Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday August 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2012, 12:59 AM   #51
altezza2impreza
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95516
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Spending money in classifieds
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
DGM

Default

I love this, but If I bought an n7 I would want the ability to remove it with little ease. This would also pose a problem with theft, but it would be as simple as removing it and hiding it under the seat taking it in the house etc. I'm going to look into this. Thanks and great job!!!!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
altezza2impreza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 11:57 AM   #52
Shiv9
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 329699
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default

I was going to do that but I got a really good deal on an avic before the 7 come out.
I'd suggest dropping the HU for a signal processor or installing the HU in the rear with a remote face.
Shiv9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:45 PM   #53
black thunder
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 210047
Join Date: Apr 2009
Vehicle:
im a scooby guru
really

Default

last piece of the puzzle. torque app for engine diagnostics

needs some tweaking tho


black thunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 06:30 PM   #54
pikebike
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 272991
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Arlington VA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
Black

Default

this has so much awesome.
Are there any adapters to allow use of the steering wheel controls, or is that asking too much?

Also, in some of your pics it looks like there's a slight difference between the left and right bezel overhang. Is that just bad picture angles or is it actually like that?
pikebike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 11:21 PM   #55
blessthekellen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 273859
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Alberta.
Vehicle:
MY98
WRX

Default

Absolutely you could do steering wheel controls.

You just need to do an aftermarket deck that has the option for it, then buy the module for it and wire it up (:
blessthekellen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 06:31 PM   #56
flyboy1100
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 314216
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: ND
Vehicle:
2012 2.0i Sport 5MT
DGM

Default

why not use an Alpine KTP 445 for an amplifier, and then you can just use the Nexus to control the volume output? would make for a much simplier install i think.
flyboy1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 12:54 AM   #57
minhha2006
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 154914
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Bethesda MD
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
UGM

Default

Any updates?
minhha2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 04:59 PM   #58
black thunder
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 210047
Join Date: Apr 2009
Vehicle:
im a scooby guru
really

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pikebike View Post
this has so much awesome.
Are there any adapters to allow use of the steering wheel controls, or is that asking too much?

Also, in some of your pics it looks like there's a slight difference between the left and right bezel overhang. Is that just bad picture angles or is it actually like that?
its in there centered and symmetrical

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy1100 View Post
why not use an Alpine KTP 445 for an amplifier, and then you can just use the Nexus to control the volume output? would make for a much simplier install i think.
not audio savvy enough to know that

Quote:
Originally Posted by minhha2006 View Post
Any updates?
nothing new to update. been using it perfectly since last update. only thing i havent figured out is the charging issue. but the nexus will last 4-5 days on a charge so i just pop it out and charge on the weekends.
black thunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 05:11 PM   #59
flyboy1100
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 314216
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: ND
Vehicle:
2012 2.0i Sport 5MT
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by black thunder View Post
its in there centered and symmetrical



not audio savvy enough to know that



nothing new to update. been using it perfectly since last update. only thing i havent figured out is the charging issue. but the nexus will last 4-5 days on a charge so i just pop it out and charge on the weekends.

you would just need a 3.5mm to RCA cord to hook up to the amp.
flyboy1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 06:55 PM   #60
black thunder
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 210047
Join Date: Apr 2009
Vehicle:
im a scooby guru
really

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy1100 View Post
you would just need a 3.5mm to RCA cord to hook up to the amp.
true, i do have the cable already. whats a good amp?
black thunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 07:25 PM   #61
flyboy1100
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 314216
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: ND
Vehicle:
2012 2.0i Sport 5MT
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by black thunder
true, i do have the cable already. whats a good amp?
I just put a ktp445 in my car, I'm impressed with it. You could ditch the hu if you went that route
flyboy1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 07:48 PM   #62
uspopo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 317014
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY/CA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limited CVT
ISM

Default

That is awesome bro...
uspopo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 07:04 AM   #63
band wagon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 273851
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: p.g maryland
Vehicle:
03 wrx

Default

how did you get your icons on the bottom instead of the top? My setup is similar and i think its better to still run a radio. I currently use slacker as my primary source for audio and the radio comes in use when my doesn't have service or slacker is acting up
band wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 09:47 AM   #64
black thunder
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 210047
Join Date: Apr 2009
Vehicle:
im a scooby guru
really

