch of logs to make sure your not having any issues.

will they modify the map you buy from them if there are any issues?
guygettnby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 10:40 AM   #13
ryblair
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 309638
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Nevada
Vehicle:
2011 wrx premium
dark metallic grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guygettnby

w/e route you decide to go have fun with it. just make sure to do a bunch of logs to make sure your not having any issues.

will they modify the map you buy from them if there are any issues?
Yes, from what I heard I am allowed 2 revisions, and I will take advantage of both of them. Pdx seems to have a lot I experience with subarus. I have done a lo of research on them. I like the fact that they build the tunebaround your exact modifications. I'm just waiting for my email with my tune to come in today as long as it comes I will be putting on my catless turboxs exhaust on today. Thanks for the heads up
ryblair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 04:28 PM   #14
BigRob74
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 305107
Join Date: Dec 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2012 wrx
360/386 E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryblair View Post
I will be putting on my catless turboxs exhaust on today. Thanks for the heads up
hatch or sedan?
BigRob74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 04:35 PM   #15
ryblair
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 309638
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Nevada
Vehicle:
2011 wrx premium
dark metallic grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRob74

hatch or sedan?
Sedan
ryblair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:41 PM   #16
BigRob74
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 305107
Join Date: Dec 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2012 wrx
360/386 E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryblair View Post
Sedan
in for a clip, having a catless DP im not sure on what catback to run, although the turboXS is on the top of my list...
BigRob74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 10:51 AM   #17
ryblair
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 309638
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Nevada
Vehicle:
2011 wrx premium
dark metallic grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRob74

in for a clip, having a catless DP im not sure on what catback to run, although the turboXS is on the top of my list...
I'll put a video up on the exhaust compilation thread within a week or so. Weather was to bad for me to put it on yesterday and I got off work late. I'll post back here to let you know when I put it up if you want me too
ryblair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 05:18 PM   #18
BigRob74
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 305107
Join Date: Dec 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2012 wrx
360/386 E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryblair View Post
I'll put a video up on the exhaust compilation thread within a week or so. Weather was to bad for me to put it on yesterday and I got off work late. I'll post back here to let you know when I put it up if you want me too
thanks man, appreciate it!
BigRob74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.