Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday December 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2013, 05:44 PM   #776
cronic
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9749
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
-

Default

Need to make one for the BRZ
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
cronic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 08:20 PM   #777
TyConway
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 193189
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: alabama
Vehicle:
2002 wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cronic View Post
Need to make one for the BRZ
dont know anyone with a brz.... i know chasebays did a harness for one. going to chasebays tomorrow and see if we can come up with a pnp harness for the lsx in a wrx.
TyConway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 09:05 PM   #778
johnsea
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 269720
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default

Wiring specialities out of CT makes one. That's where I'll be picking one up.
johnsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 09:24 PM   #779
cronic
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9749
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
-

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TyConway View Post
dont know anyone with a brz.... i know chasebays did a harness for one. going to chasebays tomorrow and see if we can come up with a pnp harness for the lsx in a wrx.
Do you have any experience with his LSX standalone harness? A couple years back I read some negative reviews on it but not sure if he made changes.

It looks really nice and it'd be nice to use on my swap vs the gmpp standalone harness
cronic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 09:36 PM   #780
TyConway
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 193189
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: alabama
Vehicle:
2002 wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cronic View Post
Do you have any experience with his LSX standalone harness? A couple years back I read some negative reviews on it but not sure if he made changes.

It looks really nice and it'd be nice to use on my swap vs the gmpp standalone harness

Yea I usually build them myself out of stock ls1 harness.

I also had issues with his first ls1 stand alone harness. Some of his pinout locations were wrong when he made the first ones. They were all corrected. The main reason I think he had issues was b/c at the time he was moving shops and the guy doing the harnesses pinned the coils and injectors backwards. No biggie once I looked at it and saw the issue.
TyConway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 09:39 PM   #781
TyConway
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 193189
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: alabama
Vehicle:
2002 wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsea View Post
Wiring specialities out of CT makes one. That's where I'll be picking one up.

A plug and play harness for a wrx with a ls1 swap? There is a lot of companies building lsx universal harnesses.

Main reason Id like to get a pnp harness built is b/c from what i found on my car, you have to have the factory ecu hooked up to allow other functions in the car to work. So this would save a huge headache when it comes to wiring in a universal harness when running stock gauges. I'm running all speedhut gauges in mine, so that wont be a concern to me.
TyConway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 09:48 PM   #782
cronic
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9749
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
-

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TyConway View Post
Yea I usually build them myself out of stock ls1 harness.

I also had issues with his first ls1 stand alone harness. Some of his pinout locations were wrong when he made the first ones. They were all corrected. The main reason I think he had issues was b/c at the time he was moving shops and the guy doing the harnesses pinned the coils and injectors backwards. No biggie once I looked at it and saw the issue.
Do you know if all this is resolved?

Quote:
I'm not here to bash other compaines either but, what's wrong with Chase? nothing really. What's right with their LS harness? nothing really. Here is a quick assesment, factually based, of course. You don't have to build your own harness, you can mod a stocker... but if you want a new one, maybe you should buy one from someone who has a working knowledge of a GM engine. How do I know he doesn't know how a GM engine is laid out? Just look at the LS1 harness he has on his website. You would think the picture would showcase his best work, right? [img width=800 height=532]http://www.chasebays.com/content/values/748/main.jpg[/img] First thing that stands out to me is that none of the connectors that require a secondary lock, actually have one. CKP is the wrong connector. O2s are the wrong connector. No reverse lights connector. Knock sensors, VSS and reverse lockout are on the wrong side. Harness looks to be set up for F body PCM, but has a connector for a Vette oil pressure sensor, which any swapped car will not use. No AC circuits. Why are there 2 branches for the driver side injector/ignition bank? Looking at his subharnesses, he doesn't have one pictured for the FD. ??? but looking at the others, Single speed fan operation with a relay that will literally melt if you tried to power a Taurus fan. Relays are ziptied together??? He also lumps all of the key-on power circuits into one circuit. What does that mean? If your O2 heater wire (for example) melts to your exhuast (which is probably the most common wiring mistake for swappers), and pops your ignition fuse, you can call the tow truck. If your power circuits are separated, if the same situation happened, you would loose your O2 heaters. If your engine is already warmed up (and I'm guessing it is, since the headers were hot enough to melt wire insulation), you'll never know, until you get home and let the O2s cool off. Same goes for any other power circuit (except for the PCM circuit). The engine may run bad with one popped fuse, but at least it will get you home and you'll be able to scan for codes. GM uses 5 (non emission) circuits for their harness ignition power. I use 6. My point is that if I were to need a harness for a Honda swap, Chase would be the first I call. LSanything swap? Not so much. Have a peek here. http://www.norotors.com/index.php?topic=5167.0
cronic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 10:38 PM   #783
TyConway
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 193189
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: alabama
Vehicle:
2002 wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cronic View Post
Do you know if all this is resolved?