Default

those buttons are from an app called media buttons. they used to work on my kindle but dont work on my nexus 7 yet probably because of jelly bean
black thunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 09:10 PM   #65
ta_forever
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 305609
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
OBP

Default

Would there be a way to hook a backup camera into this setup?
ta_forever is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:58 AM   #66
razrielle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 205698
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wichita, KS
Default

so....heres my question. How do you turn the tablet on and off? Do you have it to where when it gets power the screen is always on? I dont have the Nexus 7 but every tablet I have seen has the power button on one of the sides.
razrielle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 07:11 PM   #67
03WrxWagon112
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 334412
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Romney, WV
Vehicle:
02 Wrx
WRB

Default

That is fantastic
03WrxWagon112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 01:32 AM   #68
black thunder
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 210047
Join Date: Apr 2009
Vehicle:
im a scooby guru
really

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ta_forever View Post
Would there be a way to hook a backup camera into this setup?
i dunno maybe. look in the app store if theres a corresponding app then you got your answer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by razrielle View Post
so....heres my question. How do you turn the tablet on and off? Do you have it to where when it gets power the screen is always on? I dont have the Nexus 7 but every tablet I have seen has the power button on one of the sides.
its linked to the cars ignition. so when i turn on the car accessories itll turn on the tablet screen. when i turn it off, itll turn off the screen on the tablet but not completely shut down. all this is done thru the tasker app which basically has a task to follow if the usb is plugged (car on) or unplugged (car off). i do have a widget button to do a hard reset tho if needed.
black thunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 02:49 PM   #69
SPIRK
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 251707
Join Date: Jul 2010
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado Springs
Vehicle:
2011 WRX 4d Wingless
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by black thunder View Post
only thing i havent figured out is the charging issue. but the nexus will last 4-5 days on a charge so i just pop it out and charge on the weekends.
Wire in an aux 12V accessory plug (lighter port) and plug a 1 amp usb charger into it. They sell them at any parts store and they're pretty simple to install. It will turn on and off with the car and keep the nexus charged enough to where you never have to remove it.
SPIRK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 01:40 AM   #70
konradlip
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 324795
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Buffalo
Vehicle:
2004 WRX wagon
PSM

Default

I love this post. I'm going to do something similar to this. I really don't want to use a radio since it will be an extra battery drainage. I found that a Clarion Equalizer does the job even better than a radio since it have 7v outputs and I don't even use the radio. A good place to mount it will be where the cup holder is. Also to make it look more fancy i would trim the radio bezel so you can see the whole black glass screen of the nexus. This would also bring it closer. I do have a question about the wiring tho. How it the battery holding up? Did the nexus die on you yet?
konradlip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:12 AM   #71
jcolomde
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 339410
Join Date: Dec 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by black thunder View Post
last piece of the puzzle. torque app for engine
Is that app accurate? how does it get the readings?
jcolomde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:36 AM   #72
luan87us
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 335013
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SL,UT
Vehicle:
2013 Premium WRX 5dr
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcolomde View Post
Is that app accurate? how does it get the readings?
There's a few type of bluetooth OBD II scanner you can use with android devices.
luan87us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:18 AM   #73
jcolomde
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 339410
Join Date: Dec 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by luan87us View Post
There's a few type of bluetooth OBD II scanner you can use with android devices.
ohhh okay.. well they plug the same place that my AP does so that kills that idea lol. thanks
jcolomde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 12:11 PM   #74
luan87us
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 335013
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SL,UT
Vehicle:
2013 Premium WRX 5dr
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcolomde View Post
ohhh okay.. well they plug the same place that my AP does so that kills that idea lol. thanks
Well do you have to have your AP plug in all the time? I thought once you flash the ECU you can remove the AP. Just use the tablet as the info screen for your ECU instead of the AP.
luan87us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 01:43 PM   #75
jcolomde
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 339410
Join Date: Dec 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by luan87us View Post
Well do you have to have your AP plug in all the time? I thought once you flash the ECU you can remove the AP. Just use the tablet as the info screen for your ECU instead of the AP.
I'll have to find out if ALL the settings get saved on to the ecu.
jcolomde is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.