Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday August 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2012, 01:25 PM   #1
skinny_wrx05
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 270662
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Allentown, PA
Default AP Locked My ECU!!!

I just recently purchased a Version 2 AP for my 2005 WRX. Last night I attempted changing maps on my car, only for the AP to tell me that it could not communicate with my car mid-reflash. As a result, it locked my ECU and my car is unable to start. I had my local Subaru shop test all the connections on my car and they came back fine. The AP is married to that ECU and I can`t retrieve any information. I don`t want to try loading up the AP to the new ECU in fears that it will lock the new ECU. Do I send the old AP back for a replacement? And what about the bill for the new ECU? It`s a direct result from the AP.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
skinny_wrx05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 01:53 PM   #2
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skinny_wrx05 View Post
I just recently purchased a Version 2 AP for my 2005 WRX. Last night I attempted changing maps on my car, only for the AP to tell me that it could not communicate with my car mid-reflash. As a result, it locked my ECU and my car is unable to start. I had my local Subaru shop test all the connections on my car and they came back fine. The AP is married to that ECU and I can`t retrieve any information. I don`t want to try loading up the AP to the new ECU in fears that it will lock the new ECU. Do I send the old AP back for a replacement? And what about the bill for the new ECU? It`s a direct result from the AP.
Hi there. Sorry for your troubles. I would give your customer service department a call: 866-922-3059

Keep in mind that we do have the capability to recover the ECU in most cases. There may not be a need for a new ECU. Our customer service staff can discuss your options here.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 04:39 PM   #3
DabiDa
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 307041
Join Date: Jan 2012
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Nor*Cal
Vehicle:
2002 impreza wrx
psm

Default

+1 For Cobb,This happened to me and Cobb had me back on the road in about 4 days.Cobb's customer service is outstanding
DabiDa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 05:05 PM   #4
jebjkey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73884
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Naples, ITALY
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2006 Evolution MR

Default

Lets see if i have this correct:
You had a communications error while you were flashing a map using your AP
You went to a Subaru shop (dealer?) to get it fixed
You bought a new ECU based on their recommendation
You came to NASIOC to find out what you should do now

I do not know what to tell you buddy. Lets try this; here is what you should have done:
You had a communications error while you were flashing a map using your AP
You contact Cobb about the issue (or come to NASIOC and get sent to Cobb)
Cobb helps you fix your problem
You move on and be happy

It is doubtful that you needed a new ECU and you definitely should not have bought one before you contacted Cobb for help. Live and learn I guess.
jebjkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:58 PM   #5
insany
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 208652
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Arizona
Vehicle:
2006 WRX STI
Black

Default

Does anyone know how to unlock my ECU. It was tuned with AP right before I purchased it. However I have no clue where the tuning company is located and the dealership doesn't recall. So now I'm stuck with my ECU that can only be tuned with AP . Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I currently don't have the money to buy an AP, so buying one is out of the question.
insany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:31 PM   #6
bacalhau16
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 297565
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dartmouth, MA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX hatch
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by insany
Does anyone know how to unlock my ECU. It was tuned with AP right before I purchased it. However I have no clue where the tuning company is located and the dealership doesn't recall. So now I'm stuck with my ECU that can only be tuned with AP . Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I currently don't have the money to buy an AP, so buying one is out of the question.
Start your own thread as there are a few things to discuss.
bacalhau16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 12:32 AM   #7
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by insany View Post
Does anyone know how to unlock my ECU. It was tuned with AP right before I purchased it. However I have no clue where the tuning company is located and the dealership doesn't recall. So now I'm stuck with my ECU that can only be tuned with AP . Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I currently don't have the money to buy an AP, so buying one is out of the question.
How do you know that it is tuned with an AccessPORT? If you are certain and you can find someone in your local area that has a compatible version 2 AccessPORT with your car (there are 3 part numbers SUB-001, SUB-002, SUB-003 that cover different groups of cars), they can temporarily uninstall it from their car, install it to your car, uninstall it from your car and as long as there was an AccessPORT reflash on there (version 1 or 2), then the ECU will be returned to a stock image.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 10:00 PM   #8
insany
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 208652
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Arizona
Vehicle:
2006 WRX STI
Black

Default

Thank you Bill! It worked like a charm
insany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 01:34 PM   #9
fitrider82
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 300855
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: On a lake, MI
Vehicle:
2005 Subaru WRX STi
Aspen White

Default

Hey man, got the $20 you're inbox is full. Good luck with your ECU.
fitrider82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.