I will ask him tomorrow in person and go over it with him and see what is going on. Its been 2 yrs since I've messed with his ls1 harness.
TyConway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 11:42 PM   #784
cronic
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9749
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
-

Default

Please do.. Because if it is all sorted out I will buy one right now..lol
cronic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 11:09 PM   #785
TyConway
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 193189
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: alabama
Vehicle:
2002 wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cronic View Post
Please do.. Because if it is all sorted out I will buy one right now..lol
Chase was out sick today, but I'll let you know when I get to talk to him.
TyConway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 07:03 PM   #786
moss
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10197
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gtown, MD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cronic View Post
Need to make one for the BRZ
you buy a BRZ or something ?
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 07:03 PM   #787
TyConway
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 193189
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: alabama
Vehicle:
2002 wrx

Default

Got down to Chasebays today... I can certainly tell his business has grown... quadrupled in size and products in the shop. The lsx harness has been revised since the first one we used and any issues with the connectors were updated. Also we went over the harness and it seems as a Plug and play harness is do able... Its gonna require running the stock ecu and an ls1 ecu. You have to tie the two together for everything to function inside the car. So more than likely he will be able to offer a Plug and play setup for the wrx chassis.
TyConway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 12:19 PM   #788
slowgenius
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48350
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
0304 0712 WRX/Sti

Default

Cool. Ty could you pm me a diagram of what the stock ecu has to run if its not engine related? I am wiring a vipec in to my wrx to run a dual avcs motor as standalone. I still want my cruise and dash, etc. to work.

Thanks,


James.
slowgenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 12:52 PM   #789
dburgoon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 310366
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Ft Myers, FL
Vehicle:
03 vf37'd WRB
Bugeye

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TyConway View Post
Got down to Chasebays today... I can certainly tell his business has grown... quadrupled in size and products in the shop. The lsx harness has been revised since the first one we used and any issues with the connectors were updated. Also we went over the harness and it seems as a Plug and play harness is do able... Its gonna require running the stock ecu and an ls1 ecu. You have to tie the two together for everything to function inside the car. So more than likely he will be able to offer a Plug and play setup for the wrx chassis.

Sweet! When will this be available? I'm wanting to do a ls wagon very soon! Also how do you plan on tuning the ls?
dburgoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 04:01 PM   #790
cronic
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9749
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
-

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moss View Post
you buy a BRZ or something ?
No...better...lol Just think the BRZ would be more fun with an ls...
Quote:
Originally Posted by TyConway View Post
Got down to Chasebays today... I can certainly tell his business has grown... quadrupled in size and products in the shop. The lsx harness has been revised since the first one we used and any issues with the connectors were updated. Also we went over the harness and it seems as a Plug and play harness is do able... Its gonna require running the stock ecu and an ls1 ecu. You have to tie the two together for everything to function inside the car. So more than likely he will be able to offer a Plug and play setup for the wrx chassis.
Yea that is exactly what I am going to do. Run the GM as a standalone harness and leave the "other" ecu in place.. Mount the coolant temp, oil pressure etc in the GM block and all that will plug right in to the stock harness.

Basically the GM harness runs all the engine functions, and "other" runs all chassis functions.
cronic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 09:27 PM   #791
TyConway
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 193189
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: alabama
Vehicle:
2002 wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dburgoon View Post
Sweet! When will this be available? I'm wanting to do a ls wagon very soon! Also how do you plan on tuning the ls?
on Hptuners, I have the hptuners pro software.
TyConway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 10:22 PM   #792
omiotek
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 272090
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default

hpt is the way to go for that. for our hybrid computers we use ls edit..
omiotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 11:56 PM   #793
SkullV
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 357798
Join Date: May 2013
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago, IL
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TyConway View Post
on Hptuners, I have the hptuners pro software.
I miss my HPtuners. Being able to do so much, so easily was such a nice thing to have. Then I went to VW where you couldn't touch anything (until very recently). Haven't messed around with the Subie yet. Can't wait to see this thing up and running!
SkullV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 03:10 PM   #794
cronic
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9749
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
-

Default

Wish HPT had map switching though. Kind of annoying to be locked into one map.
cronic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 08:50 PM   #795
TyConway
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 193189
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: alabama
Vehicle:
2002 wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slowgenius View Post
Cool. Ty could you pm me a diagram of what the stock ecu has to run if its not engine related? I am wiring a vipec in to my wrx to run a dual avcs motor as standalone. I still want my cruise and dash, etc. to work.

Thanks,


James.

I'll see what i can do...
TyConway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 10:44 AM   #796
Rene2.5RS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4574
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Bristol, CT
Vehicle:
2014 Outback 2.5i L
VRP

Default

Did you ever hear back from the company after the interviewing day?
Rene2.5RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 01:22 PM   #797
TyConway
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 193189
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: alabama
Vehicle:
2002 wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rene2.5RS View Post
Did you ever hear back from the company after the interviewing day?

Yea, offered part time... turned it down. not driving there 5 days a week or more for only 4 and 5hr shifts.
TyConway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 01:36 PM   #798
CptTripps
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 371033
Join Date: Oct 2013
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cleveland, OH
Default

This is a great thread.

Ironic for me. I'm pulling a Chevy V8 OUT of my Porsche 914 and replacing it with an EJ20.
CptTripps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 02:04 PM   #799
Rene2.5RS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4574
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Bristol, CT
Vehicle:
2014 Outback 2.5i L
VRP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TyConway View Post
Yea, offered part time... turned it down. not driving there 5 days a week or more for only 4 and 5hr shifts.
Don't blame you. Sucks that it happened that way. Here's to the new venture!
Rene2.5RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 02:09 PM   #800
slowgenius
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48350
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
0304 0712 WRX/Sti

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TyConway View Post

I'll see what i can do...
Thanks man! With your talent and experience, im sure you will be able to get steady work. If a company cant appreciate that then that is thier loss.
slowgenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.