Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2012, 09:41 AM   #1
ewd199
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 336163
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default turbo swap boost help

Hi guys. I've got a wrx that had a vf39 turbo with all supporting mods and tuned ran at 19 lbs for about 2 years flawlessly. just put in an identical rebuilt vf43 from six star speed. now car holds boost but only reaches max 15 lbs and is slow to get there after 10 lbs. I didn't change anything but swap out the vacuum lines on the wastegate and boost solenoid to a little thicker gauge. anyway do you think there could be a leak somewhere? I hope the turbo is not faulty. it makes sense it's a leak because the boost is slow to peak after 10 lbs. anyway please help!!!
thanks.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ewd199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:40 AM   #2
HinshawWRX
Medium Frank
Moderator
 
Member#: 140114
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Common Sense, VA
Vehicle:
2014 Porsche
GT3 (Currently on Fire)

Default

Did you tune it at all?
HinshawWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 02:01 PM   #3
ewd199
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 336163
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default

all I did was switch out an identical turbo I was told retune was not needed. If I sent mine in to be rebuilt and then put it back in I wouldn't get the car retuned. It doesn't make sense everything is same it's jus newer.
ewd199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:01 PM   #4
ewd199
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 336163
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default

nvm looks like I had a small leak. and I replaced the vacuum lines again. holy **** the car moves.
ewd199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:58 PM   #5
HinshawWRX
Medium Frank
Moderator
 
Member#: 140114
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Common Sense, VA
Vehicle:
2014 Porsche
GT3 (Currently on Fire)

Default

Pretty sure going from a 39 to 43 you'll need a retune. And by pretty sure, I'm 99% sure.
HinshawWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 07:03 PM   #6
skatinboarding
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 233960
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: MN
Vehicle:
2011 WRX HATCH
WHITE

Default

same turbo, but retunes wont hurt anything.
skatinboarding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 08:19 PM   #7
ewd199
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 336163
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default

Ya it wouldn't hurt. may do it in the near future.
ewd199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 08:22 PM   #8
ewd199
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 336163
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HinshawWRX View Post
Pretty sure going from a 39 to 43 you'll need a retune. And by pretty sure, I'm 99% sure.
so if I had a bone stock sti. BONE STOCK. and the turbo goes so I put the same factory subaru vf back into the car. am I going to go tune the car? lol no.
ewd199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 09:01 PM   #9
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2007 CGM VF'd WRX
12.70 @ 108.4mph

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ewd199

so if I had a bone stock sti. BONE STOCK. and the turbo goes so I put the same factory subaru vf back into the car. am I going to go tune the car? lol no.
If you interchange a 39 fora 43 or 48, yes... You need a retune. They do not share the same wastegate actuator.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.