Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 2, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2012, 08:25 PM   #1
Layvon
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 195711
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cadillac MI
Vehicle:
STi 04/05/06/07
JBP / OBP for now

Default Logging Wideband Serial

I have had some major issues trying to get my computer to read this serial output from my AEM wideband. I have searched.

Hardware:
I have Windows 7 32 bit professional.
I have a gigaware cable
I have a Busted finger motor sport female serial adapter.
Black lead I have a 10ga wire hooked to, and tried grounding under the passenger seat where that ground stud is. And up near the ECU.

Blue Lead is obviously coming from the gauge. I'd estimate I have about 6-7feet of 14 gauge wire coming to that. I'm using a bolt through two ring terminals, that way once it is working, I can push the aem blue cord back into the bottom of the gauge pod, and it is out of sight till i want to log again. I dno't think that this connection is an issue as I have it bolted right down tight.

Software.
I had BFMs Serial to USB adapter and the thing was a piece of poop. Glad I got it free. So today I bought this gigawear one to try it out. At least my yellow exclamation mark went away and the drivers appeared to work.

First I tried Romraider. Initial setup was with the proper settings from AEMs site and no luck. Confirmed that I was using the port that my tactrix cable wasn't plugged into, and tested again. Still no luck.

I have tried to use hyperterminal as a standalone to communicate with the gauge. hyperterminal boots up and doesn't spit an error when I go through it, but I've never used this program before so I'm not 100% sure I'm doing it right. Seems pretty easy to do this with though.

I then started really digging, and I came across some AEM progauge program, which I think might be a good program if you wanted to log everything from gauges only, so you could monitor more stuff.

In short. . . I'm stuck. I'm trying to get some logs to my tuner that include AFR in them so I can get off this darn initial base map.

Any help appreciated. I have thick skin so if i'm being a dumb ass tell me!!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Layvon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:42 PM   #2
Layvon
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 195711
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cadillac MI
Vehicle:
STi 04/05/06/07
JBP / OBP for now

Default

http://imageshack.us/a/img21/5619/9600q.jpg

I have also tried 19200 to see if that worked and no luck with that either.
Levon
Layvon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:02 AM   #3
Layvon
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 195711
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cadillac MI
Vehicle:
STi 04/05/06/07
JBP / OBP for now

Default

Bump for some help!
Layvon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 01:04 PM   #4
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2007 CGM VF'd WRX
12.70 @ 108.4mph

Default

I'd like to see how you connected your wires (blue) and how you have them hooked to the serial cable.


Don't tell me, show me.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 01:42 PM   #5
Layvon
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 195711
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cadillac MI
Vehicle:
STi 04/05/06/07
JBP / OBP for now

Default

Thank you for the potential help!

However I just stopped at home because my newest serial to USB cable arrived ... I got everything working within 10 seconds. It was purely a software issue with windows 7 communicating to the serialcable.

I will post the 1 that I used very shortly once I get to a computer. I cannot believe how much of a struggle it was just to get windows 7 to communicate with it, this is the first instance I have not like Windows 7.

Oh well no harm no foul I will be data logging tonight after work.
Layvon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:51 PM   #6
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2007 CGM VF'd WRX
12.70 @ 108.4mph

Default

When I ran mine, I used a female(I think) DB9
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:52 PM   #7
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2007 CGM VF'd WRX
12.70 @ 108.4mph

Default

When I ran mine, I used a female(I think) DB9 connector from radio shack. I used the crimp on/slide in pins. Then used a serial to USB that I bought off Amazon. Grabbed some random drivers I found off Google. I had it all working on the first shot.


But then again... I am using WinXP...
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 08:21 AM   #8
Layvon
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 195711
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cadillac MI
Vehicle:
STi 04/05/06/07
JBP / OBP for now

Default

Yeah, Windows XP is nice because a good portion of the laptops that came with XP from the factory have a serial port on them. My original computer did, and would have made logging a breeze, but my logging computer decided to brick on me saturday, so I had to use my company computer to do it. Not all bad, my xp computer didn't have internet so it was a pain in the butt to work with, and had no battery life, so it was just a bricked ECU waiting to happen.



CABLE THAT WORKS WITH WINDOWS 7CABLE THAT WORKS WITH WINDOWS 7
Layvon is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.