Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday July 5, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2012, 09:59 PM   #1
mjm4jc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 241731
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northeast PA
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza Sedan
Turquoise

Default FWD Fuse

Ok, I read many posts concerning the torque bind problem, but before I dig further, I would like to know why there is no power at the fuse, when I put it in the FWD socket? I wanted to put the FWD fuse in to see if the torque bind would go away. The car is a 97 Impreza L--all stock. It seems that if everything was working properly, electrically speaking, I should have power at that fuse when I put it in. Any suggestions?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
mjm4jc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 04-13-2012, 11:40 PM   #2
mjm4jc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 241731
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northeast PA
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza Sedan
Turquoise

Default

anyone?
mjm4jc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 11:42 PM   #3
mjm4jc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 241731
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northeast PA
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza Sedan
Turquoise

Default

Ah, I realized this should have been put in the trans forum----my bad. I'll post it there. Moderators you can delete this one.
mjm4jc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 12:12 AM   #4
mod maniac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 300551
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: mariposa ca.
Vehicle:
2&4 fxt & fxt sti
Fullers Garage

Default

If you have a auto trans change the fluid with valvoline max life and it will go away usually.
mod maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 04:21 PM   #5
ballitch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 74907
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: salem, OR
Vehicle:
98 cam'd EJ251
Wrx Tranny,slowr than ish

Default

No, there isn't any power at the FWD fuse. The fuse is just to complete the ground circuit for the clutch pack, opening them up and making the car fwd.

Unlike Samuel Adams, putting the FWD fuse in is never a good decision unless you ABSOLUTELY have to.


~Josh~
ballitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 01:55 PM   #6
mjm4jc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 241731
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northeast PA
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza Sedan
Turquoise

Default

Yes, but with the fuse in, I should have a light come on in the display. It is not.
mjm4jc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:59 AM   #7
KennyKaozII
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333257
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

Will putting in the fuse mess up ur trans after a period of use
KennyKaozII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 05:25 PM   #8
mjm4jc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 241731
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northeast PA
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza Sedan
Turquoise

Default

Anyone???? With the fuse in, I should have a light in the display, right?
mjm4jc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 12:14 AM   #9
mod maniac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 300551
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: mariposa ca.
Vehicle:
2&4 fxt & fxt sti
Fullers Garage

Default

Yes you should.
mod maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 04:03 PM   #10
NoRoadtrippin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 327445
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default

Yes, there should be a light. That being said, if the bind goes away then I'd say its working light or not.

And, contrary to previous posts, in my EXPERIENCE, there's no issue swapping this in even for long periods. I had awful torque bind for years without nailing down what it was it what to do. Apparently I was missing all the right threads. Anyhow, once I figured it out I ran with that fuse in there for at least a year before spending the inordinate amount of money required to fix the issue. My tranny never had an issue and the rear diff has been good to go since the dealer fixed it of course.

Maybe others have first hand experience as well as to why you should "never ever ever" do this but my guess is not because if you're so convinced it shouldn't be done you're unlikely to try it.
NoRoadtrippin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 08:34 AM   #11
KennyKaozII
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333257
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

I just put in a toggle switch last night that I made to switch it from FWD to AWD wen I want it
KennyKaozII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 06:25 PM   #12
mjm4jc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 241731
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northeast PA
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza Sedan
Turquoise

Default

Yeah, it still has torque bind, just not as bad, since I put all new tires on. I have some diagrams, but I wish I had a wiring schematic that would show the link between the FWD light and the TCU.
mjm4jc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FWD Fuse = Subaru Appreciation Fuse Clegg Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 22 07-17-2014 12:56 AM
AWD/FWD fuse... 128d Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 13 03-27-2012 10:59 AM
('93-'01) fwd fuse nomadtw Impreza Forum 16 10-18-2001 04:32 PM
FWD fuse MorrisCountyWRX Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 6 10-15-2001 02:22 AM
FWD Fuse MorrisCountyWRX Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 1 10-11-2001 06:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.