Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 10, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Other Engine Management

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2012, 05:56 PM   #1
subarujimbo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 140702
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada
Vehicle:
07 Wrx Wagon
Garnet Red Pearl

Default 07 WRX AEM idle issues. HELP

I'm using a series 2 ems on a 07 WRX using a MP tuning patch harness to switch everything over to that of an 06 STI.

I've had to modify the accelerator pedal slightly to get the voltages requested in the manual and to calibrate the dbw system.

Car runs well and I've started tuning. At the moment I can't get the idle lower then about 1050 rpms without the idle position % going to zero. I've had to removed a lot of timing and I still cannot get the idle where I want it. I've checked for vacuum leaks, I've synced the timing and run the TPS calibration wizard( idle is working, TPS is set ok). I have also run the DBW calibration at least 10 times.

I'm wondering if anyone can provide any input. I currently run the idle at 1075rpm, as that's where I've been able to get the best idle. If I set the idle much lower the idle position % shows zero and I reach a mechanical limitation.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
subarujimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 04:29 PM   #2
subarujimbo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 140702
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada
Vehicle:
07 Wrx Wagon
Garnet Red Pearl

Default

I had the charge pipe off this morning to check the throttle body and make sure nothing was jamming it open.

Does anyone know if the Ddw throttle body is capable of moving past its rest position?

At the moment it won't move past the car's off rest position. Yet by hand I can physically move the throttle blade more closed?

The car would idle correctly with the stock ems, so I know there is nothing wrong with the throttle body.

I can send copies of the calibration to anyone willing to take a look.
subarujimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 12:47 AM   #3
recce02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13815
Join Date: Jan 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Good ol Temecula
Vehicle:
02 GCRally prepped
277TQ 281HP 19PSI

Default

There is a small Allen head on the throttle body housing. I have AEM EMS1, cable driven and I couldn't get my idle to drop below 1200. Found that screw, while idling I loosened the lock nut and then the Allen screw. Idle dropped to 950!! Not sure if this will help but might be worth a try.
recce02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 12:35 PM   #4
subarujimbo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 140702
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada
Vehicle:
07 Wrx Wagon
Garnet Red Pearl

Default

Yeah I tried that. Since the car is DBW, the throttle body doesn't rely on it as a stop when powered up.

I send the ECM back to AEM, they said there was a relay or something inside that was bad. Long story short it still doesn't work.

So I've gone back to the stock computer and like magic the idle is perfect. I'll probably start tuning with the factory ecu and Access Race.

I have to assume there is a issue with either the patch harness or AEM ems that isn't obvious to me. I checked the for proper pin out and it was ok, but maybe there a bad connectivity issue or something in the patch harness.
subarujimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:44 PM   #5
sleazy07sti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 273116
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: tampa,fl
Vehicle:
2007 Hawkeye Sti
0bp

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by subarujimbo View Post
Yeah I tried that. Since the car is DBW, the throttle body doesn't rely on it as a stop when powered up.

I send the ECM back to AEM, they said there was a relay or something inside that was bad. Long story short it still doesn't work.

So I've gone back to the stock computer and like magic the idle is perfect. I'll probably start tuning with the factory ecu and Access Race.

I have to assume there is a issue with either the patch harness or AEM ems that isn't obvious to me. I checked the for proper pin out and it was ok, but maybe there a bad connectivity issue or something in the patch harness.
bump from the dead...i just seen this post after sending you the money for the aem v2.was that relay fixed by aem as you said it was in perfectly fine working condition
sleazy07sti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.